navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Can't install update toPSI

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
judij42 Can't install update toPSI
Member 22nd Aug, 2010 22:46
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 8th Feb, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I've downloaded the install file but am told that installation cannot complete because Secunia is running. I can't find it running anywhere. What do I do? I'm running Secunia PSI v1.5.0.1 on Win 7 and want to update via: PSI Installer ver. 1.5.2

It asks me for language, then the sign comes up," Secunia PSI is currently running. Please exit the program and click Retry, or cancel to abort the installation."

Post "RE: Can't install update toPSI" has been selected as an answer.
mogs RE: Can't install update toPSI
Expert Contributor 22nd Aug, 2010 23:10
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
Is the Secunia icon showing bottom right of your screen.....if so, right click and Exit, before downloading.
When updating psi will/should find the older version and remove before installing.
Failing that...have you looked in Add/Remove Progs or tried Revouninstaller ?
You may find the following threads useful:-
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal Latest Download.
Hope this is helpful.........regards,


--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
judij42 RE: Can't install update toPSI
Member 22nd Aug, 2010 23:49
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 8th Feb 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
No, it was not showing anywhere. I found the solution with the answer to someone else's problem and used that URL for the download and it closed Secunia PSI for me and now I'm up and running. Thank yor for your help.

Apparently, Win 7 has more icons hidden on the pottom and I needed to click on an arrow to find them.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+