Forum Thread: how to start?

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
jl007 how to start?
Member 23rd Jul, 2010 17:46
Ranking: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 22nd Jul, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
First, there's something wrong with with my computer and that leads to how do you run PSI?

or how should it work?

Because it's not scanning and coming up with the results (I think).

Thanks a head.

taffy078 RE: how to start?
Contributor 23rd Jul, 2010 18:01
Score: 408
Posts: 1,460
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK


--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC 1511 Build 10586.71 and Compaq Presario CQ71 Win10 Upgraded 1511 build 10586.71
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
taffy078 RE: how to start?
Contributor 23rd Jul, 2010 18:07
Score: 408
Posts: 1,460
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Here are links that you need to look at:

How Secunia works: http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

FAQ:
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

As I said earlier, read these, install the latest version of PSI then scan and let us know how you got on.

I'll post some good advice from Anthony Wells in a moment on how to use PSI in Advanced mode.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC 1511 Build 10586.71 and Compaq Presario CQ71 Win10 Upgraded 1511 build 10586.71
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
taffy078 RE: how to start?
Contributor 23rd Jul, 2010 18:18
Score: 408
Posts: 1,460
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK


--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC 1511 Build 10586.71 and Compaq Presario CQ71 Win10 Upgraded 1511 build 10586.71
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
thedillpickl RE: how to start?
Contributor 24th Jul, 2010 06:22
Score: 376
Posts: 872
User Since: 3rd May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hi jl007;

If I may, let me clarify how PSI 'works' by copying a bit from the "Readme.rtf" file found in the C:\program files\Secunia\PSI folder (or where ever you placed PSI on your hard drive). Reading the complete file may prove useful.

"Purpose of the Secunia PSI

The Secunia PSI is an invaluable tool for you to use when assessing the security patch state of software installed on your system. It constantly monitors your system for insecure software installations, notifies you when an insecure application is installed, and even provides you with detailed instructions for updating the application when available.

It is NOT the purpose of the Secunia PSI to detect whether your system has already been compromised or if local changes, settings, or missing requirements could cause the Secunia PSI to report incorrect results. The Secunia PSI relies on the meta-data of executables and library files. The Secunia PSI does NOT conduct an integrity check of the individual files, rather, it checks whether a specific program is vulnerable according to the reported version numbers and not whether the files have been compromised or replaced by other users or programs.

The Secunia PSI is not a replacement for other security measures such anti-virus or personal firewalls, the Secunia PSI is a great supplement to other security measures such as anti-virus and personal firewalls as it helps preventing exploitation of often overlooked exposures.
"

I'm not quite sure if taffy asked, but what do you mean when you say, "Because it's not scanning and coming up with the results (I think)."

Do you mean that when you attempt a manual scan, in PSI, it fails or simply will not scan? Is it possible, you mean that when the scan has finished, the results appear wrong?

Please post back and give us a little more detail.


Regards;

Fred

--
XP Home
Chrome, Firefox, IE8
--
consilio et animis
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.