Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Browsers

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as resolved.
rtavigo Browsers
Member 21st Sep, 2010 20:31
Ranking: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 22nd Dec, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: ES
I do not quite know why Secunia says three browsers insecure when I know I have only 2 installed. Google Chrome and Internet Explorer 8.
IE8 appears doubled, yet the listing exactly the same.


--
rtavigo

Post "RE: Browsers" has been selected as an answer.
mogs RE: Browsers
Expert Contributor 21st Sep, 2010 20:57
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
What version of psi are you using ?
What tab/page are you looking at ?
What is the path to any insecurity shown ?
It might be that you havn't removed the old file after updating Chrome recently ?
psi continues to detect old/insecure versions even if they still reside in the Recycle bin.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-1
TiMow RE: Browsers
Dedicated Contributor 22nd Sep, 2010 14:09
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
In PSI Advanced mode (AVANZADO modo) (v.1.5.0.2), click on Patched (Actualizados) tab; scroll down to Microsoft Internet Explorer 8.x; with the exact version as 8.0.6001.18702.

Do you have two listings for IE?

If yes, then, if they are the same version numbers, one can be deleted. If the version numbers are different, chose the lowest version number to delete.

To delete: click "[+]" on the left of the listing for IE and click on the Open Folder (Abrir Carpeta) to go to the file location. [also located here is the Installation Path (Ruta de instalación). If unsure then copy this for both entries for IE (highlight and Ctrl+C), and paste these (Ctrl+V) on your next reply.]

Otherwise hightlight the entry for IE (in Windows Explorer) to be deleted, right click and delete.

Re-boot and re-scan PSI.

If the above is not applicable, than post back with as many details as possible (as asked for in the above reply).

TiMow

--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Browsers
Handling Contributor 22nd Sep, 2010 17:32
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,000
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
@Timow,
IE version numbers are not universal across OS's & never have been.

The current IE 8 for XP SP3 is indeed 8.0.6001.18702 - Windows 7 IE 8 is 8.0.7600.16385.

He could well have two instances of IE 8.

If it is a 64 Bit system there is a 32 Bit & 64 Bit version of IE which should be left alone.

The exam questions are:

What OS & SP is in use.

Is it a 64 Bit system.

Hope this helps to solve the issue.





--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
TiMow RE: Browsers
Dedicated Contributor 22nd Sep, 2010 18:39
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
Thanks Maurice,

It will be a little while before I'm at the cutting edge with my set-up - still clinging on to what I'm comfortable with - XP, 32 bit and 1.5.0.2. (plus a few valves, capacitors and cathode ray tube).

TiMow

--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
wr RE: Browsers
Contributor 22nd Sep, 2010 21:32
Score: 308
Posts: 736
User Since: 30th Mar 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: US
XP, 32 bit and 1.5.0.2. (plus a few valves, capacitors and cathode ray tube).

I'm with you on most of that TiMow--I did however upgrade
to Vista (32 bit) & a led flatscreen monitor--still 1.5.0.2 &
happy as a fat pig in corn. Hello to u too, Maurice.

Regards, wr



--
HP Pavilion Slimline s3020n
Windows Vista Home Premium SP2 32 bit
AMD 64 Athlon X2
Firefox 24.4.0 ESR
The weakest link of a computer system is always sitting in front of the monitor.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Browsers
Handling Contributor 22nd Sep, 2010 22:13
Score: 11744
Posts: 9,000
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Hello @wr. What is the latest version of IE on Vista? This will help if the originator returns.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rtavigo RE: Browsers
Member 22nd Sep, 2010 22:22
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 22nd Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: ES
Following the steps taken by TiMow I just discovered that one of them is a backup.
I do not think it makes sense to keep it that way which I will remove it.
I'm sorry my ignorance, and have made you lose your time.
To all thanks a million.

--
rtavigo
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer