Forum Thread: Problems Auto-Update: Language/Path

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI 2.0 Beta

This thread has been marked as locked.
JustAsking Problems Auto-Update: Language/Path
Member 12th Nov, 2010 12:23
Ranking: 1
Posts: 2
User Since: 12th Nov, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DE

Anthony Wells RE: Problems Auto-Update: Language/Path
Expert Contributor 12th Nov, 2010 17:06
Score: 2500
Posts: 3,387
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 12th Nov, 2010 17:12
Hello Karsten ,

Secunia are probably already gone for the weekend , PSI wise .

They are aware of the "bug" of the "default" language settings currently all being English when there is a possibility of choice and have said that they are looking into it . All the other PSI Beta solutions direct download links are otherwise international/English (as it's the Beta and not translated ).

However , there could still be a problem where a programme insecurity updating is initialised in only the most common /International/English language versions and some localisation lags . This has been a problem with Open Office for example .

As far as C and D is concerned , you could select to only scan D , and then C is not actually scanned at all ; perhaps this would encourage the PSI to select D as the dl location . Let us know .

With all the speed and space on modern PC's fewer people seem to be using C and D partitions as you are ,but still !

Hope that helps .

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
JustAsking RE: Problems Auto-Update: Language/Path
Member 13th Nov, 2010 10:22
Score: 1
Posts: 2
User Since: 12th Nov 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: DE
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Problems Auto-Update: Language/Path
Expert Contributor 13th Nov, 2010 12:35
Score: 2500
Posts: 3,387
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello Karsten ,

As I understand , Secunia always set their rules to cover the default download of a programme , as in C:\Program Files\.. Whether/how they can change this I am not sure ; in the past non-default locations have caused/given detection problems .

if you select the "prompt before.......updates" in configuration->settings (as I have) this allows you to decide when/if the auto-update runs . Then you could check it works and then "cut and paste" the actual new folder from C to D . D will still advise you when there are updates .

Messy : and to be honest , I much prefer to use the/any programme's internal updater from the "help or tools menus" ; both the vendors and Secunia tend to say that this is the best/first choice anyway . I also read the changelog beforehand , so that I know what I am downloading ; I only really use the "A-U" to help test the Beta . On the same basis , I use "custom" select at M$updates .

Still , it would be of interest to hear what PSI have to say on Monday .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.