navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: MS: Win 7 auto-diagnostic system available for XP-SP3/Vista

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as locked.
taffy078 MS: Win 7 auto-diagnostic system available for XP-SP3/Vista
Contributor 3rd Aug, 2010 05:34
Ranking: 408
Posts: 1,352
User Since: 26th Feb, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 3rd Aug, 2010 05:36

I've just had an email from MS about a critical security patch which they've just released. (This is of course outside of their usual patch cycle of second-Tuesday of the month, so must be very critical.)

Having installed it, I then saw this article:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-10837232

There, my attention was drawn a headline "Microsoft debuts 'fix it' program", with a link to
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/technology/8629331.stm

This article says this auto-diagnostic is currently available in beta version. The article is dated 19th April.

I've searched high & low in the MS sites but can't find anywhere where I can download it. (I have it on my Win7 laptop and find it extremely useful.)

Has anyone here installed it? If so what's the MS "proper name" for it please so that I can search MS again.

EDIT: Added Vista to the heading

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003

mogs RE: MS: Win 7 auto-diagnostic system available for XP-SP3/Vista
Expert Contributor 3rd Aug, 2010 07:07
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,268
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Morning taffy...you were up early !
If you go to the BBC story again and look to the right of the page...Related Internet Links...click.....it will take you directly to the MS Fix it Centre Online Beta,
Is that what you're looking for ?

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
thedillpickl RE: MS: Win 7 auto-diagnostic system available for XP-SP3/Vista
Contributor 3rd Aug, 2010 07:30
Score: 376
Posts: 872
User Since: 3rd May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Last edited on 3rd Aug, 2010 07:37
Hi Taf;

I don't believe mogs has what you're looking for, but I may be wrong. It might be similar, but an on-line version. Like OSI is to PSI. :(

It may be a bit more difficult to achieve. If indeed a beta program you wish to test for MS, see this: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/833520

A side light, I found this tid-bit while looking: http://support.microsoft.com/kb/924732 Possibly not for casual use, but I can't wait to try/test. Could help me do 'remote' diagnostics! Yeah! Save on gas & waisted time! Yeah!


Fred

--
XP Home
Chrome, Firefox, IE8
--
consilio et animis
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: MS: Win 7 auto-diagnostic system available for XP-SP3/Vista
Expert Contributor 3rd Aug, 2010 07:38
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,268
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Morning Fred !
I think I may have found what taffy's looking for....have a look yourself...see what you think....I'd like to hear your comment regarding....thanks. http://fixitcenter.support.microsoft.com/Portal/Fe...



--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
thedillpickl RE: MS: Win 7 auto-diagnostic system available for XP-SP3/Vista
Contributor 3rd Aug, 2010 08:05
Score: 376
Posts: 872
User Since: 3rd May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Very early morning (for me);

Bed time, actually. The kid in me just has to poke around when it should be nighty night.

Both the links you & BBC gave download "FixitCenter_Run.exe .

I just about blew the phone line, going to Big Hal, out of the wall. Bleary eyed & not thinking, I click on the download buttons on both sites & the reply button in this thread. Chrome resolved, and everything worked, but took awhile.

Running install as I type this, it's downloading something. Local time 12:47am.

Above .exe must be an installer. Only about 1/4 done, time now 1:02am. I'll let you know tomorrow, giving up for tonight.


Fred

--
XP Home
Chrome, Firefox, IE8
--
consilio et animis
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: MS: Win 7 auto-diagnostic system available for XP-SP3/Vista
Expert Contributor 3rd Aug, 2010 08:43
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,268
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Cheers Fred..........have a good night.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: MS: Win 7 auto-diagnostic system available for XP-SP3/Vista
Handling Contributor 3rd Aug, 2010 11:36
Score: 11865
Posts: 9,101
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 3rd Aug, 2010 11:45
As U have perhaps all now noticed the MS "Fit It" beta testing programme is closed to new applicants.

Windows 7 has a limited addition of this programme which is activated via the "Action Centre".

It is not a tool I use often but does have some nice features which tries to help find & correct issues.

It basically has a search feature to find problems & MAY then find a MS fix to solve an issue.

As U have noted an online "fix it" is already available for some issues.

Remote features are already available outside MS. The key to using this feature is it requires a broadband connection.

Many companies outside MS offer this service. I use Radmin/Hamachi to remotely fix PC's - I believe it is the cheapest option for those seeking help outside MS.

This is another http://www.crossloop.com/download.htm?affid=xl&src...

While we are discussing MS I have noticed on the Forum that the some are hoping the long outstanding minor vulnerability in IE will be fixed on the release of IE9.

Not sure about the fix but XP users should be aware that this release of IE may not be available to them. Some online advice
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ie9 is already saying it will NOT be available.

Microsoft via there Tech Bulletins refuse to commit themselves but XP is now in extended support which could mean "gloom & doom".

Hope this helps.

Sorry for the edit - I inserted a wrong hyperlink.




--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+4
-0
ddmarshall RE: MS: Win 7 auto-diagnostic system available for XP-SP3/Vista
Dedicated Contributor 3rd Aug, 2010 12:54
Score: 1219
Posts: 971
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
I downloaded the Fixit Center Beta on Vista. It's pretty much what's on the Fixit Online Center. It does keep a record of what you have done for several computers if you have a Windows Live ID. I haven't had a problem to really test it on, but, running the performance improvement modules, it was suggesting disabling IE addons and start-up programs. So probably not a good idea to set it to automatic.
One drawback is that it does not run on a standard user account.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: MS: Win 7 auto-diagnostic system available for XP-SP3/Vista
Expert Contributor 3rd Aug, 2010 15:31
Score: 2463
Posts: 3,348
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Can pretty much corroborate what ddmarshall says concerning running it on my XP SP3 .

I definitely do not to allow automatic correction of my settings ; should become a useful tool , but not yet found a problem for it to dael with :)

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: MS: Win 7 auto-diagnostic system available for XP-SP3/Vista
Contributor 4th Aug, 2010 15:03
Score: 408
Posts: 1,352
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
thanks for your help.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+