Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: No access

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
roywar No access
Member 22nd Dec, 2010 14:15
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 22nd Dec, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I have installed the latest version of PSI. Mousing over the system tray icon produces a flag with a system score. Clicking the icon only produces a flash screen that immediately closes. I cannot access the program. Opening from the Programs menu does the same. I have downloaded again and reinstalled and rebooted to no avail.
Any help would be appreciated.

HP laptop
XP Home SP3

Post "RE: No access" has been selected as an answer.
Anthony Wells RE: No access
Expert Contributor 22nd Dec, 2010 14:53
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,323
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 22nd Dec, 2010 14:56
Hello roywar ,

Could well be that you have a known XP bug ; try the solution from smurphdude found here :-

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/624...

Let us know how you go .

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
choisington RE: No access
Member 22nd Dec, 2010 16:38
Score: 0
Posts: 22
User Since: 31st Oct 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
I had a similar problem.

I went through everything in running and scanning FAQ #3. All in order, nothing changed.

I verified that the service workstation was enabled.

Issue not resolved.

Here's what worked for me, found in a closed thread: control panel>language options>removed handwriting option.

Best wishes
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: No access
Expert Contributor 22nd Dec, 2010 17:04
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,323
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi choisington ,

Your fix is that which is/was found/detailed by smurphdude and which I have linked the relevant closed thread in my previous reply to roywar .

Pleased it also worked for you . Let's hope it's good for roywar .

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
roywar RE: No access
Member 22nd Dec, 2010 20:47
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 22nd Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Anthony,
That did the trick.
Thank you,
Roy
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: No access
Expert Contributor 22nd Dec, 2010 22:06
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,323
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hello Roy ,

Glad to have your news .

Could you now click the/an ACCEPT button to close this thread . Secunia/Emil is trying to group installation problems into one place and closing this thread will avoid confusion from tag on posts and you getting an email box full of reminders/alerts :(((

Thanks

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability