Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: main window flashes on but does not display

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
jfdugan main window flashes on but does not display
Member 14th Dec, 2010 22:27
Ranking: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 10th Apr, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Clean install, 1.5.0.2, no problems. Tray Icon shows 100% safe results message; BUT, when choosing to Open Secunia PSI the program window simply flashes on for <1 sec. then disappears. When it is displayed there are no contents, simply a white screen... Same results when trying to start from Programs Icon.

Beta also exhibits same problem.

Checked

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

from other forum message with no change.

Used to work fine, can i get older versions to try?

XP SP3

Post "RE: main window flashes on but does not display" has been selected as an answer.
mogs RE: main window flashes on but does not display
Expert Contributor 14th Dec, 2010 22:59
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
If you've read recent threads concerning similar problems....it would seem you've tried just about everything....but switching between versions can sometimes set up conflicts. If you run a Registry cleaner or the one in CCleaner, between uninstall/install that can also help.
As far as I know, the 1.5.0.1 version is still available from here :-
ftp://ftp.secunia.com/PSISetup1501.exe VERSION 1.5.0.1
Hope this helps....regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
This user no longer exists RE: main window flashes on but does not display
Member 15th Dec, 2010 09:45
Last edited on 15th Dec, 2010 09:46 Hi,

If you wish, you also try installing the Secunia PSI 2.0 Beta, which can be found here: http://secunia.com/PSI2SetupBeta.exe

This version most notabely includes a redesigned user interface, and capabilites for automatic installation of patches.

If you install the Beta version, does the issue still occur?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jfdugan RE: main window flashes on but does not display
Member 15th Dec, 2010 15:44
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 10th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
FWIW, I had indeed, done a manual regedit in previous attempts at 1.5.0.2 w/o positive results. I had also tried the beta w/o success.

The 1.5.0.1 install is working now but will attempt an uninstall then install of beta again and post results \.

Thanks all for the quick replies.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jfdugan RE: main window flashes on but does not display
Member 15th Dec, 2010 20:55
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 10th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Latest info:
1. Uninstalled (working) 1501

2. Installed beta - Flash of program window only, tray icon okay
Uninstalled (non working) beta

3. Installed 1502 - Flash of program window only, tray icon okay
Uninstalled (non working) 1502

4. Installed 1501
Works fine...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
grumblingtummy RE: main window flashes on but does not display
Member 15th Dec, 2010 21:36
Score: 2
Posts: 10
User Since: 16th Nov 2010
System Score: 99%
Location: UK
Also got a HP laptop with Windows XP SP3 doing the same flash and close of Secunia GUI.

Anything I can do to help debug this issue?


--
Regards

John
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: main window flashes on but does not display
Expert Contributor 15th Dec, 2010 22:14
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,332
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi jfdugan

Your problem seems likely to be the same as in this thread and "smurphdude" gives you the workaruond ; the tray icon staying in the Beta on mouseover is likely due to it now having it's own process :-

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/624...

Hope this lets you use the Beta .

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Anthony Wells RE: main window flashes on but does not display
Expert Contributor 15th Dec, 2010 22:17
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,332
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello John/grumblingtummy ,

Try the method in the link in my post above this one .

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
grumblingtummy RE: main window flashes on but does not display
Member 15th Dec, 2010 22:32
Score: 2
Posts: 10
User Since: 16th Nov 2010
System Score: 99%
Location: UK
Thanks Anthony. Worked a treat.

Hopefully Secunia is working on a proper fix to this rather than having to use workarounds :-(.


--
Regards

John
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jfdugan RE: main window flashes on but does not display
Member 15th Dec, 2010 22:42
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 10th Apr 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
From the reference thread...

It's a problem that's affected many but not all XP3 users, and appears to be a conflict with a component of Advanced Text Services.

See this thread...http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/482...

The solution that works for me is to do the following.

In Classic view go to Control Panel, Regional and Language Options, Click the Languages Tab and the the Details Button. Scroll through the list of installed languages and their subcomponents. If you have any instances of "Handwriting recognition - Drawing Pad" then simply use the Remove button to take them away (it's just as easy to add them back in using the add button if this doesn't solve the bug on your machine or you realise that you need this component). Click apply and then OK and all of the affected versions of Secunia 1.5.0.2 and the betas should load fine with no further workarounds needed.

This does fix the problem!

Ran both 1502 & beta successfully after changes.

Thanks ALL!!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: main window flashes on but does not display
Expert Contributor 15th Dec, 2010 22:51
Score: 2445
Posts: 3,332
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Pleased to hear you are both sorted .

The workaround took a lot of time and fiddling and some long threads ; not sure how or when or even if it will be fixed permanently .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer