Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Secunia doesn't recognize patch

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Adobe Systems
And, this specific program:
Adobe Acrobat 8.x

This thread has been marked as resolved.
This user no longer exists Secunia doesn't recognize patch
Member 21st Aug, 2010 02:41
Ranking: 9
Posts: 20
User Since: 1st Jan, 1970
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I'm running Windows XP, SP3 and have just installed the patch for Acrobat. I rebooted and checked that Acrobat 8.2.4 is now installed on my computer (which it is) and then rescanned with Secunia. Secunia is still showing this program as insecure. Is this something that Secunia will have to fix?

Post "RE: Secunia doesn't recognize patch" has been selected as an answer.
thedillpickl RE: Secunia doesn't recognize patch
Contributor 21st Aug, 2010 03:32
Score: 376
Posts: 872
User Since: 3rd May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
on 21st Aug, 2010 02:41, wrote:
... Is this something that Secunia will have to fix?

It looks that way.

See this thread: http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/520...

I think Anthony explains this well. If the problem persists past Monday, post back here.


Regards;

Fred

--
XP Home
Chrome, Firefox, IE8
--
consilio et animis
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Bagpuss RE: Secunia doesn't recognize patch
Member 22nd Aug, 2010 21:36
Score: 1
Posts: 1
User Since: 15th Jul 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Re the problem of Secunia not recognising the patch to Adobe acrobat, I also have had the same problem. I downloaded the patch THREE times via the prompt on the "insecure page" and it still reports after scanning it is still insecure. I have had this problem before with Adobe Reader a few weeks ago. After a few days after reporting the insecure program (and I had downloaded the patch several times), Secunia then reported no insecure programs - I had not downloaded any more updates since the initial report of a few days earlier.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Secunia doesn't recognize patch
Member 23rd Aug, 2010 09:37
Hi,

If you rescan now, are you shown as secure?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Jayman007 RE: Secunia doesn't recognize patch
Member 23rd Aug, 2010 12:12
Score: 1
Posts: 2
User Since: 26th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I am having the same issue. In my opinion the problem stems from the fact that the acrobat.exe is not being updated by the patch. The patch must be updating other files used by the application. That is why Secunia is not recognizing the app as being updated. But, when you open acrobat and look at the version you will see you are running the updated version.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
thorgull RE: Secunia doesn't recognize patch
Member 23rd Aug, 2010 12:17
Score: 1
Posts: 3
User Since: 23rd Aug 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
I also confirm it is still present. The update did not change the executable (C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 8.0\Acrobat\Acrobat.exe) but the dll file (Acrobat.dll), as confirmed by the file property "version" displayed from windows explorer.

Adobe reader 9 was updated similarly (dll but not the executable), but is not reported as patched with the version corresponding to the dll version number.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Secunia doesn't recognize patch
Member 23rd Aug, 2010 12:36
Last edited on 23rd Aug, 2010 12:38 Hi,

Did any of you run a rescan after my last post? I have updated our rules, so you should hopefully be shown as secure if you update to the proper version.

If you did, and it still didn't work, try one more time. Everybody should be shown as secure this time around.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
thorgull RE: Secunia doesn't recognize patch
Member 23rd Aug, 2010 13:17
Score: 1
Posts: 3
User Since: 23rd Aug 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Scan at 12:11 was still not OK, scan at 12:53 was fine

Problem solved, thanks.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Jayman007 RE: Secunia doesn't recognize patch
Member 23rd Aug, 2010 17:29
Score: 1
Posts: 2
User Since: 26th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
after rescanning the application in question I get the all clear.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Secunia doesn't recognize patch
Member 23rd Aug, 2010 21:33
Yes--I just rescanned and am now showing 100% secure.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability