Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: removal of Norton PC Checkup 1.x

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Symantec
And, this specific program:
Norton PC Checkup 1.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
sweatynumbthumb removal of Norton PC Checkup 1.x
Member 11th Jun, 2010 23:48
Ranking: 6
Posts: 21
User Since: 20th Feb, 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 11th Jun, 2010 23:51

Does anyone know how to completely remove Norton PC Check-up; I've uninstalled it (or so I believed) but when I ran the Secunia PSI scan it listed it as in a location that is unavailable - even with admin privileges. It isn't in Program Files but instead seems to be in appdata\local\tific\backup\install\------ .
Any Ideas, People?
Many Thanks in advance.

--
sweatynumbthumb
hp pavilion
vista 32-bit
3gb ram / +1gb readyboost

thedillpickl RE: removal of Norton PC Checkup 1.x
Contributor 12th Jun, 2010 05:07
Score: 376
Posts: 872
User Since: 3rd May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hi;

Norton's forum has three threads about this http://community.norton.com/t5/Other-Norton-Produc... .

I did not read any, but would assume the answer is in there. If not, please post back here and I'll do my best to help.


Regards;

Fred

--
XP Home
Chrome, Firefox, IE8
--
consilio et animis
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
puget1 RE: removal of Norton PC Checkup 1.x
Member 12th Jun, 2010 05:52
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Norton installs like a Virus it is into absolutely every thing. There is only one way I know. Revo-uninstaller. Install go to tools-Junk Files cleaner-Options -junk file cleaner-& open Exclude and General being careful to only remove Symantec. It may take several tries and re-boots but you can do it . Make sure to check program files to be sure that it was removed and regular add/remove
Depending on skill level you may have to do a regedit for both norton and then symantec
Post back if you need further help

--
Windows Home Basic-Service Pack 2
Dell AMD Athlon 64x2 Processor 4000+ 2.10Ghz 2Memory 32 Bit

Firefox 27+ - MS Security Essentials+Spybot-Spyware Blaster-Malwarebytes-Emsisoft Malware- Sandboxie

IE 9-seldom












Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
wr RE: removal of Norton PC Checkup 1.x
Contributor 12th Jun, 2010 05:54
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hi all

It isn't in Program Files but instead seems to be in appdata\local\tific\backup\install\------

If this a backup/reinstall file just create a Ignore rule.
The file will still be scanned by default but the results
will not be published.

Hope this helps.

Regards, wr

--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
sweatynumbthumb RE: removal of Norton PC Checkup 1.x
Member 12th Jun, 2010 15:35
Score: 6
Posts: 21
User Since: 20th Feb 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 12th Jun, 2010 15:37
Thanks People, I'll have a go tonight after the World Cup - If I encounter any problems I'll be sure to re-post them here.
P.S. Why does Norton embed their software so deeply into their customers PCs?
P.P.S. Thanks for the advice and also replying so quickly.
May you have the sun on your faces and the wind at your backs...

--
sweatynumbthumb
hp pavilion
vista 32-bit
3gb ram / +1gb readyboost
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: removal of Norton PC Checkup 1.x
Member 12th Jun, 2010 19:56
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
http://service1.symantec.com/SUPPORT/tsgeninfo.nsf...

Here is the alleged uninstaller for Norton/Symantec uninstaller. Hope it helps

--
Windows Home Basic-Service Pack 2
Dell AMD Athlon 64x2 Processor 4000+ 2.10Ghz 2Memory 32 Bit

Firefox 27+ - MS Security Essentials+Spybot-Spyware Blaster-Malwarebytes-Emsisoft Malware- Sandboxie

IE 9-seldom












Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability