Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Some GUI and CPU issues

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
Jota64 Some GUI and CPU issues
Member 22nd Dec, 2010 17:57
Ranking: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 22nd Dec, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 22nd Dec, 2010 18:03

Hi. Got the new version, installed then rebooted but the GUI is messed up and I can't access the buttons.

http://img18.imageshack.us/i/snap2010122216h43m44s...

Window maximised...

http://img708.imageshack.us/i/snap2010122216h44m25...

The GUI is unresponsive taking a good few seconds to maximise, minimise and it takes a while to exit the program with the CPU of PSI.exe running at 50% for 15-20 seconds after I close the program.

Windows 7 Home Premium
E8500 CPU
Norton 2011 AV

PSi Beta ran perfectly for me on this system.

Edit, when I minimise the application to the system tray, when I open it again the windowed screen is black for about 20 seconds before showing the GUI. PSi.exe utilising 50% CPU for about 40 seconds and now I get a windows pop up saying Secunia Psi has stopped responding.

Post "RE: Some GUI and CPU issues" has been selected as an answer.
Anthony Wells RE: Some GUI and CPU issues
Expert Contributor 22nd Dec, 2010 18:16
Score: 2437
Posts: 3,323
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi ,

I seem to remember someone else has reported a Norton Firewall problem and it was a problem of the setting to "auto" for PSI ; the probable reason is that the psia.exe is not getting to the servers correctly . Try resetting the install and psia.exe .

Will see if I can find the thread .

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Some GUI and CPU issues
Member 22nd Dec, 2010 18:45
Hi,

Are you running the Internet Explorer 9.x Beta? If so, please be aware that this version is not currently supported, and that display issues such as the one you reported should be expected.

If not, then could I ask you to reboot your computer? Does the issue still occur after you have?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Jota64 RE: Some GUI and CPU issues
Member 22nd Dec, 2010 19:12
Score: 0
Posts: 2
User Since: 22nd Dec 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I don't have Norton Firewall, just the anti virus.

I do have IE9 beta but PSI Beta ran ok when this was installed. I'll try uninstalling IE9 beta and see how it goes.

Quick question, what is it about IE9 beta that interferes with PSI 2?

Thanks
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Some GUI and CPU issues
Member 22nd Dec, 2010 19:13
Hi,

The PSI uses Internet Explorer (build-in to every windows system out there) to display it's User Interface.

Unfortunately, the Internet Explorer 9.x Beta is not compatible with some of the libraries we use - and unfortunately, this is unlikely to be fixed until after the finla release.

hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability