Forum Thread: Scan doesn't show any programs

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
bbtrpt1 Scan doesn't show any programs
Member 19th Jun, 2010 16:46
Ranking: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 31st Aug, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hello,

I am using PSI 1.5.0.0 and have never had any problems.

The other day, the program said it was unable to connect to the Secunia server. This has happened occasionally in the past, and all I had to do was close the PSI program and reopen it and it would work fine.

This time, however, when I reopened it, all of my history was gone. I ran a full scan of my computer and the PSI is showing that I have zero programs installed. Zero insecure, zero patched, and zero end of life. I have tried rebooting my computer and there is no change.

What do you suggest? Should I uninstall the PSI program and reinstall it?

Thanks in advance,

Larry

mogs RE: Scan doesn't show any programs
Expert Contributor 19th Jun, 2010 17:06
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,269
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
I'd had occasions as you described before, but not an incidence of nought in all tabs.
Remember, Secunia does not "memorize" it's detections/findings...each scan is a fresh reappraisal. So, it would seem, you've nothing to lose by uninstall/reinstall, and at the same time upgrading the psi version.
You may have missed the update balloon ? You've got a choice to try the new TP ( Auto Update ) version as well. Regards


--
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-2
dogdirt RE: Scan doesn't show any programs
Member 19th Jun, 2010 17:09
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 12th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
That's a relief. Mine's just done exactly the same. I'll wait and see if there is a reason posted. Meanwhile I'm logging off to enjoy the sun. Well I do live in North Wales and it doesn't appear that often !
Dave.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Scan doesn't show any programs
Handling Contributor 19th Jun, 2010 17:26
Score: 11932
Posts: 9,157
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 19th Jun, 2010 17:28
This is not a new problem. Try this which has had some success with users:

1. Doubled check there was no outstanding updates from Microsoft.

2. Uninstall PSI using Control Panel>add/remove

3. Close the PC completely - wait 30 seconds & then switched it back on.

4. Install PSI version 1.9.0.0 using the RUN option from here: http://secunia.com/PSISetupAUTP.exe

5. Once installed I do a complete PSI scan of the PC.

Sorry about the Edits.



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
dogdirt RE: Scan doesn't show any programs
Member 19th Jun, 2010 17:41
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 12th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Re-installed OK, thanks.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.