Forum Thread: update of programs

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
anna1980 update of programs
Member 15th Jun, 2010 17:10
Ranking: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 26th Mar, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
why is Secunia giving remarks for Windows programs and on Windows update you get advised that no updates available ???? - Same happened with Skype - PSI request an update but Skype informs no update available

mogs RE: update of programs
Expert Contributor 15th Jun, 2010 18:08
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,269
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
You really need to be much more specific, if possible; for someone to be able to help you.
If you use psi with the Advanced interface you will gain more information.....see top right of the psi panel.....Simple or Advanced.
Often when programs are up dated, the process leaves behind older files/versions....psi willl continue to detect them even if still in the Recycle bin.
If you click on the + sign alongside an entry it will expand to reveal the file path...another click on Tech Details and it will confirm it. If you're not sure how best to proceed...post that info ( together with any other info..OS/version no.etc..) back to the forum. Hope this helps...regards

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Anthony Wells RE: update of programs
Expert Contributor 15th Jun, 2010 18:14
Score: 2470
Posts: 3,359
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 15th Jun, 2010 18:20
Hello Anna ,

To follow on from Mogs' advice ; here are some tips on using PSI in "advanced" mode :-

Click on each/all the tabs and there is plenty of written advice about what each tab contains .

If a "problem" shows in the "insecure" or "end of life" tabs , then to help resolve any problem , here are some instructions to help you first of all get the best out of PSI :-

1)use PSI in "advanced" mode ;
2)in the "settings" tab make sure that the box in the first/upper section is NOT ticked in order to have the maximum info available ;
3)tell us in which "tab(s)" your problem programme is located ;
4)in that tab , click on the + in the box at the left end of the programme , the page will expand ;
5)in the expanded page , tell us what is written in the "installation path" ;
6)in the "toolbox" section , lower down , the link "technical details" should confirm the installation path details ;
7)click on the link "open folder" and you will see more details concerning the location of the "problem" .

Posting these details will help the Forum help you , if/when you have a problem .

Take care
Anthony

EDIT ; for M$/Windows updates you need to reboot and run a full PSI scan for the results to register .

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.