Forum Thread: PSI don't automatic start on non-admin account

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
paulo.oliveira PSI don't automatic start on non-admin account
Member 22nd Sep, 2010 16:28
Ranking: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 30th Apr, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: BR
Hi,

I have Win 7 (x64) and i'm running as a regular user (non-administratives privilegies). PSI does not start up automatic when Windows starts.

I checked system requeriments: http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal... and is saying it must have administrative privilegies to run PSI.

Do you plan to fix it? I'm mean, it is more secure using user account as non-admin and I want keep using PSI.

Regards,
Paulo Oliveira.

Anthony Wells RE: PSI don't automatic start on non-admin account
Expert Contributor 22nd Sep, 2010 16:51
Score: 2470
Posts: 3,359
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A


Hello Paulo ,

This problem was discussed recently in this (and linked) threads :-

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/546...

Hope this helps .

Most likely someone from Secunia will also comment here .

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
paulo.oliveira RE: PSI don't automatic start on non-admin account
Member 22nd Sep, 2010 18:30
Score: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 30th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: BR
Hi Anthony,

thanks for answering. I acctually don't mind if PSI needs admins privilegies, I understand it is needed. I just want it start automaticaly, like when I'm using as an administrator account.

Do you know if Secunia is researching to fix it?

Regards,
Paulo Oliveira.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: PSI don't automatic start on non-admin account
Member 23rd Sep, 2010 09:51
Hi,

In the PSI 2.0 Beta period, one of the things we will be looking into improving is how the PSI currently handles least-user privilige.

As Anthony correctly pointed out, the PSI currently needs to run as the Administrator user (or another user with compareable rights), since it accesses several crucial system resources.

As I said, though, we will be looking into improving this. I suggest you both keep your eyes on the Secunia PSI 2.x releases to come.

hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
paulo.oliveira RE: PSI don't automatic start on non-admin account
Member 23rd Sep, 2010 22:19
Score: 1
Posts: 7
User Since: 30th Apr 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: BR
Hi,

thanks! For sure I will!

Regards,
Paulo Oliveira.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.