Forum Thread: Maxthon (MyIE2) PSI shows latest version unsecure

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as resolved.
bennetpd Maxthon (MyIE2) PSI shows latest version unsecure
Member 29th Jul, 2010 02:57
Ranking: 1
Posts: 17
User Since: 29th Jul, 2010
System Score: 99%
Location: US
I scanned my computer with Secunia PSI and it indicated Maxthon (MyIE2) 1.x was a security threat. C:\Program Files\Maxthon\maxthon.exe. I downloaded the latest version (version 1.6.7) from the Maxthon website and installed it and rescanned with PSI. PSI still lists Maxthon as a security threat. Please advise.
Many thanks,
Patty

--
Alienware M17xR3/Windows 7 Professional/Intel Core i7 2.5GHz/8GB RAM/Radeon HD 6870M with 1GB GDDR5/500GB Hybrid Solid State Drive (Seagate Momentus XT)/
IE 9/Maxthon 2/Avira AntiVir Premium/Super Antispyware/Malwarebytes/WinPatrol/Secunia PSI

South Carolina/USA

Post "RE: Maxthon (MyIE2) PSI shows latest version unsecure" has been selected as an answer.
taffy078 RE: Maxthon (MyIE2) PSI shows latest version unsecure
Contributor 29th Jul, 2010 04:35
Score: 408
Posts: 1,463
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK


--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+5
-0
taffy078 RE: Maxthon (MyIE2) PSI shows latest version unsecure
Contributor 29th Jul, 2010 04:38
Score: 408
Posts: 1,463
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 29th Jul, 2010 06:21


--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-2
M.Hansen RE: Maxthon (MyIE2) PSI shows latest version unsecure
Secunia Official 29th Jul, 2010 15:22
Score: 193
Posts: 421
User Since: 26th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Hi

I've changed our rules regarding Maxthon 1.x

According to the changelog, it's still active:
http://www.maxthon.com/changelog.htm#classic

If you have Maxthon 1.x version 1.2.2 or higher, you should be flagged as "patched" after a new scan.
bennetpd RE: Maxthon (MyIE2) PSI shows latest version unsecure
Member 29th Jul, 2010 20:52
Score: 1
Posts: 17
User Since: 29th Jul 2010
System Score: 99%
Location: US
First, thanks so much for your help!

Also, I have already included the installation path of the vulnerable file in my original post. It is:

C:\Program Files\Maxthon\maxthon.exe.

As for what version I currently have, I included that in my original post as well. I downloaded the latest version (version 1.6.7 build 35) from the Maxthon website. This is the version that Secunia PSI lists on my scan as "This installation of Maxthon (MYIE2) 1.x is end of life & potentially exposes your system to security threats." (I am not sure why PSI includes the (MYIE2) part since that is the old name...it's now known as simply Maxthon.)

Thanks for letting me know that I posted my thread in the wrong forum! I wasn't sure where to post it.

Patty

Acer TravelMate 5720/Intel Centrino Core 2 Duo 2.5Ghz/2 GB RAM/Windows XP SP3/IE 7/Avira AntiVir Premium/Windows Defender/Spyware Blaster/Secunia PSI


--
Alienware M17xR3/Windows 7 Professional/Intel Core i7 2.5GHz/8GB RAM/Radeon HD 6870M with 1GB GDDR5/500GB Hybrid Solid State Drive (Seagate Momentus XT)/
IE 9/Maxthon 2/Avira AntiVir Premium/Super Antispyware/Malwarebytes/WinPatrol/Secunia PSI

South Carolina/USA
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Maxthon (MyIE2) PSI shows latest version unsecure
Handling Contributor 29th Jul, 2010 21:01
Score: 12073
Posts: 9,344
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Patty,
Looks like Secunia have changed their database. Have U tried a reboot followed by a complete rescan?

That should correct the issue. If not post back so that a Secunia Official (Emil) can advise U further.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
bennetpd RE: Maxthon (MyIE2) PSI shows latest version unsecure
Member 29th Jul, 2010 21:22
Score: 1
Posts: 17
User Since: 29th Jul 2010
System Score: 99%
Location: US
Thanks very much for your quick response! Upon rescanning, PSI no longer shows Maxthon as vulnerable.

Patty

--
Alienware M17xR3/Windows 7 Professional/Intel Core i7 2.5GHz/8GB RAM/Radeon HD 6870M with 1GB GDDR5/500GB Hybrid Solid State Drive (Seagate Momentus XT)/
IE 9/Maxthon 2/Avira AntiVir Premium/Super Antispyware/Malwarebytes/WinPatrol/Secunia PSI

South Carolina/USA
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Maxthon (MyIE2) PSI shows latest version unsecure
Handling Contributor 29th Jul, 2010 21:35
Score: 12073
Posts: 9,344
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Patty,
Can U please lock (Accept) the thread which will prevent U & I getting update emails from "tag on" posts.

Pleased to here U are all fixed up.

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-1
taffy078 RE: Maxthon (MyIE2) PSI shows latest version unsecure
Contributor 29th Jul, 2010 23:20
Score: 408
Posts: 1,463
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
PS Patty - I'm glad to hear it's sorted but don't forget to tell all your friends about Secunia!



--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.