Forum Thread: Adobe Flash & Google Chrome

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
OSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
punkinstef Adobe Flash & Google Chrome
Member 24th Aug, 2010 19:31
Ranking: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 24th Aug, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I recently ran a scan (over the weekend) and got 3 unsecure versions: Adobe Flash twice and Google Chrome. I went to the links provided in the scan results, downloaded the relevant files. When I went to update Adobe Flash, I already had the most recent, patched version. The same was true of Chrome. What gives? Thanks in advance.

By the way, I am new here - live in California (northern) and have been using Secunia for a few years now. First problems I have had with it! I cannot use it in Chrome however; I see no results after running the scan so I use Firefox for the scan.

Anthony Wells RE: Adobe Flash & Google Chrome
Expert Contributor 24th Aug, 2010 19:57
Score: 2472
Posts: 3,362
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello punkinstef ,

As you use OSI rather than PSI , the details of your problem leave to guessing :-

1) for Flash it is likely there is an old .ocx file left after installing Flash ActiveX :
; Maurice Joyce gives you the quick cure here .

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/520...

2)Google Chrome always leaves the previous version folder behind ; here's why (note the folder is in a "hidden files" pathway :-

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/482...

If you like OSi , you will find PSI many times better concerning the number of programmes covered and easier to deal with problems yourself .

What is your OS ??

Let us know how you get on .

Anthony

PS : I find the OSI works better in Ff , but is usually OK in Chrome as well . What is your version of Chrome ?? Is Java set OK ?? do you have any extensions not common to Ff ??

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
valady5 RE: Adobe Flash & Google Chrome
Member 30th Aug, 2010 03:53
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 24th Jun 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hi punkinstef,
OSI will run in Chrome. Before you click the scan button first open the page using Chrome's IE extension. The scan will run and you will be able to see the results.
I use Chrome with Vista and OSI works best using the IE extension . Hope this helps .
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Adobe Flash & Google Chrome
Expert Contributor 30th Aug, 2010 15:49
Score: 2472
Posts: 3,362
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello @valady5 ,

Just to be clear :

OSI will also work direct in Chrome (in my case , at least :))

If you use the IE Tab extension in Chrome then you will be using the embedded IE engine to access the internet and your access will be exposed at IE security levels of risk , even if you have the added benefit of the Chrome tab sandbox .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.