navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Thunderbird updated but still showing as previous version

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
cmethuen Thunderbird updated but still showing as previous version
Member 13th Sep, 2010 00:50
Ranking: 1
Posts: 18
User Since: 21st Nov, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 13th Sep, 2010 00:51

Secunia psi is showing Thunderbird 3.1.2 as insecure, but my (German) Thunderbird version is showing as 3.1.3. I tried updating from the download link, but all that happened was that the English version of Thunderbird was installed; Secunia still thought is was the previous version. Any suggestions? (I really don't mind which language I have it installed in!)

mogs RE: Thunderbird updated but still showing as previous version
Expert Contributor 13th Sep, 2010 07:11
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,268
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 13th Sep, 2010 07:19
Hello.
Here is a link to a recent thread concerning T'bird which may be of help....please note tho', that the version of Secunia in question is the new Beta.
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/539...
Hope it's of some assistance........regards,


PS. Scroll down the thread to the post by Anthony Wells which gives the explanation.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
cmethuen RE: Thunderbird updated but still showing as previous version
Member 13th Sep, 2010 07:56
Score: 1
Posts: 18
User Since: 21st Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 13th Sep, 2010 08:00
Sorry, I had already read that post and it is not much help. It doesn't explain to me why Secunia says I need to update from 3.1.2 when i already have updated to 3.1.3. (In fact the implication of that post is that Secunia should be telling me to upüdate from 3.1.1 if is doesn't recognise "bug fixes" and that is what 3.1.2 was.

The point I am making (which perhaps is not clear) is not the insecurity per se, but the fact that Secunia is telling me that there is an update and althoguh I have already installed it- NB I also installed the English update that Secunia itself pointed me to and it STILL told me I needed to update.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Thunderbird updated but still showing as previous version
Expert Contributor 13th Sep, 2010 08:13
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,268
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
It may be then that; and as is often and generally the case; Secunia still continues to detect the older version/file even if still residing in the Recycle bin. All progs don't automatically uninstall the older version when updating.
If you click on the +sign alongside the insecure entry it will expand to reveal the file path...if uncertain how to proceed from there, post that info back to the forum.
I'm presuming you are using psi with the Advanced interface....if not, switch to it...top right of the psi panel: Simple/Advanced....to gain more information.
If you go to the Patched tab and scroll down, do you see an entry there for T'bird also ?

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
TiMow RE: Thunderbird updated but still showing as previous version
Dedicated Contributor 13th Sep, 2010 08:14
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
Last edited on 13th Sep, 2010 08:38
Hi

You haven't specified which version of PSI you're using. The following relates to 1.5.0.2 (stable).

There could well be a confusion between the language versions.
You may find that you have the latest version in one language, and the insecure version in the other. You should check the installation paths and use "Open Folder", to view.

If you're happy you have the current version in the language of your choice - check from About TB from it's Help menu and also from PSI Patched tab - then you should just delete the older insecure version, which is still present on your PC, if PSI is finding it.

If you need to re-download the German version, the following link may help:

http://www.mozillamessaging.com/en-US/thunderbird/...

In general, with Mozilla software (and some others), when PSI alerts me to a vulnerability, I use Check for updates, from the programs' Help menu, to avoid any issues such as the one you have now.

If you require clarification of any of the above or further assistance, then post back here.

TiMow

PS: If the above does turn out to be the case, then you should re-boot and re-scan PSI, for the changes to be recognised.

--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
cmethuen RE: Thunderbird updated but still showing as previous version
Member 13th Sep, 2010 09:26
Score: 1
Posts: 18
User Since: 21st Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
The path is:

C:\Users\Methuen\AppData\Local\Temp\7zS64FA.tmp\no nlocalized\thunderbird.exe

Looks like this is not the path to the actual Thunderbird applicaiton so I guess I can just delete it?

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
TiMow RE: Thunderbird updated but still showing as previous version
Dedicated Contributor 13th Sep, 2010 10:03
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
Is this the path of the insecure listing for TB?

What OS do you have?

The path given, doesn't relate to one I'm familiar with on XP - the closest I have is "All Users", which is a directory of "Documents and Settings" - which can contain files which are needed (e.g. profile info.), but stored outside of the main application, which is usually found under "Program Files".

It may be OK to delete it, but at your own risk. However, in the first instance, you could consider renaming it - less drastic, until you're sure it's not needed (you can later delete it).

Expand the listing for TB from Insecure tab (Advanced), use the Open Folder icon to navigate to the location, find the exact extn. (probably on r.h.s.), highlight it, right click, then Rename. At the end of the existing name just add " _old ".

Reboot and rescan.

If this clears the insecurity and TB is as it it should be, then monitor for a short while, then consider full deletion (maybe keep a separate note of the file path, for later navigation). Remember PSI can still find insecure files in the Recycle bin.

TiMow

--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
cmethuen RE: Thunderbird updated but still showing as previous version
Member 13th Sep, 2010 10:16
Score: 1
Posts: 18
User Since: 21st Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 13th Sep, 2010 10:19
It's not XP: it is Windows 7 (64 bit).

I don't have my head round how Windows 7 works yet which is why I didn't just delete this straight away. Renaming is a good idea. I'll do that.

post renaming:

The real Thunderbird is now showing up as 3.1.3 (path is C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Thunderbird\thunderbird.exe). So I guess I can delete the other one.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
TiMow RE: Thunderbird updated but still showing as previous version
Dedicated Contributor 13th Sep, 2010 10:23
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
Last edited on 13th Sep, 2010 10:24
For me, the path for the TB app. is: C:\Program Files\Mozilla Thunderbird\thunderbird.exe

You can find this path on your system (probably the same or similar), by going to Patched tab (Advanced) in PSI and expanding the entry for Mozilla TB.

EDIT: Post crossed with your edit.

--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Thunderbird updated but still showing as previous version
Handling Contributor 13th Sep, 2010 10:30
Score: 11865
Posts: 9,101
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Thunderbird\thunderbird.exe is the correct path for Windows 7 64Bit systems.

Just right click & delete the offending file. It is dross.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+