Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Microsoft .net framework and microsoft windows xp professional

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
BEELEY Microsoft .net framework and microsoft windows xp professional
Member 29th Jun, 2010 16:14
Ranking: 0
Posts: 11
User Since: 19th Sep, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Secunia has been warning me about 2 threats for several months and I am unable to find a solution. They are:
Microsoft .Net framework 3.x. Version detected 3.0.4506.2152.
and Microsoft Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3.
Windows Update has nothing relevant as far as I can see.

Maurice Joyce RE: Microsoft .net framework and microsoft windows xp professional
Handling Contributor 29th Jun, 2010 16:58
Score: 11711
Posts: 8,954
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
As I am sure U know there is no SP3 for XP Pro. I think U are suffering from a legacy issue with the Secunia server wobbly of some months ago.

Try this - it has cured this odd behaviour many times.

Uninstall your current PSI.

Reboot

Install the latest version from here:

http://secunia.com/PSISetupAUTP.exe

OR

If U want to reinstall your current version from here:

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Complete a full rescan & all should be OK.



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
TiMow RE: Microsoft .net framework and microsoft windows xp professional
Dedicated Contributor 29th Jun, 2010 18:28
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
I am also running XP Pro SP3.

For clarification, the following is from System Info:

OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3 Build 2600;

and this from PSI Patched tab:

Microsoft Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3.

Under my PSI Patched tab, Net Framework 3.x. shows as the same version number as you have given (3.0.4506.2152) and is not listed as Insecure by PSI. This appears to be a PSI reporting error, that could be resolved with the advice already given.

Dated 09 Jun '10 I had 5x Security Updates for Windows XP (KB's), and subsequently my XP Pro SP3 is also listed as Patched and secure.

TiMow

--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
ddmarshall RE: Microsoft .net framework and microsoft windows xp professional
Dedicated Contributor 29th Jun, 2010 19:19
Score: 1208
Posts: 959
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
Last edited on 29th Jun, 2010 20:09
It's only the 64-bit versions which have no SP3. They are not affected by next month's withdrawal of support.

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/help/wh...

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Microsoft .net framework and microsoft windows xp professional
Handling Contributor 29th Jun, 2010 23:05
Score: 11711
Posts: 8,954
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Sorry - U are correct - should have clarified it is 64 Bit Not 32 that does not have SP3.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Arthur-lw RE: Microsoft .net framework and microsoft windows xp professional
Member 29th Jun, 2010 23:48
Score: 7
Posts: 10
User Since: 23rd May 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Last edited on 29th Jun, 2010 23:53
WHEW!!! <wipes brow>

I was going ape wondering who put this bogus service pack 3 on my system!!!

Learn something new every day. I had no idea there was no SP3 for XP 64bit. My next build will be Windows 7 64bit though. Any pointers out there?

By the way, I had PSI act up over this same issue. I ended up wiping all versions of the .net framework and then installing the 3.5 version by itself. If I ever run across someone who needs me to have an older version I will install their version and see if there are any conflicts at that time.

--
No trees were chopped down in the making of this post, but some electrons were horribly neutertroned in the process.
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
BEELEY RE: Microsoft .net framework and microsoft windows xp professional
Member 30th Jun, 2010 18:44
Score: 0
Posts: 11
User Since: 19th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thank you. I tried doing this but the new Secunia came up with the same warnings.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
BEELEY RE: Microsoft .net framework and microsoft windows xp professional
Member 30th Jun, 2010 18:49
Score: 0
Posts: 11
User Since: 19th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I haven't got the hang of this yet! I should have said that I tried uninstalling, re-booting and reinstalling the latest Secunia but it still came up with the same warnings.
Re: uninstalling all the .nets on my computer and just having 3.5. Is this likely to cause any problems?
Thank you.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ddmarshall RE: Microsoft .net framework and microsoft windows xp professional
Dedicated Contributor 30th Jun, 2010 19:43
Score: 1208
Posts: 959
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
.NET Framework 3.5 requires .NET Framework 2.0 and 3.0 to be installed. You can probably do without the earlier ones. If you have a program that insists on one of them, it will notify you when you try to run it.

Here is a guide to uninstalling and reinstalling .NET Framework

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/astebner/archive/2008/03/0...

The recent .NET Framework 4.0 is not included here.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Arthur-lw RE: Microsoft .net framework and microsoft windows xp professional
Member 30th Jun, 2010 20:04
Score: 7
Posts: 10
User Since: 23rd May 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Apparently my memory was a bit foggy when I wrote the above post. I may have been thinking of the way 3.5 SP1 uninstalls some aspects of previous .net versions. Anyway, see step 5 in the above link furnished by ddmarshall.

--
No trees were chopped down in the making of this post, but some electrons were horribly neutertroned in the process.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability