Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: No Overview on Secunia Advanced screen: Flash/GetPlus

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as resolved.
taffy078 No Overview on Secunia Advanced screen: Flash/GetPlus
Contributor 15th May, 2010 10:54
Ranking: 408
Posts: 1,307
User Since: 26th Feb, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Having sorted my laptop, I've just got back to this desktop.

There is no Overview on Secunia's Advanced screen. The message there said
"Cannot display graph, as Adobe Flash Player does not appear to be installed in Internet Explorer on your computer, or the version installed is older than version 8.x. ". Then followed the link to install it.

I clicked on it and went to http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer/. From there I downloaded & installed v. 10.0.45.2.

I'd already closed down Secunia - when I rested it, I got the same message. No Overview.

But the program that has been installed is in fact Adobe GetPlus DLM 1.x (1.6.2.63), not Flash v10. And I find that I already have v10.0.45.2 installed.

Can you help please?


--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003

Post "RE: No Overview on Secunia Advanced screen: Flash/GetPlus" has been selected as an answer.
mogs RE: No Overview on Secunia Advanced screen: Flash/GetPlus
Expert Contributor 15th May, 2010 11:00
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Have you tried a reboot first ?


--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: No Overview on Secunia Advanced screen: Flash/GetPlus
Handling Contributor 15th May, 2010 11:52
Score: 11526
Posts: 8,876
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Oh dear - U have been trying to install Flash from Adobe & picked up their dreaded (& useless) download manager.


What is the path?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
taffy078 RE: No Overview on Secunia Advanced screen: Flash/GetPlus
Contributor 15th May, 2010 12:09
Score: 408
Posts: 1,307
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
I rebooted after Mogs' post and (1) I now have my Overview again (from now) AND (2) GetPlus has been removed. Not by me but from what you say, Maurice, I'm glad it's gone.

I'm pretty sure that when I downloaded Flash from the link in my first post, it started as soon as I hit "download" i.e. it didn't give me the option of 'auto' or, is it, manual, where you can select what componentsnot to install.

If there is no choice, as lots of posters have been pointed to the link recently, they too may have installed Download Manager.

I'll close this shortly - I've left it live just in case you wish to comment re my preceding paragraph.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: No Overview on Secunia Advanced screen: Flash/GetPlus
Handling Contributor 15th May, 2010 13:50
Score: 11526
Posts: 8,876
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
It does not - it is Adobe insisting on the useless Downloader from NOS.

Download from FileHippo - no manager because it is NOT required.

Adobe would have U believe it is an updater notification. Like much of Adobe "freebies" a chocolate fireguard.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
taffy078 RE: No Overview on Secunia Advanced screen: Flash/GetPlus
Contributor 15th May, 2010 17:27
Score: 408
Posts: 1,307
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
it's a long time since I heard you mention the phrase 'chocolate fireguard' Maurice!
Thanks yet again. I hope others guys who give advice here remember not to point to Adobe but to filehippo.
Closed!

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability