Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: 2 'probs' found. None listed. ?

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as locked.
tateminc 2 'probs' found. None listed. ?
Member 29th Jul, 2010 17:44
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 29th Jul, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Dnlded & registered last night. Restarted this AM. total of 4 scans: @ scan found 2 'problems', none are listed.

Is there a sftwr problem w/ Secunia? What now?

Maurice Joyce RE: 2 'probs' found. None listed. ?
Handling Contributor 29th Jul, 2010 17:55
Score: 11575
Posts: 8,892
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
There is nothing wrong with Secunia. This may help U set up & get started. Once U have done that run a complete PSI scan.

If there are more problems ideally U should post the path to vulnerability.


SETTING UP PSI IN THE ADVANCED MODE
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Are U using the latest version of PSI that has the added feature of automatic updates for some programmes? If not,and U would like to try it the download link is here:
http://secunia.com/PSISetupAUTP.exe

Whatever version U currently use try this:

1. Open PSI by clicking the System tray icon or right click the icon & select Reload Interface.

2.Select the OVERVIEW tab.

3. In the top right corner U will see INTERFACE MODE - SIMPLE/ADVANCED. To be in the advanced mode the word SIMPLE should be blue and advanced black.

4. If advanced is blue click it. A message about advanced users may appear - ignore it - using the advanced mode is easy.

SETTING UP PSI FOR MAXIMUM ASSISTANCE
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

1. Click on the SETTINGS tab.

2. The top box should be empty & the two remaining boxes ticked.

3. Right at the bottom is a facility to create Global Ignore Rules. By default PSI scans & publishes the results on all the hard drives of a PC. OEM partition (reinstallation) drives (normally drive D),second internal or external drives SOLELY used to backup your work & C:\Windows\i386 which can be ignored as they have no exposure. To save confusion in the future (by way of "false positives") U may consider it a good idea to create some Global rules now.

4. A separate Ignore Rule is required for each drive which can be set up as follows:

a.Click on CREATE IGNORE RULE

b.In the RULE NAME BOX insert something like MY BACKUP DRIVE (MY PARTITION DRIVE)

c.In the RULE BOX type D:\(or the drive letter U wish to ignore) - For folder i386 use C:\Windows\i386.

d.Click SAVE IGNORE RULE>CLOSE

All drives will continue to be scanned by default but the result from the ignored list will not be published.

This thread has an article by @Anthony Wells that may also be of help in understanding the advanced mode:

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/375...

It does not contain details of the auto update feature but that is very simple to use. There is a list of programmes under AUTO UPDATES - just tick (check mark) any U want PSI to auto update for U.

If a new Forum Member U might find these interesting reading as well:

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Update 6 18:08 22/07/2010

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
mogs RE: 2 'probs' found. None listed. ?
Expert Contributor 29th Jul, 2010 17:59
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
It doesn't matter how many scans you've done...psi doesn't memorize nor carry over results. Each scan is, as is.
Are you using psi in the Advanced mode ? See top right of the psi panel....Simple and Advanced. You will access more information in the Advanced....it's not difficult.
When Secunia detects a vulnerability it will be shown in the Insecure or End of life tab.....you'll see a + sign alongside, and if you click on it, the entry will expand to reveal the file path. If unsure as to how best to proceed, post that info back to the forum, together with details of your OS....and anything else you might think might be relevant.....as you see in my "Signature" below.
Here is a link to the FAQ's which you may also find useful, if you havn't already read :-http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...
Worth checking you've configured correctly.
Hope the foregoing is found of help....regards,


--
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-2

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability