Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: PSI behind NAT

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
paulo.oliveira PSI behind NAT
Member 30th Apr, 2010 18:51
Ranking: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 30th Apr, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: BR
Hi,

is it possible to scan machines behind NAT devices, like wireless router?

Regards,
Paulo Oliveira.

Post "RE: PSI behind NAT" has been selected as an answer.
Anthony Wells RE: PSI behind NAT
Expert Contributor 30th Apr, 2010 23:08
Score: 2425
Posts: 3,315
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello paulo.oliviera .

As long as Secunia PSI is allowed "in and out" by any "software" firewall you use and your hardware firewall in your router is not configured to deny PSI , it should be treated the same as any other programme on your system .

Was it just a general question or do you have a specific problem in getting PSI to connect to Secunia's servers ??

Can you scan with OSI (it needs Java installed) ??

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
paulo.oliveira RE: PSI behind NAT
Member 30th Apr, 2010 23:56
Score: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 30th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: BR
Hi Anthony,

using OSI I had success, but I wanted to install and use PSI.
About your advice to allow it on my firewall, I think thatīs not a good idea, so I will continue using OSI.

Thanks a lot for your response!!

Regards,
Paulo Oliveira.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: PSI behind NAT
Expert Contributor 1st May, 2010 00:46
Score: 2425
Posts: 3,315
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi Paulo ,

To be more clear , PSI should pass your software firewall as "normally" recognised as you can get to Secunia and OSI , so you should not need to do anything for PSI to work under your normal settings .

Actually specifying "rights" in your firewall for a specific programme (provided you know the programme is "clean") will/should not degrade your security ; to the contrary , many security experts consider PSI as an essential security tool . Like all security programmes , it only works well/best if you have confidence in it and know how to use it effectively .

If your security is a priority , then why not give PSI a try and select the "advanced" mode , the "simple" mode is only a small step up from OSI ; you may be surprised/interested at what you find !!

You can get plenty of help at all levels of competence here on the Forum ;))

Let us know how you go .

Anthony



--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
paulo.oliveira RE: PSI behind NAT
Member 1st May, 2010 05:16
Score: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 30th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: BR
Last edited on 1st May, 2010 05:18
Hi Anthony,

did not get what you mean when saying there's no need to me configure (allow) anything on my firewall.

I'm sharing my internet connection using a wireless router. When I try to use PSI I get this error message:

---------------------------
Secunia PSI
---------------------------
Unable to retrieve PSI user ID from Secunia.

Please verify that you are able to connect to https://psi.secunia.com/ and then restart the PSI.

NOTE: Proxy support for the PSI is currently unavailable, but is planned for a future release. If your system requires access to the Internet through a proxy you will not be able to use the application at this time. We apologize for the inconvenience.
---------------------------
OK
---------------------------

Hope you can help me, because I already used PSI (using direct internet connection) and really like it. Just can't make it work when using wireless router to share internet connection.

Regards,
Paulo Oliveira.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: PSI behind NAT
Expert Contributor 1st May, 2010 10:20
Score: 2425
Posts: 3,315
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 1st May, 2010 10:31
Hello Paulo ,

Regarding the firewall , I mean your present settings as they are should allow PSI to run .

You do not mention your OS , default browser , but here is a (very) old thread which has a possible solution to your problem - you should read everything :-

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/853...

PSI uses IE to access Secunia no matter which browser you have set as your default , so it would seem (from the above thread) that , in addition to looking at your LAN settings for IE , all the IE's using PSI through the network may also need to be set as per Secunia's specific instructions regarding "https" - following the exact order of procedure is most important :-

The Secunia PSI needs to be able to connect to Secunia servers to complete its scanning. However, if you have configured the security settings of your Internet Explorer, the Secunia PSI may be prevented from getting the scan results. To receive your scan results, you need to do some changes to your Internet options.


To do this:

Open Internet Explorer.
Go to Tools>Internet Options>Security tab.
Select the Internet zone and click on the Custom Level button.
In Security Settings, go to the Scripting>Active Scripting option.
Make sure that Active Scripting is Enabled (rather than Disabled or Prompted).
Press OK then Yes.
Back in the Security tab, select the Trusted sites zone and click on the Sites button.
Look at the bottom of this window, and uncheck the field labelled "Require Server Verification (https) for all site zones".
Type in the following and press the Add button to add them to the Trusted Sites list:
http://*.secunia.com
https://*.secunia.com
Press Close, then OK.
Run the Secunia PSI again to view the scan results.

Hope this helps , please ask again if anything is not clear .

Anthony



--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
paulo.oliveira RE: PSI behind NAT
Member 4th May, 2010 18:43
Score: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 30th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: BR
Hi,

I added the secunia.com to my trusted sites as you pointed and it worked just fine!

Thanks a lot for your help!!

Regards,
Paulo Oliveira.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Anthony Wells RE: PSI behind NAT
Expert Contributor 4th May, 2010 19:32
Score: 2425
Posts: 3,315
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello Paulo ,

Thank you for your update .

Pleased to hear that you have got PSI working :))

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability