Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Secunia still is NOT working

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
Nikilet Secunia still is NOT working
Member 21st May, 2010 20:42
Ranking: 7
Posts: 287
User Since: 15th Jul, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Either I am the only one having this trouble or else others just aren't complaining.

It crashes all the time. When I reboot it comes back, but even then I sometimes have to wait a bit for the "Not Responding" to go away. I just rebooted and opened it and an hour from now I won't be able to open it and it will freeze my screen, etc.

Does anyone know what is wrong with this program?

Post "RE: Secunia still is NOT working" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: Secunia still is NOT working
Handling Contributor 21st May, 2010 20:48
Score: 11609
Posts: 8,906
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Whoops - in the wars again. There was a little server issue recently but no-one reported your issue. PSI is working perfectly for me on this PC & my XP one.

When did U last do a Check Disk?

Do U use a Registry Cleaner?



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Nikilet RE: Secunia still is NOT working
Member 21st May, 2010 21:11
Score: 7
Posts: 287
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
It's been perhaps 6-8 weeks since I did a check disk. My registry cleaner is Registry Mechanic. I will run both and let you know if any difference. Altho, this same issue has been going on pretty much without stop. I just haven't said anything but getting sick of it. ;<)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Secunia still is NOT working
Handling Contributor 21st May, 2010 21:38
Score: 11609
Posts: 8,906
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
OK - I assume U are doing a check disk via My Computer>Right Click on C Drive>Properties>Tools>Error Checking?

Once finished if U let me know - I will prepare a little script for U to establish a bit more about your drive health.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Secunia still is NOT working
Handling Contributor 21st May, 2010 21:58
Score: 11609
Posts: 8,906
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
As soon as U have completed a full Check Disk please do this:

Go to Start>Control Panel>ADMINISTRATIVE TOOLS>EVENT VIEWER

In the LEFT column click on APPLICATION

Once done in the RIGHT column U should see INFORMATION LOGON

Double click it

Now scroll down looking for 0KB IN BAD SECTORS

If there is another number in there other than 0KB what is it?

If U find 0KB please confirm this.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Nikilet RE: Secunia still is NOT working
Member 21st May, 2010 22:31
Score: 7
Posts: 287
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
This check disk thing takes quite awhile and I'm working on my computer right now so it will have to wait.

As to the other instructions you gave me, I can't follow through. I'm fine up to clicking on Event Viewer. To the left of that I don't find APPLICATION. I find Application and Services Logs. I clicked on it. To the right there is no INFORMATION LOGON.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Secunia still is NOT working
Handling Contributor 21st May, 2010 22:39
Score: 11609
Posts: 8,906
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 21st May, 2010 22:44
I have looked back at our history. Cannot find reference to your OS. Is it XP,Vista or Windows 7? I think U have Vista.

The wording might be slightly different - I can look it up once I know the OS.

No hurry for replies. Answer as & when.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Nikilet RE: Secunia still is NOT working
Member 21st May, 2010 22:48
Score: 7
Posts: 287
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 21st May, 2010 22:49
I did a registry scan. It found 38 items and fixed them all.

I have Vista SP2.

I did run one of those System Health Reports. I don't know how meaningful they are but everything passed.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Secunia still is NOT working
Handling Contributor 21st May, 2010 22:57
Score: 11609
Posts: 8,906
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 21st May, 2010 22:58
OK - when U have time run Check Disk. When it has finished it will give a summary like this:

http://windows.about.com/od/maintainandfix/ss/CHKD...

U will note 0KB in bad sector - that is the bit I need to know about if it is different to 0KB.

Check Disk takes a while - no rush on my part for a reply.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Nikilet RE: Secunia still is NOT working
Member 21st May, 2010 23:23
Score: 7
Posts: 287
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
This wasn't the full check disk thing that I run from time to time because that takes well over two hours. This one didn't take long at all. It said 0KB in bad sector.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Secunia still is NOT working
Handling Contributor 21st May, 2010 23:33
Score: 11609
Posts: 8,906
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
OK - worth doing the real (long) job at some stage. It is important to check the 0KB in bad sectors.

If the result is anything other than 0 (zero) it is a sure sign your hard disk requires replacement.

