Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Updating and URL error

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Gamma Updating and URL error
Member 22nd Jan, 2011 15:12
Ranking: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 9th Dec, 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi
PSI reported that Shockwave was out of date & needed a manual update. When I clicked on the Solution button a message box said "Unable to locate appropriate web browser for the requested URL". I clicked on the only option - OK and a second box said "An error occurred while attempting to open the specified URL". PSi provided the following info:
---START---

Program Name:
Adobe Shockwave Player 10.x

Security State:
End-of-Life

Download Link:
http://get.adobe.com/shockwave/

Instances Found:
C:\Windows\System32\Macromed\Shockwave 10\SwOnce.dll, version: 10.4.1.31

Last System Scan (localtime):
22. Jan 2011, 09:03

Operating System:
Microsoft Windows 7,

---END---

I'm using Win 7 and IE8 with Zone Alarm Security suite (ZA is set to allow PSI and PSIa access as needed. All fully patched. Although my default browser is IE both Chrome & Firefox are on my computer.
Also when I clicked on the link from with PSI for the forum I got the same error messages.

I pasted the download link into my broweser and updated Shockwave OK.

Any ideas?

Peter

Maurice Joyce RE: Updating and URL error
Handling Contributor 22nd Jan, 2011 15:35
Score: 11785
Posts: 9,035
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
SHOCKWAVE

Before starting to fix Adobe Shockwave do U really require it? Windows works perfectly without this programme which may have been pre installed on the PC at the time of purchase.

If not required just uninstall it completely. If you do have a requirement read on:

1. Uninstall Shockwave for your OS from the clearly marked link here:
http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/download/alternates...

2. Reboot to clear out any left over ocx files.

3. Rescan using PSI. Are there any outstanding files that are insecure? These should be cleared out before proceeding to serial 4.

Note 1: At this stage,if PSI finds any elements of Shockwave in the C:\i386 folder or on any drive other than C that is an OEM reinstallation partition (normally D drive) or a drive U use solely to backup your work U can safely create an ignore rule.

Note 2: The path on the C Drive to any remaining insecurity is important. Does it point to the Shockwave Player or another Adobe product that has a Flash element? If it points to Shockwave right click on the file(s) & delete them. If it points elsewhere reinstalling Shockwave will not necessarily clear the problem.

4. Reinstall Shockwave from here:
http://get.adobe.com/shockwave/

5. If you wish to test your new Shockwave Player the link is here:

http://www.adobe.com/shockwave/welcome/

Update 3 12:24 28/07/2010






--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
mogs RE: Updating and URL error
Expert Contributor 22nd Jan, 2011 15:42
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
You seem to have had almost an identical problem about 2 months ago.....which you don't seem to have resolved at that time.
Here is an extract from the newer FAQ's :-

The PSI says "An error occurred while attempting to open the specified URL" when I click links. How can I solve this?
This error occurs because the registry key specifying your default browser is not properly set. To solve it, try setting your preferred browser as default again.
You can read thro' the FAQ's complete, here :-
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal... FAQ's

Hope it helps......regards,


--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Gamma RE: Updating and URL error
Member 22nd Jan, 2011 17:56
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 9th Dec 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
You're right I forgot! Too much happening in life. When I looked for the key "HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\HTTP\shell\open\command" it did not exist (and still does not) it's only down to the "open" key. Interestingly the key "HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\htmlfile\shell\open\command" does exist. Anyway I created a new "command" key for the HTTP entry containing "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" -nohome and it now seems to work. Guess I wan't too sure about creating a new key last time.

Interestingly Microsft Knowledge base doesn't mention the creation of this key when you make the browser the default & it did't do it on my system. See http://support.microsoft.com/kb/224816

Thanks for the help. PSI v2 is a great pice of software & I recommend it to all my friends.

Again thanks :)

Peter

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer