Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: in Ware Ncoria

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Open Discussions

This thread has been marked as locked.
JACKIE-B in Ware Ncoria
Member 12th Nov, 2010 20:50
Ranking: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 26th Oct, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 12th Nov, 2010 20:58

I think this is a virus or something - any suggestions My McAfee and PSI doesnt report any error with my pc but im getting pop upīs something ios not right.

I use Wista

Maurice Joyce RE: in Ware Ncoria
Handling Contributor 12th Nov, 2010 21:54
Score: 11710
Posts: 8,951
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Not sure we can help U with so little detail. What actually happens & when?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
JACKIE-B RE: in Ware Ncoria
Member 12th Nov, 2010 23:00
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 26th Oct 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
OK - a little new at this

When i open job list i can see the processer i using a lot of energy on this program and another like it - program discription says "It is Nice Ware! Opera Gold Soft version 2011"
I get pop up windows in explore (not porn thankfully) without doing anything and without opening explorer myself.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: in Ware Ncoria
Expert Contributor 12th Nov, 2010 23:52
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,323
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 12th Nov, 2010 23:54
This is the best I can find on a quick websearch :-

http://www.freefixer.com/library/file/64312/

It is being picked up by 13 of the 43 programme scanners used by VirusTotal ; McAfee is not detecting it at the moment :-

http://www.virustotal.com/file-scan/report.html?id...

What other anti -virus/spyware programmes do you have loaded on your machine ??

TrendMicro HouseCall scanner picks it , or similar , up according to VirusTotal and should help to isolate the potential nasty :-

http://housecall.trendmicro.com/uk/

Does this help you ??

Anthony



--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: in Ware Ncoria
Handling Contributor 12th Nov, 2010 23:54
Score: 11710
Posts: 8,951
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 12th Nov, 2010 23:56
Cross post - withdrawn

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: in Ware Ncoria
Expert Contributor 13th Nov, 2010 11:15
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,323
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello JACKIE ,

How are you getting on ??

"Hitman Pro" has a 30 day (free) trial period of their "second opinion" scan and remove malware . It uses a few/some of the top rated malware scanners that are showing a positive in the VirusTotal results ; on the basis of which it should be able to confirm whether your system is infected and , if so , help you clean up :-

http://www.surfright.nl/en/hitmanpro

Let us know how you get on ; an update may be helpful to others .

Anthony



--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
JACKIE-B RE: in Ware Ncoria
Member 15th Nov, 2010 09:19
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 26th Oct 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Perfect - the hitman cleaned me out. things are back to normal - very nice. I am though a bit surpriced that the windows firewall, my mcAfee and this PSI didnīt responded at all to the fact that there was something wrong. The PC was producing pop up windows and there was no alert off any kind.
But thanks a lot

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ddmarshall RE: in Ware Ncoria
Dedicated Contributor 15th Nov, 2010 12:44
Score: 1208
Posts: 959
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
You've got a point about McAfee but PSI isn't an antivirus.

Read this
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Particularily the section
It is NOT the purpose of the Secunia PSI to detect whether your system has already been compromised or if local changes, settings, or missing requirements could cause the Secunia PSI to report incorrect results. The Secunia PSI relies on the meta-data of executables and library files. The Secunia PSI does NOT conduct an integrity check of the individual files, rather, it checks whether a specific program is vulnerable according to the reported version numbers and not whether the files have been compromised or replaced by other users or programs.



It all goes to show you can't be too careful; particularly when downloading.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: in Ware Ncoria
Expert Contributor 15th Nov, 2010 13:24
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,323
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Well done JACKIE :))

ddm has explained about the PSI not being a "malware" scanner .

Windows firewall is basic but not to be sneezed at , same goes for McAfee . You have not said which of their products you are using and on which OS ; however , you can now use the Hitman's free scan whenever you like . As a back up and because it is very complimentary , I personally would run it very regularly and at least weekly . I would also look at something like MalwareByte's AntiMalware (MBAM) and/or SuperAntiSpyware (SAS) ; they have free and paid versions :-

http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php

http://www.superantispyware.com/

Even so , nothing is 100% sure and you need to understand what your security software is capable of and set it up correctly (for you) . Patching programmes and using safe surfing rules are equally important .

Basically , you need/should have one software firewall only - you can also have a hardware firewall in a router/modem if you have one . Only one Anti-virus running and active . One complimentary anti-spyware should be sufficient - with an active guard . you probably already know this , so sorry to pontificate .

Ask again if anything is not clear .

Anthony


--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability