navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Firefox 3.6.13 corrupt file

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI 2.0 Beta

This thread has been marked as locked.
gudguy1 Firefox 3.6.13 corrupt file
Member 18th Dec, 2010 21:27
Ranking: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 5th Dec, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
NOTE: I do NOT need a resolution, I'm only passing on the error I received - I resolved the problem on my own without PSI.

Story:
I was attempting to go through PSI 2 Beta and have it update Firefox.
The update was downloaded but when it was attempting the "Actual Installation" - I got the error message "corrupt file".

Resolution:
So, I just brought up Firefox and updated to 3.6.13 via the browser's 'check updates' option.

And if you "DO" need my other info:
Program Name:
Mozilla Firefox 3.6.x

Security State:
Insecure

Download Link:
http://download.mozilla.org/?product=firefox-3.6.1...

Instances Found:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe, version: 3.6.12

Last System Scan (localtime):
18. Dec 2010, 15:05

Operating System:
Microsoft Windows 7,


--
MBA MSIA CISSP-ISSEP

taffy078 RE: Firefox 3.6.13 corrupt file
Contributor 19th Dec, 2010 13:59
Score: 408
Posts: 1,352
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hi. Does this thread help you?

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/592...

If not, you may have to wait until tomorrow (Monday). Good luck. :0)

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-1
gudguy1 RE: Firefox 3.6.13 corrupt file
Member 19th Dec, 2010 14:55
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 5th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thanks for posting a response.

Hmmm, it seems my post may not have been clear or complete. Here's a repeat of it.
NOTE: I do NOT need a resolution, I'm only passing on the error I received - I resolved the problem on my own without PSI.


However, maybe PSI 2.0 Beta has some kind of snag or maybe the Mozilla Firefox update data file download actually did get corrupted during transit to my PC.

Anyway, thanks again, Cheers,


--
MBA MSIA CISSP-ISSEP
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
taffy078 RE: Firefox 3.6.13 corrupt file
Contributor 19th Dec, 2010 16:00
Score: 408
Posts: 1,352
User Since: 26th Feb 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
your post was clear. My reply was simply to try to link these two threads in case it helps secunia tomorrow.

--
taffy078, West Yorkshire, UK

Desktop: Compaq Presario (OEM) 32 bit / AMD Athlon / 2 GB RAM
XP Home - SP3/ IE8/ Norton IS - Secunia PSI v2.0.0.3003

Laptop: Win 7 / IE11 / PSI v2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+4
-0
gudguy1 RE: Firefox 3.6.13 corrupt file
Member 19th Dec, 2010 20:55
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 5th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Not a problem, thanks, cheers.

Win 7 Ultimate 64 bit - 2.5 GHZ / 4GB RAM / Core 2 DUO / Norton Internet Security Pro 2010 /

--
MBA MSIA CISSP-ISSEP
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Firefox 3.6.13 corrupt file
Member 20th Dec, 2010 13:01
Hi,

Thank you for reporting this issue.

When the PSI downloads a file for automatic updating, it will verify that the file's SHA1 sum matches the expected value. Possibly, some part of the transfer could have 'gone missing', or another problem occured.

If you double-click the program, remove the check at 'Automatically update this program', wait 30 seconds and then put the check back. This should clear all downloaded or temporary files, and should allow you to automatically update the program without problems.

hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+