Forum Thread: Norton Safe Web - issues with Windows 7???

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as locked.
taffy078 Norton Safe Web - issues with Windows 7???
Contributor 5th May, 2010 21:48
Ranking: 408
Posts: 1,355
User Since: 26th Feb, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
I've just posted this but it's not showing so I'll try again!

In my opinion (a 'basic' PC user), Norton Safe Web is a vital part of the security on my desktop (XP) - up there with the firewall & anti-virus.

For anyone who doesn't know it, what is does is that after you use 'search' with Google or whoever, it flags up each of the results with an icon: Green = safe, Grey = unknown and Red = "don't go to this site - it's a security risk".

I've just about finished setting up my new laptop - Windows 7. I was disappointed to find that the Safe Web icons don't appear if I use the AOL toolbar (powered by Google) but do if I use the Norton toolbar search. Even uninstall/reinstall by Norton technicians via thier Live Chat today had no effect.

Is this a general Windows 7/AOL and Norton issue? Does McAffee have a similar equivalent to Safe Web?


--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003

taffy078 RE: Norton Safe Web - issues with Windows 7???
Contributor 7th May, 2010 17:07
Score: 408
Posts: 1,355
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 7th May, 2010 17:08
sorted. The default search engine on my laptop (Win 7 Home Premium) is AOL (powered by Google). Safe Web is not compatible with this (nor when using IE8 in 64 bit mode).
But as I said earlier it will work when searching via the Norton search window.

Emil - can you lock this please?

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Norton Safe Web - issues with Windows 7???
Expert Contributor 7th May, 2010 19:52
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,269
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Just a short note taffy......McAfee has Site Advisor; compatible with IE, but not yet Chrome, as far as I know.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
taffy078 RE: Norton Safe Web - issues with Windows 7???
Contributor 7th May, 2010 20:56
Score: 408
Posts: 1,355
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
thank you Mogs.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.