Forum Thread: Firefox 4 not detected by v2

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
henryg Firefox 4 not detected by v2
Member 22nd Dec, 2010 15:47
Ranking: 14
Posts: 11
User Since: 23rd May, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 22nd Dec, 2010 15:48

Firefox 4.0b8 is not detected on scan, nor shown under Secure Browsing!

When I try to add it manually, it can't access the program - I browse to the directory/program, but get c:\fakepath\firefox.exe appearing the the program box, and then it says no details available.

Henry

PS I quite like the new interface

Post "RE: Firefox 4 not detected by v2" has been selected as an answer.
mogs RE: Firefox 4 not detected by v2
Expert Contributor 22nd Dec, 2010 15:53
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,269
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 22nd Dec, 2010 15:54
Hello.
Am I right in thinking Firefox4 is the latest Beta release ?
If so , that is the explanation.....psi....all versions...do NOT monitor Beta versions of programs.
You may notice I use different versions of Chrome...neither of which are monitored.
Hope this helps.....regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
henryg RE: Firefox 4 not detected by v2
Member 22nd Dec, 2010 16:02
Score: 14
Posts: 11
User Since: 23rd May 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Yes it is a beta, but it seems extremely odd to assume that beta programs are not vulnerable, potentially or otherwise - all the Firefox addons are detected though. Is it a manpower issue?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
M.Hansen RE: Firefox 4 not detected by v2
Secunia Official 22nd Dec, 2010 16:08
Score: 188
Posts: 414
User Since: 26th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: Copenhagen, DK
Hi

Beta versions is not considered stable and it is Secunia's policy not to track or monitor them.

As soon as Firefox 4 is released in a stable release, feel free to suggest it using the Secunia PSI Software Suggestion tool.

We will then add it to our database, normally within 24hours (during work days)

mogs RE: Firefox 4 not detected by v2
Expert Contributor 22nd Dec, 2010 16:09
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,269
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 22nd Dec, 2010 16:10
I just know that it has been Secunia policy from the outset....my Canary build Chrome sometimes updates a couple of times a day....monitoring satisfactorily would be extremely difficult.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.