Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Can't download sollutions

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Geldrop1982 Can't download sollutions
Member 4th Jan, 2011 11:35
Ranking: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 4th Jan, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Hello,

Whenever I try to download sollutions for an unsave programme, I get the message: An error occurred while attempting to open the specified URL.
So now I've got 6 unsave programmes on my computer and I can't do anything. Please, help me.

Greetings Celina

Maurice Joyce RE: Can't download sollutions
Handling Contributor 4th Jan, 2011 11:41
Score: 11719
Posts: 8,956
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 4th Jan, 2011 11:42
Celina,
What are the programmes? Which version of PSI are U using & which OS + SP?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Geldrop1982 RE: Can't download sollutions
Member 4th Jan, 2011 11:49
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 4th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Last edited on 4th Jan, 2011 12:02
These are the unsave programmes:
Adobe AIR 2.x

Adobe Flash Player 10.x


Apple QuickTime 7.x


Opera 10.x


Sun Java JRE 1.6.x / 6.x


avast! Antivirus 5.x

And I use this:
Secunia PSI version 1.5.0.1

My OS is Windows Vista Ultimate SP 2
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E7300@2.66GHz 2.67GHz
2,00 GB
32-bits besturingssysteem


Hope you can help me.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Can't download sollutions
Handling Contributor 4th Jan, 2011 12:08
Score: 11719
Posts: 8,956
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Let us try JAVA as a starter to see how we get on:

JAVA PROBLEMS
Can be used with Windows XP,Vista & Windows 7 - 32 & 64 Bit Systems.

Go to Control Panel>add/remove.

Uninstall ALL versions of JRE or JSE or JDK or JVM or JAVA(TM) EXCEPT for JAVA(TM) 6 Update 23.

Now do a full PSI rescan & all should be in order.

Windows does not require JAVA to be installed to work therefore if U make a error & uninstall the lot it does not matter.

U can download the latest version from here if U really require JAVA.

http://www.java.com/en/download/ie_manual.jsp?loca...

U can test it is working correctly here:

http://www.java.com/en/download/installed.jsp

Do a full rescan with with PSI - has that solved that issue?

Update 2 14:58 09/12/2010




--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Geldrop1982 RE: Can't download sollutions
Member 4th Jan, 2011 12:13
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 4th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Hi,

I can only find Java (TM) 6 update 20...
Just remove this one then?

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Can't download sollutions
Handling Contributor 4th Jan, 2011 12:15
Score: 11719
Posts: 8,956
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Yup - if that is all there is - then complete the task from my previous post.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Geldrop1982 RE: Can't download sollutions
Member 4th Jan, 2011 12:44
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 4th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Hi,

The scan is just finished but the problem is still there. The other programmes can't be solved because of the error. Also when I use the button Forum of the Secunia PSI, I get the same message: An error occurred while attempting to open the specified URL.
What shall I do next?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Can't download sollutions
Handling Contributor 4th Jan, 2011 12:53
Score: 11719
Posts: 8,956
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 4th Jan, 2011 12:58
Are U a new user or have U been using PSI for some time? If for some time has this problem occured before?

Let us just check where these programmes are. Please post all the paths of the problems using this:

FINDING A FILE PATH

ALL PSI VERSIONS EXCEPT VERSION 2


To locate the exact file that the Secunia PSI has detected, use or switch to the ADVANCED interface, then :

1 Click on the + sign of the programme to "expand' it.
2 Click on Technical Details in the Toolbox to see the installation path of the detected file. (Copy (CTRL+C) & paste (CTRL+V)) the Installation Path of the file back to the Forum.

PSI VERSION 2

From the DASHBOARD page click on SCAN RESULTS.

1. This will list all your programmes with a + to the left of each one.
2. Click the + sign next to the item that U want help with.
3. This will reveal the path under DETECTED INSTANCES.
4. Highlight it then copy (CTRL+C) then paste (CTRL+V)) that path back to the Forum.

Update 5 01:19 29/12/2010

EDIT: I will be away for a short while so no big rush for a reply.




--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Geldrop1982 RE: Can't download sollutions
Member 4th Jan, 2011 13:02
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 4th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Last edited on 4th Jan, 2011 13:09
Here they are.

Installatiepad:
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe AIR\Versions\1.0\Adobe AIR.dll

Installatiepad:
C:\Windows\System32\Macromed\Flash\Flash10i.ocx

Installatiepad:
C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QuickTimePlayer.exe

Installatiepad:
C:\Program Files\Opera\opera.exe

Installatiepad:
C:\Program Files\Alwil Software\Avast5\AvastUI.exe

Installatiepad:
C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office\PowerPoint Viewer\PPTVIEW.EXE

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Can't download sollutions
Expert Contributor 4th Jan, 2011 13:13
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
Just thought the following info might also be worth reading thro'.....maybe relevant to the problem : copy of an official observation.


I've seen a rising number of users with problems opening links in the PSI
Therefore I've created this small guide to help our users to solve the problem.

Describing the issue:
When clicking a link in the PSI, the user will experience one of the following:
1. Error message: "An error occurred while attempting to open the specified URL"
2. The link is opened in the wrong browser.

Why is this happening?
The PSI runs in admin mode to be able to have access to all folders while scanning.
Therefore the PSI will also use the admin account default browser, which may not be the one you prefer.

How to solve:
The PSI uses the information in this registry key to determine the browser to open link in:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\http\shell\open\command

To see this, open the Registry Editor by typing the following in either "Run.." (WinXP) or in the "Program search field" (Vista/7) in the start menu:
regedit

Notice the path to the browser in the registry key?
If the path refers to a browser no longer in that path, the user will get the "URL error" in the PSI
If the path refers to a browser that is on the system, the PSI will open links in that browser.

To change this:
Advanced users can change the path manually, however I would not recommend this if you're not 110% sure of what you are doing.

Otherwise you can try to open your preferred browser in admin mode by right-clicking the browser icon and pick "Run as administrator".
Go to the options section of your browser and make it your default browser.
Remember to completely close the browser once you have done this as you do NOT want to browse the Internet with a browser in admin mode.


M.Hansen Secunia Support

Hope it's of some use.....regards,



--
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
Geldrop1982 RE: Can't download sollutions
Member 4th Jan, 2011 13:22
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 4th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
[quote=p32107]Are U a new user or have U been using PSI for some time? If for some time has this problem occured before?

I've been using PSI for over a year now. Never had any problems before. About 3 months ago, it didn't work properly anymore. First I tried to solve it by myself, but I'm definitely not a computerexpert. On the internet I couldn't find the answers either. So I really hope you can help me out.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Geldrop1982 RE: Can't download sollutions
Member 4th Jan, 2011 14:03
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 4th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Last edited on 4th Jan, 2011 14:28
on 4th Jan, 2011 13:13, mogs wrote:
Hello.
Just thought the following info might also be worth reading thro'.....maybe relevant to the problem : copy of an official observation.


I've seen a rising number of users with problems opening links in the PSI
Therefore I've created this small guide to help our users to solve the problem.

Describing the issue:
When clicking a link in the PSI, the user will experience one of the following:
1. Error message: "An error occurred while attempting to open the specified URL"
2. The link is opened in the wrong browser.

Why is this happening?
The PSI runs in admin mode to be able to have access to all folders while scanning.
Therefore the PSI will also use the admin account default browser, which may not be the one you prefer.

How to solve:
The PSI uses the information in this registry key to determine the browser to open link in:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\http\shell\open\command

To see this, open the Registry Editor by typing the following in either "Run.." (WinXP) or in the "Program search field" (Vista/7) in the start menu:
regedit

Notice the path to the browser in the registry key?
If the path refers to a browser no longer in that path, the user will get the "URL error" in the PSI
If the path refers to a browser that is on the system, the PSI will open links in that browser.

To change this:
Advanced users can change the path manually, however I would not recommend this if you're not 110% sure of what you are doing.

Otherwise you can try to open your preferred browser in admin mode by right-clicking the browser icon and pick "Run as administrator".
Go to the options section of your browser and make it your default browser.
Remember to completely close the browser once you have done this as you do NOT want to browse the Internet with a browser in admin mode.


M.Hansen Secunia Support

Hope it's of some use.....regards,


Hello,

Thank you for your time. As I wrote earlier I'm not a computerexpert so I didn't understand everything you wrote me. I went to regedit, but then I got lost. I saw 5 folders whith lots and lots of information. Didn't do anything ofcourse, so worried that something might go wrong.
After that I went to the browser icon and put it on run as administrator. I think I also made the browser my default browser. Is that in the tab: security? If so, I changed it but know it is still not working. Can you tell me if this was the right thing to do or did I do a lousy job? haha

ps. In the mean time I went back to regedit and found what (I think) you ment. It said AB standard. Couldn't find AB standard at the option button of my browser but I could find standard. So I picked that one, but still no results...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Can't download sollutions
Handling Contributor 4th Jan, 2011 14:47
Score: 11719
Posts: 8,956
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Last edited on 4th Jan, 2011 15:02
Celina,
I note @Mogs has taken over in my absence. So U are not confused & to protect my mail box I will unsubcribe & leave it to him.

Hope U get fixed up shortly.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Geldrop1982 RE: Can't download sollutions
Member 4th Jan, 2011 15:43
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 4th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Thanks for your time. Will you let me know if you maybe have a solution? Thanks!

Celina
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Can't download sollutions
Expert Contributor 4th Jan, 2011 20:49
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Celina.
It was not my intention that Maurice would cease with helping you with your problems.I have since e-mailed him, since, to that effect.
As I pointed out at the beginning of my post...I thought the info would be worth reading tho'.
With hindsight tho', I can see that I may have confused and complicated matters....for which, I hope you will accept my apologies.
One reason why I emboldened the last paragraph in my post, was that I thought it might have been the easier alternative, in the event that you were to use it.
Certainly, you should not go into the Registry unless perfectly confident.....again, words to that effect were emboldened.
If you have made the browser default which you wish the links to open in; that should be all to the good.
I hope the foregoing now clears up any misunderstanding, and that Maurice will see your most recent post.....regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Can't download sollutions
Handling Contributor 5th Jan, 2011 01:56
Score: 11719
Posts: 8,956
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
@mogs
Happy to continue to sit this one out (U may have noticed I have another long one running & a few off Forum members requiring completion). All the data is there for U to fix it but from Celina's declared inexperience she will require more precise instructions than that offered by Secunia if U want to take her down the Registry tweak road.


--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Geldrop1982 RE: Can't download sollutions
Member 5th Jan, 2011 10:55
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 4th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
@Mogs No need to apologize, I'm glad that you wrote this done here. It looks like that this is the problem.
You have given me more information than I could find on the internet.

@Maurice, nice that you want to sit this one out. Maybe Mogs information has given you new solutions.

Anyway, hope we can fix this all together.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Can't download sollutions
Member 5th Jan, 2011 12:25
Hi,

Are you running the latest Beta? If not, you can get it from here:
ftp://ftp.secunia.com/PSISetup.exe

The Auto-updater works without your browser, so this new version should at least be able to automatically solve some of the issues. :)

Now as for fixing the issue itself. Which browser to you prefer to have set as default? The key here is to set another browser as default, and then re-apply the setting from your preferred one. This error occurs if the registry key the PSI uses to determine default browsers is not properly set, and doing this should set it once again.
Has this resolved the issue, or do you require further assistance? If so, please post back here with:
Your Operating System
Your preferred default browser

And I can prepare a more detailed and specific guide for you. :)

Hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Geldrop1982 RE: Can't download sollutions
Member 5th Jan, 2011 13:54
Score: 0
Posts: 10
User Since: 4th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
Hi Emil,

Forgive me for my ignorance, but I really need more assistance. Information about my OS:
Windows Vista Ultimate SP 2
Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E7300@2.66GHz 2.67GHz
2,00 GB
32-bits besturingssysteem

And my preferred default browser is Internet Explorer (If this is what you mean).

Greetings Celina
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Can't download sollutions
Member 6th Jan, 2011 13:10
Hi,

It should be possible to solve this problem, but please note that attempting the following fix happens at your own risk. You should note that changing or deleting the wrong registry key can break your installation, so be very careful only to modify the String I suggest below.

Start by opening Regedit (Start > Run > "regedit" for xp, or "regedit" directly in the Start menu search bar) and navigate too HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\http\shell\open\command

From here, double click the (Default) string and set the Value Data too:
"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe" -nohome

That should set IE as your default browser again, assuming that you installed IE to your C:-drive.

hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
jerrybelknap RE: Can't download sollutions
Member 9th Jan, 2011 22:15
Score: 3
Posts: 1
User Since: 9th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Your replies in this thread helped me to solve this problem as well. I would like to add that what I found was previously I had installed Chrome and then uninstalled. In the registry entry that you reference I found that Chrome was setting there even though I had uninstalled and deleted this application. I had set IE8 as default both in the Tools option in IE as well as in "Default Programs" of Win7 without it resetting these keys, HTTP and HTTPS in the registry. I thought this information might be helpful for others having the same problem. After I reset the keys to look to IE then PSI worked without giving the errors.
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability