Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: PSI not saving settings in W7

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
efdsa PSI not saving settings in W7
Member 21st Aug, 2010 09:30
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 21st Aug, 2010
System Score: 97%
Location: NL
PSI is not starting in the background on Windows7 (Ultimate 32 and 64 bit). It looks likt it doesn't save the startupsettings. Anyone has experienced this as well?
Thanks. KR. Ed

taffy078 RE: PSI not saving settings in W7
Contributor 21st Aug, 2010 11:56
Score: 408
Posts: 1,322
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 21st Aug, 2010 12:04
Hi. There are two common causes of your problem:

(1) What version of Secunia are you using? It's shown in the bottom-right of the main Secunia screen.

(2) Is Internet Explorer your default browser? It has to be - some links are set by Secunia PSI to open in IE, because some Windows Update downloads and websites fail to resolve properly when opened by a browser other than IE.

When you reply, could you also give us some info on your PC etc as this info may be useful. (See my signature as an example.)

Hoping this will help you.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-2
mogs RE: PSI not saving settings in W7
Expert Contributor 21st Aug, 2010 12:08
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 21st Aug, 2010 12:10
Hello.
You may find reading at the following links useful....if you havn't already done so.
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal... FAQ's
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal... HOW IT WORKS
Hope it helps....regards......and to you taffy !!


--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-2
thedillpickl RE: PSI not saving settings in W7
Contributor 21st Aug, 2010 22:44
Score: 376
Posts: 872
User Since: 3rd May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hi efdsa;

Welcome to the Secunia forum.

I'm not running Win7, but PSI should run the same.

> In PSI, in the Settings tab, in the box "PSI Settings", the "Start the Secunia PSI on boot" will not stay checked?
> Is the "Start the..." checked but PSI opens a window to load?
> Was PSI added to any "Auto Run" or "Start Up" lists?


Regards;

Fred



--
XP Home
Chrome, Firefox, IE8
--
consilio et animis
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
efdsa RE: PSI not saving settings in W7
Member 22nd Aug, 2010 09:49
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 21st Aug 2010
System Score: 97%
Location: NL
Last edited on 22nd Aug, 2010 09:51
Hi,
IE is not my default browser, but I'm not experiencing any issues with loading pages etc. It's just that the tickbox "start secunia...." is unchecked again after rebooting (and reloading the interface).

I have this on all my W7 machines btw.
My lt as example, Acer Aspire 7715, W7Ultimate 64 bits, 4Gb
PSI version 1.0.5.2

Cheers.
Ed
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
thedillpickl RE: PSI not saving settings in W7
Contributor 23rd Aug, 2010 06:26
Score: 376
Posts: 872
User Since: 3rd May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hi Ed;

Odd that it 'unchecks' itself, and on multiple machines.

If Secunia doesn't pick up this thread in a few hours, try support@secunia.com .


Fred

--
XP Home
Chrome, Firefox, IE8
--
consilio et animis
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: PSI not saving settings in W7
Member 23rd Aug, 2010 09:58
Hi,

I have been unable to reproduce this problem on my Win7 system. Which version of the PSI are you running?
Perhaps reinstalling the PSI could help. You can fetch the most recent stable version from here: http://secunia.com/PSISetup.exe

hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability