Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: PSI2.0 install not working

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
cliffinaz PSI2.0 install not working
Member 14th Jan, 2011 18:48
Ranking: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 14th Jan, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Running Windows7 64bit. PSI2.0 installs fine without error. When started I get a splash screen. The icon is in the system tray(gold color). When moused over it states "Secunia PSI 99% Secunia System Score". The splash screen remains with the PSI Logo and nothing else. There is no further response. I have used the PSI uninstaller, rebooted multiple times, always with the same result.

Any ideas?

mogs RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Expert Contributor 14th Jan, 2011 19:14
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
Have you read thro' and checked settings as per the recent edition of the FAQ's here :-
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal... FAQ's
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...
HOW IT WORKS
Hope it helps....regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
cliffinaz RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Member 14th Jan, 2011 19:41
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 14th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I had previously performed these steps without success. I just verified the steps again and restarted Windows. No change.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Expert Contributor 14th Jan, 2011 20:05
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
The new FAQ's are very comprehensive it seems.....the only other thing I can think of; if you've already checked out and your firewall : have you tried closing the UI and tray icon, and then rebooted before restarting ? Sorry I can't be more helpful.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
cliffinaz RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Member 14th Jan, 2011 20:24
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 14th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Thanks for the replies. I just added Secunia to my allowed firewall programs. No change.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Expert Contributor 14th Jan, 2011 20:34
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Have you rebooted since doing it....for it to "kick in" ?

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
cliffinaz RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Member 14th Jan, 2011 20:42
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 14th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Yes, just after adding PSI to firewall. I closed icon in system tray and closed the PSI window that was open. Then rebooted.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Expert Contributor 14th Jan, 2011 20:53
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Silly question at this late stage perhaps....but you're not using IE9 Beta(?)....you noticed the comments regarding in the FAQ's ? I'm stumped.


--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
cliffinaz RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Member 14th Jan, 2011 21:00
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 14th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
No. I have IE8 installed but my default browser is Firefox.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
clomas RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Member 14th Jan, 2011 21:10
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 3rd Aug 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 14th Jan, 2011 21:14
Running Windows7 32 bit but the install won't complete. It stops at the uninstall window and locks up.I was just trying to update the previous 2.0 version.
Any ideas?[/quote]


--
Snake
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Expert Contributor 14th Jan, 2011 21:14
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
In days gone by....before psi 2.0....I very often used to recommend setting IE8 as the default browser before installing psi ; and then to revert to the browser of one's choosing once a successful install had been completed. Having had Chrome Dev at default, and upgraded psi versions a number of times without any trouble; I havn't found the need myself for quite some time.
The other thing that occurs to me ; as you're now sure of your settings in IE and firewall.....perhaps you could clear out temp files/browser cache and try a fresh install.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
cliffinaz RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Member 14th Jan, 2011 21:28
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 14th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 14th Jan, 2011 21:53
I will try that and update you.

Followed your suggestions. No change.

Thanks
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Expert Contributor 15th Jan, 2011 07:54
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 15th Jan, 2011 07:57
I know you've added Secunia re your firewall...but maybe the following is still worth checking out. A copy of an official reply yesterday concerning a similar matter :-

http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/682...

RE: PSI 2.0 Not Working - Stops at Verifying Internet Connection
14th Jan, 2011 11:26

To anyone still experiencing this problem.

Have you configured Windows Firewall to blacklist outgoing traffick? (ie. disallow everything by default).

If so, you need to allow "psi.exe" and "psia.exe" with "Allow the connection".
"Allow the connection if it is secure" only refers to IPsec, so the PSI won't work if this is how your firewall rules are configured.

If you solve the problem with any of this information, please post back and let me know so we can include the steps in our FAQ

Hope this helps.

--
Kind regards,

Emil R. Petersen
Secunia PSI Support

Hope it helps.....regards,


--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
NorthvilleDave RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Member 15th Jan, 2011 21:45
Score: 6
Posts: 5
User Since: 15th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I am having the same problem as cliffinaz, the only difference being that I'm running on Win 7 32bit.

I have tried all the suggested fixes given in this thread (even tried turning off Windows firewall completely) and others to no avail. I've re-installed 2.0 four times.

Previously I was running PSI 1.5.x with no problems.

Any further suggestions?

--
Northville Dave
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
tommyw RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Member 15th Jan, 2011 22:37
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 15th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I am having the same problems as Cliffnaz and Northville Dave with version 2 and have tried the remedies suggested above, including rebooting and downloading and installing a second time. I am using Win XP Pro SP3 with current updates and previously used v1.? on this same PC for more than a year without problems.When I try to open Secunia, the flash screen mentioned by Cliffnaz appears, but it disappears in a split second without action from me. Mousing over the tray icon displays a security score of 90%.
I would greatly appreciate anyone providing possible solutions, including pointing to items in FAQ or the forums that I may have missed in my search. Would any complications result if I install version 1, pending getting v2 operating correctly??
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Expert Contributor 15th Jan, 2011 23:09
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
The new FAQ's cover comprehensively my previous collection of notes/problems. If you've checked them thoroughly and you're sure there are no firewall problems; there doesn't seem to be much else I can suggest. Personally, I'd be inclined to have a thorough clean out : run my Registry scanner and give CHKDSK a jaunt around the block before trying a fresh install.
If no success, you might wait for suggestions from other forum members with more knowledge of Windows 7/XP....office staff will likely pick up on this thread Monday morning.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
rdfrost RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Member 16th Jan, 2011 04:47
Score: 0
Posts: 4
User Since: 1st Mar 2009
System Score: 97%
Location: US
try using windows program uninstaller to remove PSI program, then go into My Computer Program Files and delete the remaining folder. Third, reinstall PSI 2.0. should work fine provided you have a complete and clean PSI installer, so you may want to down direct from PSI.Com. Hope this helps s/pops

--
abunker
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
cliffinaz RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Member 16th Jan, 2011 14:39
Score: 0
Posts: 7
User Since: 14th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Tried that several times. Doesn't help.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Member 17th Jan, 2011 10:57
Hi,

When adding the PSI as an exception to your firewall, please consider that
* You need to add both "psi.exe" and "psia.exe" to your list of allowed applications
* If using Windows Firewall, it needs to be set to "Allowed" and not "Allowed if it is Secure".

Please only post to this thread if your problem is the exact same as described in the original post. Related or seemingly related issues won't be addressed - in this case, create a new thread.

For those who have not yet configured their IE as per our FAQ, please walk through every step outlined here:
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
NorthvilleDave RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Member 17th Jan, 2011 15:10
Score: 6
Posts: 5
User Since: 15th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 17th Jan, 2011 15:11
on 17th Jan, 2011 10:57, wrote:
Hi,

When adding the PSI as an exception to your firewall, please consider that
* You need to add both "psi.exe" and "psia.exe" to your list of allowed applications
* If using Windows Firewall, it needs to be set to "Allowed" and not "Allowed if it is Secure".

.......
Hope this helps.


Been there, done that but it still won't work.

My problem is identical to that of cliffinaz except I'm running Win7 32 bit.

Should I create a new thread?

--
Northville Dave
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Member 17th Jan, 2011 15:13
Hi,

Since the problem is the same you don't have to create a new thread. :)

We try to keep threads seperate so users who in the future might experience a similar issues won't have to jump through so many hoops to solve the issue.

Is the Secunia Update Agent and Secunia PSI services started as per our FAQ?
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Hope this helps.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
NorthvilleDave RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Member 17th Jan, 2011 16:08
Score: 6
Posts: 5
User Since: 15th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
on 17th Jan, 2011 15:13, wrote:
Hi,

....
Is the Secunia Update Agent and Secunia PSI services started as per our FAQ?
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Hope this helps.


The scan completes for both myself and cliffinaz. This is indicated when we hover the mouse over the PSI icon in the system tray.

/faq/#s3 seems to be directed to those folks for whom the scan hangs.

Our problem is that the UI hangs at the splash screen with blank squares on the progress bar.

In any case, I have performed all actions suggested in your FAQs.

--
Northville Dave
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Beercow RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Member 18th Jan, 2011 03:25
Score: 33
Posts: 34
User Since: 26th Sep 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Try this.http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/729...

--
Beercow

Windows 7 Professional SP1 64bit
Amd Athlon IIx4 630 Quad-core
Firefox 11
6GB ram
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-2
NorthvilleDave RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Member 18th Jan, 2011 05:22
Score: 6
Posts: 5
User Since: 15th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
This fix worked for me!

Thanks!

--
Northville Dave
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

Beercow

RE: PSI2.0 install not working
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.
Beercow RE: PSI2.0 install not working
Member 18th Jan, 2011 05:38
Score: 33
Posts: 34
User Since: 26th Sep 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: US
Try this. http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/729...

--
Beercow

Windows 7 Professional SP1 64bit
Amd Athlon IIx4 630 Quad-core
Firefox 11
6GB ram
Was this reply relevant?
+4
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability