Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: OSI cannot find xp updates

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
OSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
marlauca OSI cannot find xp updates
Member 9th Jun, 2010 23:26
Ranking: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 9th Jun, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
When I ran OSI there was 1 error message "An error occurred while searching for missing Windows updates." Any idea how to correct this and why this happens?

Thanks

Maurice Joyce RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Handling Contributor 9th Jun, 2010 23:57
Score: 11792
Posts: 9,036
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 10th Jun, 2010 00:01
Have U set up as per this?

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/online/s...

I notice U have a another thread running on this theme. Did all that advice not fix it?



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Marlau RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Member 10th Jun, 2010 17:16
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 9th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Thanks Maurice. Yes I do have the same query on PSI but as nobody was able to suggest a solution I though readers of OSI might help. Alas, I still have not been able to run OSI so that it reads my Windows Updates. I'm beginning to suspect it's something on my machine rather than OSI but I can't work out what. I tried turning off all my security (Firewall, Virus program etc) to no avail. The computer is clean as I've run several virus checks including Avast and Housecall. Belarc does report that I'm completely up to date so it's a bit of a moot point. I'll just keep using Belarc. But I still would like to solve the problem. BTW I did check your link and I have everything they say is required.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Handling Contributor 11th Jun, 2010 00:57
Score: 11792
Posts: 9,036
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thank U. Please confirm:

1. According to Belarc U are up to date?
2. Whatever U try PSI nor OSI appear to work ?
3. What OS & SP are U running?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
marlauca RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Member 11th Jun, 2010 04:25
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 9th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Maurice,
Belarc says I'm completely up to date. PSI works fine presuming that it is not meant to check on Microsof Updates. OSI does everything except is not able to read the Updates. Reports the inability as an error.

OS is XP sp3
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Handling Contributor 11th Jun, 2010 09:42
Score: 11792
Posts: 9,036
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Go to Control Panel>Administrative Tools>SERVICES

Look for BITS(Background Intelligent Transfer Service)

Is this disabled? If not what is the start up option in use?




--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
marlauca RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Member 12th Jun, 2010 01:35
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 9th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
It is set to manual and started. I also cannot open Dr. Web. These are the only two programs/processes that \I'm having difficult with. Otherwise everything that I run or install works fine. Do you see any connection? The only similarity that I see is they are both standalones and no install needed.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Handling Contributor 12th Jun, 2010 09:25
Score: 11792
Posts: 9,036
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
With Windows XP BITS set at Manual is OK so I think we can count that out.

When U say Dr Web do U mean this?

http://www.drweb-online.com/en/index.asp

U will need to explain what U mean by it being troublesome.

The 3 main causes of your problem are:

1. BITS - that looks OK

2. The date & time of your PC clock being set incorrectly - have U checked that?

3. A security measure U have imposed. More details on Dr Web may help.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
marlauca RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Member 12th Jun, 2010 20:00
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 9th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Date and Time are correct. The problem with Dr. Web is that it won't open. The hard drive grinds away but nothing comes up on the screen. A check with What's Running shows that it is active and it appears in Windows Taskmaster as using memory. I can run it from safe mode. It will not run in Windows even if I turn off my virus program and firewall.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Handling Contributor 12th Jun, 2010 21:39
Score: 11792
Posts: 9,036
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Can U not uninstall it completely to see if that solves the problem?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
marlauca RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Member 12th Jun, 2010 21:56
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 9th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Dr. Web is not an installed program. It is an .exe that runs from the desktop and is updated frequently. So each time you want to run it you download the latest version. If you don't know the program it is a very good addition to your installed virus program to periodically check your computer.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Handling Contributor 12th Jun, 2010 22:42
Score: 11792
Posts: 9,036
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I can understand the concept of the programme.

Are U saying

1.Windows grinds & it will only work in safe mode after U press the desktop .exe?

2. If U right click the .exe desktop icon & select delete all traces of Dr Web are removed?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
marlauca RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Member 12th Jun, 2010 23:58
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 9th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
on 12th Jun, 2010 22:42, Maurice Joyce wrote:
I can understand the concept of the programme.

Are U saying

1.Windows grinds & it will only work in safe mode after U press the desktop .exe?

2. If U right click the .exe desktop icon & select delete all traces of Dr Web are removed?


1. Yes. After all the grinding I reboot into safe mode and press the desktop .exe and the program will load and work.

2. There are no traces of Dr. Web as it does not install itself. A check with Revo Uninstaller confirms that there are no traces of Dr. Web anywhere, including the registry.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Handling Contributor 13th Jun, 2010 00:21
Score: 11792
Posts: 9,036
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 13th Jun, 2010 01:07
A bit odd. Please leave this thread open. I will dig around tomorrow to see if I can help U further.

Edit: Is this the programme we are talking about?

http://www.freedrweb.com/cureit/?lng=en

If not can U please send the link to the correct programme.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

Robinson8888

RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.
marlauca RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Member 13th Jun, 2010 14:46
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 9th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Yes. Dr. WEb Cureit is the program that does not open. Thanks for your time. Hope you can come up with something.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Handling Contributor 13th Jun, 2010 16:44
Score: 11792
Posts: 9,036
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 13th Jun, 2010 16:45
I have tested the programme with my "tester" XP PC.

So U can agree I have got the correct programme I will describe what I did & the results.

1. I downloaded & saved to desktop the file offered by Dr Web.
2. It saved a 42.2MB File which was named by default Q86XFEDV.
3. I clicked on that file & a green box appeared which invited me to SCAN or UPDATE.

This happened after a lengthy explanation about what it does & the option to buy it.
4. The scan was OK.
5. By right clicking I deleted the programme from the desktop.
6. I did a search of Add/Remove & the Registry &, as expected, could find no trace of the programme.

7. I ran a second install this time using the direct run option.
8. This resulted in the green box appearing inviting me to SCAN or UPDATE.
9. I exited the programme & all traces of the install were lost (as expected).

Can U please confirm what I have described so far is the behaviour U normally expect?



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
marlauca RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Member 13th Jun, 2010 17:50
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 9th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
All that you list is exactly what should happen, what used to happen and what happens on my other pc that seldon gets to visit the Internet.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Handling Contributor 13th Jun, 2010 18:04
Score: 11792
Posts: 9,036
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
In that case I would try:

Delete the current desktop Dr Web folder.

Redownload & save to desktop a new copy from the vendor site.

Has that got this aspect of the problem running again?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
gjjean RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Contributor 13th Jun, 2010 19:13
Score: 192
Posts: 197
User Since: 9th Apr 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: LB
@ marlauca

There is a solution for your problem, but that involve a work with the registry and that is quite dangerous (work with registry) so my advice to you is to stick with Maurice-Joyceís advise cause he is conducting a test and a step by step conclusions.

@ MJ

What do you think of the following:?
and did that give some idea to help?

http://site-press.com/antivirus/antivirus-news/rem...


--
HP pavilion DV6
Win 7 64bit - SP1
IE10 + MSSE4.3.215
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
marlauca RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Member 13th Jun, 2010 19:59
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 9th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Maurice,
Tried what you suggested but got the same results of program not running. However, I tried the program in Sandboxie and it opened. So what does Sandboxie circumvent?

John,
The link that you offered is for the removal of Dr. Web antivirus. Cureit does not install itself and leaves, as far as I can tell no traces in the registry. But could you elaborate on your solution which involves the registry. I have edited the registry many times and I have an image of my hard drive should a major problem occur.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Handling Contributor 13th Jun, 2010 20:11
Score: 11792
Posts: 9,036
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
John,
Nice try. As my tests prove there are no traces of the programme on the PC - it is self contained & run from the desktop.



Sorry cannot really advise on Sandboxes. Do not use anything like that.

Could be some setting - @Anthony Wells & a few others use those & may be able to help if they look in on this thread.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Anthony Wells RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Expert Contributor 13th Jun, 2010 20:52
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,336
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 13th Jun, 2010 21:10
Hello All ,

In my crude , non-technical terms , "Sandboxie" will let you download a programme but will not let it actually install/write itself to your computer ; a "virtual" version is created in a sandbox where it can read your drives and collect information and report to you , but when you delete the sandbox which "Sandboxie" created , everything is deleted . You can elect to allow items you actually wish to keep from within the sandbox to be downloaded to a selected location on your drive(s) .

If there is conflict with other security stuff that will usually/often show up even within the sandbox , but a "virtual" Dr. Web may not pull the trigger .

Tzuk is the author of Sandboxie and he is renowned for his skill and helpfulness ; so if the above info does not give anyone a lead , you could put your problem to him
either via the Sandboxie Forum or direct : contact details here :-

http://www.sandboxie.com/index.php?ContactAuthor

Will come back if anything comes to mind and will keep up with this thread .

Back to you .

Anthony

PS : are you downloading Dr. Web (himself) into "Sandboxie" or selecting to run the desktop .exe in the sandbox ?? Probably not much difference as either way the "download" virus data and "reading" would both be sandboxed .

PPS : does OSI run in a "Sandboxied" browser - it usually gives me a problem .


--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gjjean RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Contributor 14th Jun, 2010 15:18
Score: 192
Posts: 197
User Since: 9th Apr 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: LB
@ marloca

Sorry for the delay cause i was busy.

@ Maurice Joyce

From your reply 13th Jun, 2010 18:04, and advising @ marloca to delete the current desktop and redownloading and saving, I thought that maybe something is still in the registry and thatís why I have posted the link.

I understand that you say there is nothing left in the registry, and the program is self contained.

If that is the situation, so why all that labour in this site to make a registry tweaks for something which is not existing?

Sorry for this question cause Iím not using dr.web but I will try to understand.

Thank you.


--
HP pavilion DV6
Win 7 64bit - SP1
IE10 + MSSE4.3.215
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Handling Contributor 14th Jun, 2010 18:53
Score: 11792
Posts: 9,036
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
John,
What tweak? Cannot see what U are talking about.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gjjean RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Contributor 14th Jun, 2010 19:35
Score: 192
Posts: 197
User Since: 9th Apr 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: LB
@ Maurice Joyce

Very sorry if i wasnít clear, but @ the site

http://site-press.com/antivirus/antivirus-news/rem...

Itís mentioned that you could remove and uninstall some registry keys to completely get rid of DR.web.

Like you are conducting a systematically approach and testing, and since the program is self contained and it doesnít leave any trace; my question is:
Why the mentioned site is created for, if the contained steps arenít visible in the registry?

I wonder if you have an answer for my question cause i have to understand.

Thank you.


--
HP pavilion DV6
Win 7 64bit - SP1
IE10 + MSSE4.3.215
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Handling Contributor 14th Jun, 2010 21:52
Score: 11792
Posts: 9,036
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
John,
Got it - I think what happens is that if U buy the product it then does allow U to fully install it to hard disk in which case U may need the uninstaller.

With the free version that is not possible therefore there is no programme or registry entry to uninstall hence U just remove the programme from the desktop.

I must say it confused me for a while trying to understand that an .exe file was present but nothing on the hard drive - that is why I tested it to prove it for myself & to try & be constructive with my reply.

Hope that helps.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Expert Contributor 15th Jun, 2010 17:11
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,336
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

An after thought ,

I don't know how @marlauca is getting on , but the inability of PSI and OSI to read the M$ updates - or at lest causing an error report - and Dr.Web not running off the desktop , except in safe mode or sandboxed , sounds like a HIPS/behaviour based programme/application checker/blocker , in some part of a security programme , acting up .

At least , I remember having seen something like this happen . It may be an actual setting or a behind the scenes clash of two programmes .

Take care

Antony



--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
marlauca RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Member 16th Jun, 2010 04:04
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 9th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
I agree Anthony but which one(s)? I've tried turning off all virus, intrusion prevention etc. so nothing was running but got the same result. I was thinking of uninstalling Avast Internet Security (Firewall is turned off) and Comodo Firewall and see what happens. Do you have any suggestions?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gjjean RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Contributor 16th Jun, 2010 08:31
Score: 192
Posts: 197
User Since: 9th Apr 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: LB
@ Maurice Joyce

Thank you very much for the clarification, that was very interesting thing and I want to thank you again for your spent time to test and search for adequate solutions in the forum.

@ marloca

I thought (as you have explained your puzzle) and navigating the web without a firewall is dangerous, that you have to look @ the firewall(s) and see if Dr.web is there and disable-it from the list of allowed programs cause the program (as I have learned from other sites) is always in contact with the authors site fetching for new updates.

Sorry if Iím not for more help.

Good luck.


--
HP pavilion DV6
Win 7 64bit - SP1
IE10 + MSSE4.3.215
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
marlauca RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Member 16th Jun, 2010 16:02
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 9th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
John thanks for the warning re cruising the internet unprotected but it was not my intention to do so. The Dr. Web program that I'm referring to is Cureit. It is self contained and does not use internet access when it is activated. The program is updated regularly and should be downloaded at the time it's use is intended. The Dr. Web that you are referring to is the virus program that is installed on the computer (not Cureit) and is not the one I'm using. I believe that the inability of Secunia to read Microsoft updates and the Dr. Web problem I'm having are related. So, I thought that I would disconnect from internet access, uninstall all programs that deal with virus protection etc, and see if Dr. Web runs. If it does, then I would reinstall each program one at a time and try to run Dr. Web to see which one is blocking. Then, either way, I would reinstall the protective programs (except the one blocking, if that is the case) before I accessed the internet. If for instance it is Comodo then I would install a different firewall or go with the one on Avast Internet Security. Hope this clarifies some of the issues you raise and thanks for weighing in.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Expert Contributor 16th Jun, 2010 16:48
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,336
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 16th Jun, 2010 17:17
@marlauca ,

The obvious candidate would be Comodo firewall if the DDP is set to "maximum" with something like individual file checking running (sorry can't be more specific , as I don't have Comodo loaded) . Both Cureit and Secunia need to access the web inwards and outwards and file check .

You could try setting the windows firewall (keeps most things out at least , especially if you have a hardware firewall) set Avast without firewall and just the A/V **. If you can make sure nothing else runs on boot except the default Windows systems and see what happens .

If you still have a problem then that would most likely be your IE settings for Secunia/PSI .

Then try the Comodo firewall in place of the Windows one and see ; then add in the Avast A/S . Also consider using Comodo at "baby" training settings , if they are available .

As my technical adviser tells me , things do happen in a logical (??!!) fashion , so one step at a time and remember(write down) the sequence of steps you take ; Oh Yes , ccross all fingers and smile brightly at the wonderful Wizard of Windows won't go amiss :o))))))

Good luck .

Anthony

PS : As far as I understand (non-technical) , Cureit will need "internet access" in order to call home - maybe uses IE in the background (not loaded) or whatever calling home needs/requires ??

**EDIT : maybe you can't do that in the latest version (5) which also has added "heuristics" and an anti - rootkit . All "capable" of clashing with Comodo .

PPS : just "read" that Avast IS has it's own sandbox system is that interfering ??

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
marlauca RE: OSI cannot find xp updates
Member 16th Jun, 2010 20:52
Score: 0
Posts: 14
User Since: 9th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Tried much of what was suggested. Removed comodo from the startup menu. Could not remove Avast as I think it's set so that it cannot be removed, However, I disabled it. All to no avail. Cureit only needs Internet access to update the program. All virus definitions are contained in the 42 meg. (approx) that is downloaded. It will run with Internet access disconnected. I just did that. Otherwise the computer is running extremely well. Ordinarily I would just give up and use a program(s) that work- eg. Belarc. But I'm puzzled and in some peculiar way enjoy the challenge.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer