Forum Thread: Removing a service...

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as resolved.
jwesleycooper Removing a service...
Member 2nd Jun, 2010 19:21
Ranking: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 31st Oct, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
How does one remove a service using services.msc in WinXP Pro, or any other Windows OS for that matter? I see no direct option to accomplish this...

Post "RE: Removing a service..." has been selected as an answer.
Anthony Wells RE: Removing a service...
Expert Contributor 2nd Jun, 2010 19:41
Score: 2470
Posts: 3,359
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 2nd Jun, 2010 19:43
@jwesleycooper ,

I don't know if you know what you are doing or why you wish to do something with your services ; so at least take heed of the intro from this geek :-

http://www.theeldergeek.com/services_guide.htm

Take extra care ,

Anthony


--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Removing a service...
Handling Contributor 2nd Jun, 2010 21:34
Score: 11922
Posts: 9,136
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
U can get to services via Control Panel>Administrative Tools.

U can tinker with services but as @Anthony correctly points out be a bit careful.

The important bit is the default Windows set up. Some services are set at disable or Manual or Automatic by default.

If U wish to tinker I would note the setting before U start so U can reverse any changes if they go pear shaped.

There is a detailed explanation by each service & I am assume they are all currently set at default so U do get a very good idea of each service use.

Perhaps teaching "granny to suck eggs" if U are an experienced user but if not please use caution.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.