Forum Thread: Malware checker

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as resolved.
This user no longer exists Malware checker
Member 19th Oct, 2010 03:51
Ranking: 8
Posts: 132
User Since: 1st Jan, 1970
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hello:

What kind of a malware checker do you use to scan something on your desktop? thanks.

jitterbug

Post "RE: Malware checker" has been selected as an answer.
taffy078 RE: Malware checker
Contributor 19th Oct, 2010 09:47
Score: 408
Posts: 1,464
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 19th Oct, 2010 09:50


--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-1
TiMow RE: Malware checker
Dedicated Contributor 19th Oct, 2010 10:23
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
Last edited on 19th Oct, 2010 10:36
@taffy

Hi taffy - the next time jitterbug posts, his/her "score" will go up to 84 - I think you mis-read the details; - good info. nonetheless, although he/she probably knows this (user since Jun 2009).

Regards TiMow

--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: Malware checker
Contributor 19th Oct, 2010 11:10
Score: 408
Posts: 1,464
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
on 19th Oct, 2010 10:23, TiMow wrote:
@taffy

Hi taffy - the next time jitterbug posts, his/her "score" will go up to 84 - I think you mis-read the details; - good info. nonetheless, although he/she probably knows this (user since Jun 2009).

Regards TiMow


Hi TiMow. I'm completely in the dark! What does jitterbug mean? SOS!!!

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

HP Envy Win10 PC and Compaq Presario screwed up by forced upgrade to Win10 from WIn7
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
TiMow RE: Malware checker
Dedicated Contributor 19th Oct, 2010 11:31
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
Hi taffy the info. regarding Malwarebytes was what was asked for.
@jitterbug has another thread running, to which his/her Q. relates:

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/598...

Maurice was on the case.

My point was that you appeared to mis-read his/her system score as 83 - this was the figure for his/her number of posts. His/her system score is marked as N/A.

@jitterbug - the following overviews may help.

http://www.techsupportalert.com/search/node/malwar...

http://www.filehippo.com/

(see Anti Malware - pink(ish))

Regards to both,

TiMow

--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Malware checker
Member 19th Oct, 2010 16:45
Hi.

I have Malwarebytes and AVG. My question is how do you scan just something that is on your desk top? Can you scan just one thing or do you have to run the whole scan?

I ran Malwarebytes yesterday, the full scan, and it did not find the stuff I was trying to get rid of. Apparently it did not scan what was on my desk top nor did it scan my control panel.

So my question really is: how do you scan something that you've downloaded to your desk top before you install it? Thanks very much.

jitterbug
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
TiMow RE: Malware checker
Dedicated Contributor 19th Oct, 2010 17:35
Score: 737
Posts: 728
User Since: 26th Jun 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CH
I have a single paid for security package, as opposed to a set-up that may contain different elements for different purposes - i.e. anti-virus, anti-malware/spyware, etc.

If I single click a shortcut icon on my desktop (to highlight), then right click, I have the option to scan with my security program, just that one file. However, it doesn't offer me that same facility for IE and Recycle bin.

Using XP, I also have a scan option if I right click "Start" - it ran a quick scan that covered 51 files - this is the first time I started the scan from there - so I need look into which 51 files these were.

I had control panel open, but am pretty sure the results didn't relate to that, because the results seem the same as a normal quick scan.

What I have just done for Control Panel, is to highlight first icon, hold down SHIFT, and highlight last icon, resulting in all icons being highlighted, then by right clicking, I have the option to scan again. For me, this resulted in 383 files being quick scanned.

This is the first time I've looked into this, and can't guarantee that this is the correct procedure, and it may not be the same with your security software.

TiMow

--
Computing is not yet a perfect science - it still requires humans.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Malware checker
Handling Contributor 19th Oct, 2010 18:03
Score: 12086
Posts: 9,372
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Just right click the file on the desktop - Malwarebytes give U an option "Scan with Malwarebytes Anti Malware".

There should be another option for your anti virus programme?

--
Maurice

Microsoft Surface 4 Intel i7 64Bit
Windows 10 Pro version 1607
16 GB RAM
IE & Edge Only
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Malware checker
Expert Contributor 19th Oct, 2010 18:08
Score: 2500
Posts: 3,386
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 19th Oct, 2010 18:12
Hello jitterbug ,

I can confirm that on my XP SP3 , I can right click on any file or folder in any location (more or less) and am given the option to scan with any of my malware detectors , this includes MalwareBytes' ; however , I need to have open and running SuperAntiSpyware for this option to be available for SAS in the menu .

Hope that helps

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Malware checker
Member 19th Oct, 2010 18:29
Hello everyone.

Thanks for the good tips. I've written them all down and will try them and I appreciate your help.

jitterbug
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.