Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Early Balloon

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
mogs Early Balloon
Expert Contributor 8th Jan, 2011 11:41
Ranking: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr, 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
As soon as I set PSI to scan, I'm getting the Scan Completed Successfully balloon appearing, with Score of 100% ! Have there been some alterations made to the workings of PSI's "memory" ?!

--

Post "RE: Early Balloon" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: Early Balloon
Handling Contributor 8th Jan, 2011 12:34
Score: 11710
Posts: 8,952
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
I think is is a minor bug in version 2001 despite the fact that a full scan now only takes about 14 seconds.

This possible bug shows on Windows 7 & XP SP3.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
lmacri RE: Early Balloon
Member 8th Jan, 2011 16:20
Score: 42
Posts: 87
User Since: 9th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Hi mogs:

I see the same behavior of this pop-up balloon with Vista SP2 and PSI v. 2.0. I have a slow dial-up connection and I frequently get this balloon showing scan results while my interface is still trying to load. And scans on my machine take minutes, not seconds.

I think there might be a bug in the Secunia PSI Tray (psi_tray.exe) that loads old information from a previous scan into the balloon before the current scan is even finished.

--
Vista Home Premium SP2 32-bit * NIS 2013 v. 20.5.0.28 * IE 9 * FF v. 31.0 * PSI v. 2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
mogs RE: Early Balloon
Expert Contributor 8th Jan, 2011 21:24
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Thanks for the replies. It's not giving me any problems as such....just the fact that it appears. Deletion cures till correct reappearance at the end of a 2min 50sec (approx) scan.
Just thought I'd post re it showing...to be noted by Emil/Morten hopefully.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability