Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: psi not loading

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI 2.0 Beta

This thread has been marked as locked.
laurik2011 psi not loading
Member 28th Oct, 2010 18:26
Ranking: 2
Posts: 7
User Since: 28th Oct, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 28th Oct, 2010 18:26

Hi there,

I have recently installed the latest beta version of PSI.
I am currently running a windows 7 professional 32 bit OS.
My ever unchanged problem is that PSI does not want to run. I tried to set the app to run with administrator credentials and/or in compatibility mode to no avail.
The window remains blank but the process seems to be active in the memory holding 4-5MB of RAM.
The only way to close it is to kill the process from task manager. The X button in the upper right corner does not work (nor the other buttons).
I also have KIS 2011 as a protection package.

Thanks for your support!

mogs RE: psi not loading
Expert Contributor 28th Oct, 2010 18:55
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
Have you checked all settings as per the FAQ's...particularly note 3 in the following ?
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal... FAQ's
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...
HOW IT WORKS
From my experience it's advantageous to have IE8 as default for the time of install, untill successful, when you can then revert to your preferred browser......you're not using IE9 Beta are you ? If so, it's not compatible with psi 2.0 Beta.
I've also found that running CCleaner etc., and a Registry Scanner,prior; seems to facilitate a smoother install.
Hope this helps......regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
laurik2011 RE: psi not loading
Member 28th Oct, 2010 20:40
Score: 2
Posts: 7
User Since: 28th Oct 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
hi,

i see some others opened similar threads, but no clue yet as to what causes this problem.
At work even over a proxy the beta runs smooth.

Secunia PSI didn't work even when I had IE8. It is true I was having IE9 at the time of writing, and now when I reverted to IE8 the problem is still there.
I got through the steps you indicated but unfortunately there's no positive result. I am thinking this might be a Windows issue. The problem is that I cannot recall if it really worked for me before.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: psi not loading
Expert Contributor 28th Oct, 2010 21:10
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Have you had a thorough clean/clear out after uninstallng IE9 ? Unless you do, from my experience it can set up conflicts; ( tho' no personal use of IE9 ). Do you use CCleaner and/or a registry scanner ? If you use before install it can help.
Can you confirm the settings in IE8 are exactly as per the FAQ's ? If so, what is the reaction/response that you're getting ? An error message of some kind ?
Does the psi icon appear....are you able to click on it ?
Are there any differences noted from your previous attempt ?
Have you checked that your firewall isn't blocking Secunia ?
That's as much as I can think of for the time being....hope it's of some help....regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
laurik2011 RE: psi not loading
Member 29th Oct, 2010 06:54
Score: 2
Posts: 7
User Since: 28th Oct 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
hi again,
i happen to use CC Cleaner 3 to clean all the stuff and I am also having Registry Booster 2010.

I could try an alternative if you can tell me something.
And yes, the settings appear to be just right.

And as for the behaviour, I can click on the icon and nothing happens.
So there are two types of behavior noticed:
If i manually set admin rights on the program, the window cannot be closed by any means other than from task manager.
If I leave it without admin rights (from right clicking on the program and going into properties), the window can be closed but it remains blank as usual and I receive a Program is not responding message.


Thanks,
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: psi not loading
Expert Contributor 29th Oct, 2010 09:07
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
laurik2011.
Hello again.
Did you check that Secunia had permissions for your firewall ?
The cleaners/reg scan that you use and the extent to which, is up to you....some people don't like them at all....but I've been using Auslogics Registry cleaner free, for about 18 months....never a problem....at the moment version 2.0.5.50.
I think I'd be inclined to look into whether there's any blocking/conflict with regard to your security.


--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
laurik2011 RE: psi not loading
Member 29th Oct, 2010 09:09
Score: 2
Posts: 7
User Since: 28th Oct 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
hey,

i will have a look into that at home to see what happens
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
laurik2011 RE: psi not loading
Member 30th Oct, 2010 08:24
Score: 2
Posts: 7
User Since: 28th Oct 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
hi,

it seems that KIS is not playing well with secunia as far as i found out.
there is no problem regarding how secunia should be set up. i guess i will find out at the next windows clean install what happens.

thanks,
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer