Forum Thread: why wont it fix java

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as locked.
raddishman why wont it fix java
Member 23rd May, 2010 15:11
Ranking: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 23rd May, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
sun java JRE 1.6X/6.X HAVE TRIED SEVERAL TIMES AND IT KEEPS SHOWING AS THREAT EVEN WHEN SHOWS ALL INSTALLS COMPLETE AND GOING THRU SEVERAL RESCANS ??? PLEASE HELP

mogs RE: why wont it fix java
Expert Contributor 23rd May, 2010 15:19
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,269
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/418...


Please read the above thread...particularly the post of Maurice Joyce's.
Regards

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
TiMow RE: why wont it fix java
Dedicated Contributor 23rd May, 2010 15:24
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
Last edited on 23rd May, 2010 15:31
Can you give the exact version (update) number, for your Java.

The current secure version is:

6.0.200.2

This can be found under Patched tab of PSI Advanced (top right of PSI window) mode interface - scroll down to Sun Java; or from Add/Remove programs (from control panel) - under Java.

If you have this version already installed, have you rebooted your PC before scanning PSI?

What is the full version number of the insecure Java? - click "[+]" on l.h.s. of listing for Java under Insecure tab of PSI Advanced mode.

TiMow

--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-2
puget1 RE: why wont it fix java
Member 23rd May, 2010 17:12
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
When you up date Java it installs the new version,however it does not uninstall the old. If you go to your add remove you will see both the old and the new. Simply remove the old. Restart and rescan and you should be o.k. If not then you have an old version somewhere on your p.c. Use advanced mode and locate the file and remove it.

--
Gone to Linux permanetly












Was this reply relevant?
+2
-2

This thread has been marked as locked.