The behaviour pattern U describe could indicate that but in this instance all looks in order.

I will give it more thought & get back to U.



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
wr RE: Secunia still is NOT working
Contributor 24th May, 2010 00:10
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
@Maurice-do you think this might help with the problem
kasr89 is having on another thread?

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Secunia still is NOT working
Handling Contributor 24th May, 2010 00:17
Score: 11609
Posts: 8,906
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
No - far from it. @Nikilet has been struggling with her problem for ages. If U click on her name it will give U more of a history of her problems making PSI work.

I cannot reproduce the problem on my PC or my test PC which is XP.

She uses Vista like U. Can U offer any thoughts?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Nikilet RE: Secunia still is NOT working
Member 24th May, 2010 00:21
Score: 7
Posts: 287
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Maurice,

I booted my computer this morning but have not been on it all day. PSI is opening as it should as tho there had never been a problem. But I am not holding my breath.

Just wanted to let you know.

Thx
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Secunia still is NOT working
Contributor 24th May, 2010 00:23
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Maurice, let me review her problem(s) for a short while & I will get back within 20 min or less. Time here now is 06:22 EDST (US).

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Secunia still is NOT working
Contributor 24th May, 2010 01:38
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
OK-back now after reading through most of threads regarding PSI.

This may long-winded & rambling but here goes. I'll detail my experiences & maybe you can separate the grain from the chaff.

I've been a user of the PSI since it was only available online. My system was Windoze 2000. Later (2007) I purchased this system (Vista Home Premium) preinstalled along with much crapware. First thing I did was to search for a
good way to uninstall all the crapware. This is where I found out about CCleaner.
Its original name was CrapCleaner-now 'politically correct' it's CCleaner.
The next thing I did was to purchase Eset Smart Security-as Symantec that came
preinstalled was a resource hog @ that time. Next thing I did was to turn
off UAC-the constant nag was more than I could tolerate. Next came creating a Ignore Rule for my D: drive, this is reinstallation drive. Not only did I create a ignore rule for the whole drive but for each preinstalled program that I had uninstalled
but that the PSI would find remnants of or on the D: drive.

I too use Roboform, but the only time I use it is when I join the
Forum via email & have to log on. I have had no problems
with keeping my Profile or password even when I changed computers.
The only problem I had with connecting was because I had not
properly set-up the Trusted Sites. My previous connection was through
a wireless router to a cable modem with 4 other devices-no
problems. I now connect directly through a cable modem.

I know a lot of people have 'kicked' Vista but I like it. I also disabled
the Aero function-I wanted speed not pretty.

All said & done I really have no clue as to what may be
causing the problem(s). Maybe just go thru the basics of connectivity,
firewall settings, pop-up blockers, etc. I did have some strange
'findings' after the last server 'hiccup' but uninstall/reinstall of
the PSI fixed the problem.

Sorry I can't shed more light on the subject but I'm clueless.
Thanks for letting me 'ramble on' & I sure hope the problem(s)
are soon found & corrected.

The only other problem I had was with my default browser
Firefox. The Profile somehow became corrupted so I went
to the Forum there & got instructions on how to repair
that problem but it didn't affect the PSI.

Once again, sorry for the boring 'read' & I truly
hope a solution is quickly found.

Good luck.

Regards, wr


--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Secunia still is NOT working
Expert Contributor 24th May, 2010 19:41
Score: 2427
Posts: 3,316
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hello All ,

Referring only to XP experience , a conflict in security software at Boot Up/Start can cause a lock up of icons/programmes/task tray in general : this pertains to both signature and behaviour access scanners and active system guards . This might be seen as direct conflict or just "goes on" in the background (and then ISP throttle may exaggerate things). It could also involve "add-ons" to Mozilla Firefox .

It may be worth looking at limiting non-essential "Start" items and then adding them back in .

Hope this helps .
Anthony



--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Nikilet RE: Secunia still is NOT working
Member 24th May, 2010 19:58
Score: 7
Posts: 287
User Since: 15th Jul 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Maurice -- For the past couple of days PSI is acting the way it should act. Perhaps running Registry Mechanic helped. It never seems to last, but for right now all is well.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability