navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Odd PSI install ?

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
bjm__ Odd PSI install ?
Member 27th Aug, 2010 18:17
Ranking: 64
Posts: 374
User Since: 9th Mar, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hello all,
I have installed PSI on several PC's for friends, neighbors etc.
Never had a problem.
Well, never say never.
Installed PSI > Advanced Mode > State of Programs populated > Graphics rendered.
Flash Player was insecure ....so, following required protocol....uninstall insecure with Flash removal tool & installed Flash update - now secure.
But, now PSI graphics do not render. I get link for Flash Player where polls should be.
Did the reboot rescan as required...no luck.
Might this be a chicken / egg thingy.
Do I need one to recognize the other ?
PSI did render polls with insecure Flash ver ....after uninstall / install - lost the polls...
Might it be I need to reinstall Flash Player or reinstall PSI or ?

Thnx

Post "RE: Odd PSI install ?" has been selected as an answer.
TiMow RE: Odd PSI install ?
Dedicated Contributor 27th Aug, 2010 18:52
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
Last edited on 27th Aug, 2010 19:05
Hi bjm

There is a similar thread (currently unresolved) running at the moment showing same symptoms as you've described, on W7 OS - is your problem also on W7?

Without wishing to undermine your obvious knowledge, here are a couple of thoughts:

- did you use IE to download/install Flash(ActiveX)

- could there be a conflict between 64bit (IE?) and 32bit (PSI?)? (if applicable)

- if you downloaded direct from Adobe Get Flash site, have you considered filehippo (comes without DLM)?

http://www.filehippo.com/download_flashplayer_ie/

As you've already written that the PSI graphics worked with old, insecure flash, the problem does seem to point to the new update.

If none of the above strikes a chord, and no other solutions are apparent, maybe consider running the uninstall flash one more time, then reboot, open PSI Overview tab and click on the Download Flash for IE link, instead of manually downloading - although this will undoubtedly take you directly to the Adobe site, complete with the un-needed DLM.

Good luck

TiMow

EDIT: One final thought - did you fully exit PSI from the tray icon, before uninstall and fresh install of current version?

--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
bjm__ RE: Odd PSI install ?
Member 27th Aug, 2010 21:28
Score: 64
Posts: 374
User Since: 9th Mar 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hello TiMow
Thnx for touching all the bases with me...
Vista 32bit ...so, not W7

I've done the update so often...not thinking any more, I may have missed a step....
Sometimes, I pull from filehippo ... sometimes, I pull from Adobe...
I'll just take a "do-over" and see what happens.

Thnx
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
thedillpickl RE: Odd PSI install ?
Contributor 28th Aug, 2010 05:17
Score: 376
Posts: 872
User Since: 3rd May 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hi bjm & TiMow;

About TiMow's final thought: The stop PSI and restart is one that gets more people. Remember also, PSI uses the Flash ActiveX and will retain the old .ocx file.

The quickie for those who know:

> Stop PSI and browsers (possibly other stuff).
> Use removal tool.
> Install Flash how ever you wish.
> After Flash is installed start PSI (or stop/restart) and scan.

Presto - changeo!


Fred

--
XP Home
Chrome, Firefox, IE8
--
consilio et animis
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
bjm__ RE: Odd PSI install ?
Member 29th Aug, 2010 04:04
Score: 64
Posts: 374
User Since: 9th Mar 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hello Tread et al
I started this Topic re > Odd PSI Install....
and can now assert for all that come by this Thread...
It was Gremlins....just those little mischievous Gremlins...
I did nothing....well, I tell a fib. I did one hard Shut Down.
Previous re-boots after PSI install and subsequent program fixes were all soft restarts.
One hard Shut Down and my PSI Gremlins lost interest and went home.
"Had I kept silent I would have passed for a wise man."
Thnx all....
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+