Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: "waiting for data to load"

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
3-northernpike "waiting for data to load"
Member 20th Dec, 2010 18:26
Ranking: 9
Posts: 29
User Since: 8th Jan, 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Hi!
Am in process of downloading new release of PSI 2...Seem to be stuck in a screen that has the PSI logo with an indicator bar and the message, "waiting for data to load." Have been waiting for at least 30mins. and nothing is happening.
The icon in tray did turn green before this screen appeared. Am not quite clear what I need to do now. Am afraid I'll screw things up if I restart my PC.
The install seemed to be proceeding smoothly up to this current stopping point.
Has anyone experienced anything similar to this, and how did you rectify the problem?
Windows XP sp3

--
6poundnorthernpike

Post "RE: "waiting for data to load"" has been selected as an answer.
mogs RE: "waiting for data to load"
Expert Contributor 20th Dec, 2010 18:57
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
Are you sure you've got IE8 configured aright...as per the FAQ's here ? :-
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal... FAQ's
Have you tried clearing out temporary files/browser cache before installing ? Could you try another browser for the install ?

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
MedDoc RE: "waiting for data to load"
Member 20th Dec, 2010 19:14
Score: 2
Posts: 20
User Since: 5th Jan 2008
System Score: 100%
Location: N/A
My problem exactly. I noticed that PSI2 one time took about an hour to load, another time only 20 seconds. I think that the speed of the Secunia server has a lot to do with it: when PSI was experiencing difficulties, the Forum was almost unreachable and took ages to load a new page. Probably all the result of installing on the first day of release.

I'll retry installing and running PSI2 in a day or so. See what happens then.
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
3-northernpike RE: "waiting for data to load"
Member 20th Dec, 2010 19:45
Score: 9
Posts: 29
User Since: 8th Jan 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Success!!
Thank you Mogs!
Went to the link... IE 8 temporary files/cache had already been cleaned...active script Was enabled already, so no change there.
I did add the two urls and unchecked the server revocation box and hit ok.
IE 8 wasn't too happy about that and promptly sent me 2 messages...a debugging message and a dr. watson message...and then it too got hung up.
Restarted PC, and when it booted, there was the lovely new PSI 2.0 running!
Thanks again, and from the States, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to you!
3#northernpike
Windows XP sp3

--
6poundnorthernpike
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability