Forum Thread: Secunia stalling.

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
andyk682010 Secunia stalling.
Member 6th Sep, 2010 09:03
Ranking: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 6th Sep, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Hi, I have installed secunia psi and started it rumming but it has spent around 45 minutes at 5%. Any ideas please? I have uninstalled and re-installed.

Post "RE: Secunia stalling." has been selected as an answer.
mogs RE: Secunia stalling.
Expert Contributor 6th Sep, 2010 09:10
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,269
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Have a good read thro' the FAQ's and check that you have configured everything correctly:-
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal... FAQ's
regards,


--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
andyk682010 RE: Secunia stalling.
Member 6th Sep, 2010 09:16
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 6th Sep 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Thx for the reply.
The scan is not getting as far as the 'Please wait' part.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Secunia stalling.
Expert Contributor 6th Sep, 2010 09:24
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,269
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Check out note 3 of the FAQ's in particular. psi requires that various settings in IE8(?) be configured, for it to work properly.
Hope this helps...........regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
andyk682010 RE: Secunia stalling.
Member 6th Sep, 2010 09:30
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 6th Sep 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Sorry for the misunderstanding. I looked at part 3, hence the 'Please wait' comment and its all configured correctly.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Secunia stalling.
Expert Contributor 6th Sep, 2010 09:34
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,269
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Could you please confirm what version of psi you have installed, and what Operating System you are running ?

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
andyk682010 RE: Secunia stalling.
Member 6th Sep, 2010 09:45
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 6th Sep 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Secunia PSI Version 1.5.0.2
XP Pro sp3.
Internet Explorer Version 8.0.6001.18702
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Secunia stalling.
Expert Contributor 6th Sep, 2010 10:26
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,269
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Some people with XP have had more success by reverting to the previous version.....tho' exactly why that should be so I'm not particularly aux fait with.
If you wish to try it...available from here :-
ftp://ftp.secunia.com/PSISetup1501.exe VERSION 1.5.0.1
Personally, whenever uninstalling/installing, I often use Revouninstaller and a registry scanner....run CCleaner, before reinstalling.
Other XP users may be able to offer you more advice based on their experiences.
Meanwhile, hope this is of some assistance........regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Secunia stalling.
Member 6th Sep, 2010 11:10
Hi,

Could you please Confirm that you have all settings in Internet Explorer configured exactly like those in this FAQ item? http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

If so, please try to go to Microsoft Update, and see if it returns any errors. http://update.microsoft.com/
A working installation of the Microsoft Update control is needed to run the PSI properly. If the Microsoft Update site suggests installing a newer version, please go ahead with this, and try running the PSI again.

hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
andyk682010 RE: Secunia stalling.
Member 6th Sep, 2010 11:35
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 6th Sep 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
All the settings are as described.
I walked away from the PC and let it do its thing. It did finish eventually, probably took nearly a hour but there may be other things related to it so I'm going to do a full malware/spyware scan and generally clean things up.
Thx for your contributions.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.