Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: PSI does not display Graphics for Program and History Overview

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Adric PSI does not display Graphics for Program and History Overview
Member 25th Nov, 2008 16:12
Ranking: 1
Posts: 23
User Since: 25th Nov, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 25th Nov, 2008 16:22

No matter what I have tried, PSI insists that I need to install Flash for Internet Explorer, although Flash for IE is installed and works fine. I've tried uninstalls and reinstalls both for Flash and PSI to no avail. The only PSI versions I have tried were the RC4 and the 1.0.0.1 final versions. Both of them say Flash for IE needs to be installed. Anyone have this problem or know what might be causing this?

Al

rhmst2 RE: PSI does not display Graphics for Program and History Overview
Member 25th Nov, 2008 22:35
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 25th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Same thing here it had been working fine.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Adric RE: PSI does not display Graphics for Program and History Overview
Member 4th Dec, 2008 16:55
Score: 1
Posts: 23
User Since: 25th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Anyone else seeing this?

@developer: How does PSI determine if flash needs to be installed?

Everyone else says it is installed except PSI. Even the scan says it is installed :-)

Al
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
aor8200 RE: PSI does not display Graphics for Program and History Overview
Member 5th Dec, 2008 00:20
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 4th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Same here - installed flash several times, couldn't get it to run. Seems to be a common problem...

Regards,
Dietmar
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
E.Jeppesen RE: PSI does not display Graphics for Program and History Overview
Secunia Official 5th Dec, 2008 10:39
Score: 220
Posts: 618
User Since: 24th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
I would appreciate if you would open Internet Explorer and go to http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?ext...

That webpage will try to detect whatever Flash is correctly installed in your browser, and then tell you what version it has detected. Please copy and paste the reported version information into this thread.

It is important that you use Internet Explorer when you visit the above website, as the PSI relies on Flash being installed in that exact browser.
Adric RE: PSI does not display Graphics for Program and History Overview
Member 5th Dec, 2008 14:39
Score: 1
Posts: 23
User Since: 25th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 5th Dec, 2008 10:39, E.Jeppesen wrote:
I would appreciate if you would open Internet Explorer and go to http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?ext...

That webpage will try to detect whatever Flash is correctly installed in your browser, and then tell you what version it has detected. Please copy and paste the reported version information into this thread.

It is important that you use Internet Explorer when you visit the above website, as the PSI relies on Flash being installed in that exact browser.


This is what I get with Internet Explorer 7.0.5730.11

Your Player Version: WIN 10,0,12,36
Debug Player: No
Operating System: Windows XP
Video Capable: Yes
Audio Capable: Yes
Local File I/O enabled: Yes

The Secunia online Scanner reports the following:

Adobe Flash Player 10.x is up-to-date. The detected version installed on your system is 10.0.12.36, which either corresponds to or is newer than the latest secure version released by the vendor.

Installed on Your System in:
C:\windows\SYSTEM32\Macromed\Flash\NPSWF32.dll

Adobe Flash Player 10.x is up-to-date. The detected version installed on your system is 10.0.12.36, which either corresponds to or is newer than the latest secure version released by the vendor.

Installed on Your System in:
C:\windows\SYSTEM32\Macromed\Flash\Flash10a.ocx

Al

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
rhmst2 RE: PSI does not display Graphics for Program and History Overview
Member 5th Dec, 2008 17:43
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 25th Nov 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
on 5th Dec, 2008 10:39, E.Jeppesen wrote:
I would appreciate if you would open Internet Explorer and go to http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?ext...

That webpage will try to detect whatever Flash is correctly installed in your browser, and then tell you what version it has detected. Please copy and paste the reported version information into this thread.

It is important that you use Internet Explorer when you visit the above website, as the PSI relies on Flash being installed in that exact browser.



Internet Explorer 7.0.6001.18000

Your Player Version: WIN 10,0,12,36
Debug Player: No
Operating System: Windows Vista
Video Capable: Yes
Audio Capable: Yes
Local File I/O enabled: Yes

The Secunia online Scanner reports the following:

Adobe Flash Player 10.x (General Plug-in)
This installation of Adobe Flash Player 10.x (General Plug-in) was detected as being patched.

The Secunia PSI has not detected any missing security related patches, that are not applied to this program. For future patching of this program against security threats, it is strongly recommended that you follow the advice given by the Secunia PSI.

Installed on Your System in:
C:\windows\SYSTEM32\Macromed\Flash\NPSWF32.dll


Adobe Flash Player 10.x (ActiveX Control)
This installation of Adobe Flash Player 10.x (ActiveX Control) was detected as being patched.

The Secunia PSI has not detected any missing security related patches, that are not applied to this program. For future patching of this program against security threats, it is strongly recommended that you follow the advice given by the Secunia PSI.

Installed on Your System in:
C:\windows\SYSTEM32\Macromed\Flash\Flash10a.ocx



Ron
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
markushuegli RE: PSI does not display Graphics for Program and History Overview
Member 18th Mar, 2009 03:38
Score: 7
Posts: 15
User Since: 2nd Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: BO
[quote=p1704]I would appreciate if you would open Internet Explorer and go to http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?ext...

That webpage will try to detect whatever Flash is correctly installed in your browser, and then tell you what version it has detected. Please copy and paste the reported version information into this thread.

It is important that you use Internet Explorer :
But what about us users of Firefox, of Chrome?? What do we do?



--
Win7 Ultimate 32-bit, Firefox, Office 2007 Enterprise
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Underlien RE: PSI does not display Graphics for Program and History Overview
Member 18th Mar, 2009 09:06
Score: 0
Posts: 95
User Since: 4th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: DK
Hi!

You need to download one version of flash for IE (and IE based browsers) and another for Firefox and the other browers).


However PSI uses the IE version.

If PSI does not show graphs, try rebooting your computer.

Underlien
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: PSI does not display Graphics for Program and History Overview
Handling Contributor 18th Mar, 2009 10:18
Score: 11622
Posts: 8,913
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Copied from another thread I did if U require detailed instructions.
This link will tell U all about Flash:

http://www.adobe.com/products/flashplayer/

If Secunia is telling U that U have an insecure Flash element it should be removed. If this is the case I would:

Remove all versions of Flash from the C drive of your PC:


1. Download & use the flash Uninstaller from here:

http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?ext...

2. Reboot to clear out any left over ocx files.

3. Rescan using PSI - if there are any insecure Flash elements left what is the path to them? (The overview page may look a little odd because it uses Flash for the pictorials)


4. Reinstall the latest Internet Explorer Flash Player from here:

http://www.macromedia.com/software/flash/about/

3A.If U are also using Firefox, Opera and other Gecko-based browsers U need this link as well:

http://www.filehippo.com/download_flashplayer_fire...

U may have seen an excellent thread from Bob Primak who highlighted the problem of many users not knowing where to set up the security settings of Flash once installed.

I fairly simple task if U know where to look. This is the link to YOUR settings:
http://www.macromedia.com/support/documentation/en...

All U need to do is select each tab - read what it does and then select the security option that meets your requirements.This action should be completed each time U update Flash as a minimum so worth keeping the web link.


--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
markushuegli RE: PSI does not display Graphics for Program and History Overview
Member 20th Mar, 2009 14:23
Score: 7
Posts: 15
User Since: 2nd Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: BO
Thank you Underlien and Maurice. I followed your advice and now it works. Basically, the secret is throw out all macromedia stuff using add-remove-programs (or Revo) and then start over. And, although using a Gecko browser (I suppose that means Firefox and Chrome), not to be put off by Secunia requiring the IE-Version of flash player.

--
Win7 Ultimate 32-bit, Firefox, Office 2007 Enterprise
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: PSI does not display Graphics for Program and History Overview
Handling Contributor 20th Mar, 2009 17:40
Score: 11622
Posts: 8,913
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 20th Mar, 2009 17:40
Nearly - Adobe advise to only use their uninstaller and NOT add/remove or its sexy sister Revo.

This is a clip from the Adobe website:

"Due to recent enhancements to the Adobe Flash Player installers, you can now remove the player only by using the Adobe Flash Player uninstaller. To remove Flash Player, simply download and run the appropriate uninstaller for your system using the steps below"





--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability