Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Windows firewall

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as resolved.
This user no longer exists Windows firewall
Member 7th Jul, 2010 15:36
Ranking: 8
Posts: 132
User Since: 1st Jan, 1970
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Every time I turn my PC on a pop-up will flash telling me that Windows firewall is turned off. Windows firewall is never turned off so I can't figure out where this message is coming form. I can't do much with my pc until this message flashes, and then it releases my pc and everything works again.

Does anyone have any ideas what this problem could be?

Thank you.

Sincerely, jitterbug

Post "RE: Windows firewall" has been selected as an answer.
gjjean RE: Windows firewall
Contributor 7th Jul, 2010 16:05
Score: 192
Posts: 197
User Since: 9th Apr 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: LB
Hi jitterbug
Consider visiting the following site maybe you can solve your problem.

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc74926...(WS.10).aspx

Good luck.


--
HP pavilion DV6
Win 7 64bit - SP1
IE10 + MSSE4.3.215
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows firewall
Member 12th Jul, 2010 20:54
Hi John:

Well, I've tried to follow the links you provided, and I found myself in way over my head. I do not find another firewall on my system....I did a Search and didn't find anything.

I went on to Search the Event Viewer, and I found information that I do not think has anything to do with the firewall, but I could be wrong.

I found errors listed under System Errors and application Errors but it is too much for me.

For example, one note under Application reads: Windows cannot unload your registry File. The memory used by the registry has not been freed. This is often caused by services running as a user account, try configuring the service to run in either the Local Service or Network Service Account. If this problem persists, contact your administrator. (Is that me?)

DETAIL: Insufficient System Resources to complete requested Service. For more inorfmation see Help and Support Center at http, and it gives a microsoft link. It wanted to send the following information across the internet and asked me if it is OK. I didn't agree. The information is this:

Category: None
Company Name: Microsoft Corp.
Date: 7/11/10
Event ID: 1512
File Name: userenv:dll
File Version 5.1.2600.5512
Product Name: Microsoft Windows Operating....
Product Version 5.1.2600.5512
Source: userenv
Time: 5:47:25 pm
Type Error

I am lost. I really can't figure this out of my own. Thanks for your help.

Does anyone have any ideas about this that I could handle?

Thanks. jitterbug.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ddmarshall RE: Windows firewall
Dedicated Contributor 12th Jul, 2010 22:01
Score: 1198
Posts: 954
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
When you say 'turn on', do you mean boot up or coming back from hibernation or sleep? If it's during boot up I suspect it's your anti-virus initialising.

Try this forum for advice on Windows XP:
http://social.answers.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/x...

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows firewall
Member 12th Jul, 2010 22:24
Hi.

I mean when my computer is off and I turn it on to use it, I cannot log on to the internet nor use Outlook Express until that pop-up window materializes that says something like: "Your firewall is turned off..click this balloon to turn it on". The balloon is the link to Windows Firewall in the Control Panel. Windows Firewall is located in both Windows Firewall and the Security Center in the control panel. There is a delay of about 10 - 15 seconds (or maybe a bit longer, even) before that pop-up shows up (and immediately disappears), and then I can log on from my desk top.

If I manage to click the balloon before it disappears it takes me to control panel, and shows me that the firewall is on. I think that is the way it goes. It is screwy.

I will check the link you have provided. Thank you.

jitterbug
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Windows firewall
Handling Contributor 13th Jul, 2010 23:31
Score: 11563
Posts: 8,887
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Jitterbug,
I will not butt in on helping with your Firewall problem as U already have helpers on the case.

U have locked the other thread about Flash.

A few pointers for U.

1. Provided all your Flash elements are in the PATCHED area they are secure. The threat Cat U see is what it will be IF NOT PATCHED.

2. To fully clear up please confirm U have NO ITEMS under the INSECURE tab? If U have any what is the path?





--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows firewall
Member 14th Jul, 2010 01:00
Hello Maurice:

I have no items under the Insecure tab. Sorry about locking the thread prematurely. Thank you.

I do not consider it 'butting in' with my windows firewall problem because I thought the forum was open to all who wish to contribute. If you have any ideas about my firewall problem I would like to hear them.

jitterbug
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Windows firewall
Handling Contributor 14th Jul, 2010 01:41
Score: 11563
Posts: 8,887
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Things are looking better for U.

I noted your post to Jakob. Flash should be showing. Once U reboot & do a full rescan with PSI it should appear.

I would tick (check mark) all the programmes under auto update. Hopefully PSI should then silently keep them secure for U.

About Windows Firewall. Do U use a Registry Cleaner - I ask because it looks like U have "lost" a very important file that is required by Windows.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows firewall
Member 14th Jul, 2010 02:07
Hello.

On the advice of a friend I recently began using TuneUp Utilities, TuneUp l-click Maintenance on a trial basis for a month. It is almost over. I have never touched the registry. Can you suggest a registry cleaner?

I will reboot and do a full scan with PSI to see if flash shows up.

Thanks again.

jitterbug
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows firewall
Member 14th Jul, 2010 02:21
Hello Maurice:

I did the full scan and Flash showed up. So I checked it. Thank you.

jitterbug
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Windows firewall
Handling Contributor 14th Jul, 2010 03:32
Score: 11563
Posts: 8,887
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I would never recommend any registry cleaner to anyone. Tune Up Utilities is a registry cleaner & alleges to do many other things. This may be the cause of the issue.

I will give it more thought tomorrow & get back to U.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-1
ddmarshall RE: Windows firewall
Dedicated Contributor 14th Jul, 2010 11:43
Score: 1198
Posts: 954
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
Last edited on 14th Jul, 2010 12:13
It's possible that Tuneup Utilities has switched of some services or changed internet settings to 'optimise' your computer. If there is an 'Undo' facility, I would try it.

Here is the XP Firewall Troubleshooting Guide:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/bb45702...

I don't expect you to wade through this, but, towards the end is a section titled TheServices Snap-in. Follow the procedure there to check that the Firewall service is set with startup type Automatic.

Am I right in understanding that what is happenning is:
You start up your computer and you can use programs which do not use the internet normally,
When you start IE or OE, there is a delay until the Firewall pop-up appears, then everything works ?

It might be useful to have the following information
Any changes made around the time this started
Antivirus/malware programs used
How you are connected to the Internet, e.g. USB modem, wireless, ethernet router.

Take a look at this:
http://www.reghardware.com/2009/09/29/review_pc_tu...

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gjjean RE: Windows firewall
Contributor 14th Jul, 2010 15:31
Score: 192
Posts: 197
User Since: 9th Apr 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: LB
Hello jitterbug

After your response of 12/07/2010 where you mention the event ID 1512, you can visit the following site to sort your problem.

http://www.eventid.net/display.asp?eventid=1512&ev...

Hope that help.


--
HP pavilion DV6
Win 7 64bit - SP1
IE10 + MSSE4.3.215
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-3
gjjean RE: Windows firewall
Contributor 14th Jul, 2010 15:33
Score: 192
Posts: 197
User Since: 9th Apr 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: LB
Last edited on 14th Jul, 2010 15:36
Hello jitterbug

Sorry to be late for a response.

After your response of 12/07/2010 where you mention the event ID 1512, you can visit the following site to sort your problem.

http://www.eventid.net/display.asp?eventid=1512&ev...

Hope that help.

Also sorry for the duplicat response.

--
HP pavilion DV6
Win 7 64bit - SP1
IE10 + MSSE4.3.215
Was this reply relevant?
+5
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows firewall
Member 14th Jul, 2010 17:40
Maurice:

Actually, the firewall problem began months before I used TuneUp Utilities. TuneUp Utilities seems highly recommended, but it is done with now and I won't do it again.

jitterbug
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows firewall
Member 14th Jul, 2010 18:17
Hello:

I went to the Service for Windows Firewall/Internet connection and the Startup Type is automatic, but the service status: Started, has a Stop button illuminated. The other 4 buttons there are: Start, Pause, and Resume, but they are grayer out and do not respond to a click. Then it says: You can specify the start parameters that apply when you start the service from here... Start Parameters (empty slot).

Thank you jitterbug.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gjjean RE: Windows firewall
Contributor 14th Jul, 2010 18:48
Score: 192
Posts: 197
User Since: 9th Apr 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: LB
@ jitterbug

There is a solution @ the following site:

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/support/ee/transf...

Or maybe you can add a new admin account,reboot and use the new one.

Hope that will help.


--
HP pavilion DV6
Win 7 64bit - SP1
IE10 + MSSE4.3.215
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Windows firewall
Handling Contributor 14th Jul, 2010 18:57
Score: 11563
Posts: 8,887
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Jitterbug,
OK. Please to hear U are now safe & sound. I will log off & leave the Firewall problems to the others helping U.



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Leendert Kip Windows firewall
Member 14th Jul, 2010 20:12
Score: 65
Posts: 520
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
[quote=p22570][b]I would never recommend any registry cleaner to anyone.
You are right of course, Maurice! As you might know I'm not too experienced
and fell in the trap by the makers of registry cleaning software telling me that
I could improve the performance of my pc by using a registry cleaner. After some time using that software I experienced problems with Microsoft updates.
At some moment I asked Microsoft support for help and they investigated my pc via remote support and found corruptions (or something like that) causing
the troubles. It's impossible to repair the damage! The only way is to perform
a full recovery of my pc which I have to do shortly. So my advice too: do not use registry cleaners! Maybe 'toys' for professionals but not for home users.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 30.0NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 30.0NL
Was this reply relevant?
+7
-1
ddmarshall RE: Windows firewall
Dedicated Contributor 14th Jul, 2010 20:16
Score: 1198
Posts: 954
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
The Firewall Service is correctly configured.

The only other thing I can think of to check is to run msconfig and check if any startup programs have been unticked that might have something to do with starting your internet connection.

As far as I remember, event 1512 during shutdown on XP was fairly common. It shouldn't be related to your firewall problem.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows firewall
Member 14th Jul, 2010 23:17
Hello John.

Thank you, but that site is selling information.

jitterbug
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows firewall
Member 14th Jul, 2010 23:32
John, Have you ever used the UPHCleaner tool, or do you know anyone who has? I wonder if it would work for me.

I do not know how to do your 2nd suggestion about using another administrator and rebooting.

jitterbug
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows firewall
Member 14th Jul, 2010 23:34
Thank you for all your help Maurice.

jitterbug
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows firewall
Member 14th Jul, 2010 23:40
John,

I ran MSCONFIG and under "Services" tab, half are running and half of them are stopped. Do you know why?

Thanks.

jitterbug
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ddmarshall RE: Windows firewall
Dedicated Contributor 15th Jul, 2010 01:13
Score: 1198
Posts: 954
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
That's normal. Some services only run when they are needed.

If you are interested, here's a list of services and their default configuration
http://www.blackviper.com/WinXP/servicecfg.htm

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows firewall
Member 15th Jul, 2010 01:44
Hello

Thank you. I saved the link. I think it may come in handy.

jitterbug
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gjjean RE: Windows firewall
Contributor 15th Jul, 2010 14:07
Score: 192
Posts: 197
User Since: 9th Apr 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: LB
@ jitterbug

In replay to your question of 14/07/2010-23:32

No I haven’t used UPHCleaner tool but that was a search I’ve made to help you.

For your second question: In control panel goto users and create a new user with administrative rights.

Have luck.


--
HP pavilion DV6
Win 7 64bit - SP1
IE10 + MSSE4.3.215
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows firewall
Member 15th Jul, 2010 14:25
Hello John.

I will go to the control panel and create a new user with administrative rights. I did not know how to do that. Thank you very much.

jitterbug
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows firewall
Member 15th Jul, 2010 14:40
John, If I create a new user, how will that work on my computer. I will have two users? How do I know which one to use and can I swap back and forth?

Thank you. jitterbug.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gjjean RE: Windows firewall
Contributor 15th Jul, 2010 15:20
Score: 192
Posts: 197
User Since: 9th Apr 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: LB
@ jitterbug

When you create a user, you give-it a name.

After rebooting, use the new user name to logon like u usually does, and yes you can swap back & forth.


--
HP pavilion DV6
Win 7 64bit - SP1
IE10 + MSSE4.3.215
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows firewall
Member 15th Jul, 2010 16:49
Okay John. thank you.

jiterbug
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
gjjean RE: Windows firewall
Contributor 15th Jul, 2010 17:42
Score: 192
Posts: 197
User Since: 9th Apr 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: LB
@ jitterbug

you are welcome.

If you want to learn more about UPHCleanup, go to:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?fa...

Follow this link and go to the section intituled “Files in this download”

Then download the “readme.txt” and carefully read-it before attempting to use the UPHClean.

Hope that will sort your problem.

--
HP pavilion DV6
Win 7 64bit - SP1
IE10 + MSSE4.3.215
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Windows firewall
Member 16th Jul, 2010 03:00
John,

I have already tried reading the readme text. It is over my head. Thanks anyway.

jitterbug
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability