navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: KeyScrambler not detected

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI 2.0 Beta

This thread has been marked as locked.
Eljo KeyScrambler not detected
Member 6th Sep, 2010 16:04
Ranking: -2
Posts: 42
User Since: 29th Nov, 2008
System Score: 99%
Location: NL
http://www.qfxsoftware.com/download.htm

http://download.cnet.com/3001-2144_4-10571274.html...

--
Ms Windows7 32bit \Notebook HP 6720s\1.6Ghz\3GB\CIS 5.x\
Asus Notebook A8\ Win8 64bit\1.9Ghz\8Gb\Cis5.x\

Anthony Wells RE: KeyScrambler not detected
Expert Contributor 6th Sep, 2010 17:39
Score: 2454
Posts: 3,345
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 6th Sep, 2010 17:40
Hello Eljo ,

It is displayed for me but the location is being detected in my Firefox profile/extension folder and not from my C:\Program Files\.. folder.

At the top right of the PSI results page is a link saying "are you missing a program ?" ; you can use this to suggest KeyScrambler to be detected for yourself and others .

Hope this helps .

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Eljo RE: KeyScrambler not detected
Member 6th Sep, 2010 19:56
Score: -2
Posts: 42
User Since: 29th Nov 2008
System Score: 99%
Location: NL
Tried that but there is no file to att. I get Cannot accept go to Secunia website and report....

--
Ms Windows7 32bit \Notebook HP 6720s\1.6Ghz\3GB\CIS 5.x\
Asus Notebook A8\ Win8 64bit\1.9Ghz\8Gb\Cis5.x\
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: KeyScrambler not detected
Expert Contributor 6th Sep, 2010 21:16
Score: 2454
Posts: 3,345
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 6th Sep, 2010 21:18
Eljo ,

I have just sent a suggestion using the link and "browsing" to and selecting the "KeyScramblerIE.dll" file out of the Program Files folder and it was accepted ; let us see if it works . Secunia need .exe , .dll or similar "active" files to set their detection rules .

Post here if you see a display of KeyScrambler in the next few days .

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Eljo RE: KeyScrambler not detected
Member 6th Sep, 2010 21:24
Score: -2
Posts: 42
User Since: 29th Nov 2008
System Score: 99%
Location: NL
Thanks for your help

--
Ms Windows7 32bit \Notebook HP 6720s\1.6Ghz\3GB\CIS 5.x\
Asus Notebook A8\ Win8 64bit\1.9Ghz\8Gb\Cis5.x\
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: KeyScrambler not detected
Member 7th Sep, 2010 06:26
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 7th Sep, 2010 06:45
@ Anthony Wells



Keyscrambler is a security piece of software in and of itself It goes all the way to the kernel of the O/S. Why would you want this to go out over the Internet?. I hope this was a secure connection between you and Secunia. Is this something that runs inside of Secunia itself? I am just questioning, not criticizing,requesting clarification. I know your up there with M Joyce & Petersen

--
Gone to Linux permanetly












Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: KeyScrambler not detected
Member 7th Sep, 2010 11:22
Last edited on 7th Sep, 2010 11:22 Hi,

@puget1
The PSI has a build-in feature to submit files to Secunia for inclusion. This is called a "Software Suggestion". To send us a Software Suggestion, for PSI 1.5.x navigate to either the Patched, Insecure or End-Of-Life tabs, scroll to the bottom, and click the "Program Missing?" button, and fill out the form.For PSI 2.0 Beta, the "Are you missing a program?" button directly on the results tab serves the same purpose.
All these connections are, of course, run over SSL. For more information, see: http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

@Eljo & Anthony Wells
If you run a full rescan now, is KeyScrabler detected?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Eljo RE: KeyScrambler not detected
Member 7th Sep, 2010 13:45
Score: -2
Posts: 42
User Since: 29th Nov 2008
System Score: 99%
Location: NL
Yes its there now, great!

--
Ms Windows7 32bit \Notebook HP 6720s\1.6Ghz\3GB\CIS 5.x\
Asus Notebook A8\ Win8 64bit\1.9Ghz\8Gb\Cis5.x\
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: KeyScrambler not detected
Member 7th Sep, 2010 18:06
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
@E, Petersen

Thanks for the explanation. Good for you too Anthony

--
Gone to Linux permanetly












Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: KeyScrambler not detected
Expert Contributor 8th Sep, 2010 11:42
Score: 2454
Posts: 3,345
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello All ,

@puget1 : thanks for your concern :)

@Eljo : glad it's displayed for you now .

@Emil : I still have only one example showing as before and located from my Firefox profiles ; named in display as KeyScrambler 2.x(extension for Firefox) , all usual cold starts etc. , applied . Firefox showing as correctly updated (from within Ff and not using the PSI "auto-update") as version 3.6.9.

May tyr to run IE or reinstall the PSI at some time ; will advise any changes .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: KeyScrambler not detected
Handling Contributor 8th Sep, 2010 12:06
Score: 11830
Posts: 9,072
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
@Anthony

Not sure which version U are trying to run. These are current PSI entries:

C:\Program Files (x86)\KeyScrambler\KeyScrambler.exe, version 2.7.0.0

C:\Program Files (x86)\KeyScrambler\x64\KeyScrambler.exe, version 2.7.0.0

32 Bit systems should have the first path.

64 Bit will have both.

No idea what is meant or implied by the use of the kernel - it is just a normal security utility programme.



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Anthony Wells RE: KeyScrambler not detected
Expert Contributor 8th Sep, 2010 16:50
Score: 2454
Posts: 3,345
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 8th Sep, 2010 16:54
Hello Maurice ,

Bearing in mind I have the Free version of KeyScrambler , then what was subliminally obvious yesterday is now blindingly so ; I do not have an .exe file in my Program Files folder . This is probably why the .dll file was the first thing I saw when browsing for a file in the PSi module in order to help Eljo .

The free version only installs BHO's or extensions or whatever one likes to call them and not the rest of the software . The PSI correctly identifies and displays for me the Firefox extension , even if it makes no mention of the IE add-on .

I had 2.6.0.0 and had not bothered with 2.7.0.0 as it is only a compliance update to handle Firefox version 4 Beta . I have loaded 2.7.0.0 to be sure with the same result and no .exe file magically appearing ; it is using 32 bit .

Maybe someone else running the Free version of the software can confirm this observation ; especially if they have only the IE add-on loaded .

Thanks for your interest .

Anthony

PS : nearest I get to kernels is cracking walnuts ; keyscramblers are supposed to encrypt the strokes you make from the keyboard to the app at kernel level to fox the bad guys if you believe the sales pitch .


--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
stevebythebay RE: KeyScrambler not detected
Member 8th Sep, 2010 17:01
Score: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 9th Dec 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 8th Sep, 2010 17:12
I've attempted to use the new button but it tells me that I need to add an exception to IE which I do not use (Firefox is my browser). And I've added the https url to Firefox's exceptions under security tab of options. That does not appear to work. Seems Firefox is not supported (and I long ago "removed" IE from my system). By the way the program not recognized by Secunia is called WeFi

p.s. KeyScrambler as an extension to Firefox is detected by Secunia on my system.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: KeyScrambler not detected
Expert Contributor 8th Sep, 2010 17:45
Score: 2454
Posts: 3,345
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 8th Sep, 2010 17:47
@stevebythebay ,

You may not use IE (neither do I -except for M$updates) but you still have the embedded version of IE . This is what the PSI uses to get info about your PC , to contact and obtain M$ update data , etc ., etc. It's how Windows connects to M$ updates in XP , it may have changed with Vista and 7.

The "auto-update" in the PSI does not use a browser , so they have said .

You need to have IE correctly configured in order for the PSI to work correctly . The "add a programme" button needs the correct configuration of IE - configuring Ff has no affect whatsoever .. When i broke IE7 this was the one thing that did not work in PSI other than the solution button to load M$ updates - in this case IE crashed before opening it's window . Now that I have IE 8 loaded , all the PSI buttons are working; if the PSI needs other than my default Ff it tells me it will use another one and asks me to confirm .

You need to set IE as per instructions ref https , etc. as herein :-

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Here is the full set of FAQ's to help you if you need them :-

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Then you can suggest your programme .

Thanks for your PS; do you usejust the Free version ?? Is the Ff extension the only display in the PSI ??

Hope this helps .

Anthony



--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
stevebythebay RE: KeyScrambler not detected
Member 8th Sep, 2010 17:56
Score: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 9th Dec 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Actually when I installed Win7 on my system I removed the IE feature. That effectively disables it (hopefully making for a more secure environment).

If notifying Secunia is all that I've lost without IE, then so be it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: KeyScrambler not detected
Expert Contributor 8th Sep, 2010 18:09
Score: 2454
Posts: 3,345
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Just to be clear , you have disabled the browser , not embedded IE .

Anthony



--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: KeyScrambler not detected
Handling Contributor 8th Sep, 2010 19:32
Score: 11830
Posts: 9,072
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
@Anthony,
U are correct. The freebie (trial) is not "a programme" in the true sense of the word - it is a plug in.

It is only when U buy the Professional or Premium version that gives U the .exe file.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
puget1 RE: KeyScrambler not detected
Member 8th Sep, 2010 21:56
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 8th Sep, 2010 21:57
I know,but believe it or not it does. When the hard wire side of my modem went out,my p.c. was doing nothing but weird,and was displaying all kinds of internal info. Not to mention because I failed to be able to uninstall prior to the problem it kept my system re-install from going through without problems. My Geek friends were surprised,One on about the same level as Maurice.

--
Gone to Linux permanetly












Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: KeyScrambler not detected
Handling Contributor 8th Sep, 2010 22:58
Score: 11830
Posts: 9,072
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 8th Sep, 2010 23:23
My only surprise was why Key Scrambler is singled out as something special.

Not much that does not have a dependency on The Colonel including PSI.

http://www.linfo.org/kernel.html

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
puget1 RE: KeyScrambler not detected
Member 8th Sep, 2010 23:25
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Ease of install and the fact that it is a Firefox add-on

--
Gone to Linux permanetly












Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+