Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Unable to open PSI 2.0

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
dragonfly888 Unable to open PSI 2.0
Member 11th Jan, 2011 15:37
Ranking: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 11th Jan, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
I have updated to version 2.0.0.2001. Now I cannot open the dashboard to check or change settings. I get a flash of something on the screen, then it disappeared. As well, the icon on my task bar is a muted colour... not dark like it was with version 1.x. Using WinXP with Firefox. System is fully updated.

===================
I did see the potential solution here...
https://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/69...

My results...
1) Workstation Service is running
2) 3) I set the checkbox 'Turn off advanced text services...'
===================

After I set the checkbox in 2 & 3, I attempted to load the Secunia Dashboard from my taskbar by Right-Clicking on the Secunia icon and selecting Open Secunia PSI.

Now the program is trying to load the Microsoft Script Editor. The following question is asked... "Do you want to debug using the selected debugger?"
I answer NO to the question 8 times and am able to access the Secunia Dashboard.

If I answered YES to the question "Do you want to debug using the selected debugger?"...
... I enter the Microsoft Script Editor and get stuck at the following line (line 4781)...

this.interval = setInterval(aulink.periodic,1000);

Please advice...


Regards,
Kevin.

Maurice Joyce RE: Unable to open PSI 2.0
Handling Contributor 11th Jan, 2011 17:30
Score: 11718
Posts: 8,956
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Kevin,
Might be worth trying to update to version 2.0.0.3001. It is a bug fix update not associated with your issue but still perhaps worth a try.

Link here:
http://secunia.com/products/consumer/

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
lmacri RE: Unable to open PSI 2.0
Member 11th Jan, 2011 17:31
Score: 42
Posts: 87
User Since: 9th Sep 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Last edited on 11th Jan, 2011 17:46
Hi dragonfly888:

I think the workarounds you tried with the Workstation service and advanced text services were fixed in SPI v. 2.0 Build 2001(released January 5, 2011), so the forum link you were viewing may be referring to an out-of-date solution for bugs in Build 1003.

I checked yesterday and Secunia has already released another patch (Build 3001) on January 10, 2011 so you might want to try installing PSI v. 2.0.0.3001 and see if it fixes your problems.

You might have to turn your advanced text services back on to resolve your scripting errors.

Just FYI, I updated to PSI 2.0 Build 3001 yesterday and I still can't get my dashboard to load over a slow dial-up Internet connection, although the dashboard does eventually load after about 1 minute on a fast public WiFi connection.

--
Vista Home Premium SP2 32-bit * NIS 2013 v. 20.5.0.28 * IE 9 * FF v. 31.0 * PSI v. 2.0.0.3003
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability