navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Internet access

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
sargentjoe Internet access
Member 28th Jun, 2010 23:52
Ranking: -2
Posts: 4
User Since: 13th Jun, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Secunia will not connect to the internet, the following windows appear. Window 1, "Unable to locate an appropriate web browser", Window 2, "An error occured while attempting to open the specified URL". I can't even log in through the interface I have to surfe the internet outside of the Secunia interface. I am using Internet explorer 8 as my home page and has all of the updates.

Post "RE: Internet access" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: Internet access
Handling Contributor 29th Jun, 2010 00:58
Score: 11865
Posts: 9,101
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
See if this helps U.

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/455...

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
mogs RE: Internet access
Expert Contributor 29th Jun, 2010 01:02
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,268
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
Have you set one of your browsers as default ? It need not be IE8, tho' that (IE) needs be configured for Secunia to work. Check thro' the FAQ's at:- http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal... if you hav'nt already.....particularly note 3. Regards

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
sargentjoe RE: Internet access
Member 4th Jul, 2010 22:31
Score: -2
Posts: 4
User Since: 13th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 28th Jun, 2010 23:52, sargentjoe wrote:
Secunia will not connect to the internet, the following windows appear. Window 1, "Unable to locate an appropriate web browser", Window 2, "An error occured while attempting to open the specified URL". I can't even log in through the interface I have to surfe the internet outside of the Secunia interface. I am using Internet explorer 8 as my home page and has all of the updates.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-1
sargentjoe RE: Internet access
Member 4th Jul, 2010 22:34
Score: -2
Posts: 4
User Since: 13th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I have tried both suggestions and neither one fixed the problem. I am currently working with Microsoft hopefully they have a salution.
Sargentjoe
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
sargentjoe RE: Internet access
Member 6th Jul, 2010 18:24
Score: -2
Posts: 4
User Since: 13th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Microsoft helped me to resolve Secinia interface problem accessing the internet.

1. Go to start, type default programs
2. select default programs
3.Set default programs
4 Select Internet Explorer
5. choose defaults for this program
6 Select all and save
That was pretty much it.
sargent joe
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-1
maikt RE: Internet access
Member 7th Jul, 2010 13:19
Score: 1
Posts: 2
User Since: 6th Nov 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Can't activate my IE8 browser neither. Followed the action points as described, but no succes. Still having the messages as described above.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Internet access
Expert Contributor 7th Jul, 2010 13:50
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,268
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello maikt.
As it seems sargentjoe has resolved his problem, and, as he was the originator of this thread; he may decide to lock it at any time. It would therefore be wiser perhaps to create a new thread for yourself.
You'll need to be much more specific about your problem. As well as including details of your OS.....what browsers and versions(?).....what version of psi(?)....and any other info which might pertain to the problem. Are you running psi with the Advanced interface ?
If you havn't done so already, have a good read thro' the FAQ's at :-
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal... which you should find useful.
As I say, please try to firm up on some info when you post back to the forum.
Regards

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
M.Hansen RE: Internet access
Secunia Official 8th Jul, 2010 11:30
Score: 188
Posts: 412
User Since: 26th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Hi

I've posted a small guide regarding this problem
The guide can be found here:
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/471...

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+