navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Data Execution Prevention

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
WartEye Data Execution Prevention
Member 30th Jan, 2011 06:20
Ranking: 2
Posts: 6
User Since: 10th Jul, 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
All of a sudden, Data Execution Prevention is "killing" PSI on my Windows XP SP3 machine. I've tried the following to no avail:

psi.exe --dep-allow-atl-emu (Or, if this option doesn't work)
psi.exe --no-force-dep

...per a 9/7/10 post by Emil R. Petersen, Secunia PSI Community Support, on bleepingcomputer.com. Although he suggests checking this forum, I can't find anything relevant here.

Can it be I'm the only one having this problem?

Can anyone help?

mogs RE: Data Execution Prevention
Expert Contributor 30th Jan, 2011 06:44
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,268
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 30th Jan, 2011 06:56
Hello.
I havn't seen the specific problem reported on the forum for quite some time...DEP problems have arisen occasionally, tho' have possibly been dealt with under other headings.
I don't have an answer for you, other than the following link I'd previously bookmarked :-http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows-vista/D...
Secunia staff may also pick up on this thread tomorrow.
Hope this helps meantime.......regards,

Sorry...just noted/realized...the above link pertains to Vista

Have you looked here ? :-http://support.microsoft.com/kb/875352

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
WartEye RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 31st Jan, 2011 06:18
Score: 2
Posts: 6
User Since: 10th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 31st Jan, 2011 06:22
>Have you looked here ? :-http://support.microsoft.com/kb/875352

I did. It's a "detailed description of Data Execution Prevention...in Service Pack 2..." Couldn't find any specific help for my problem on SP3.

The problem started (perhaps coincidentally) immediately after I installed PSI 2. I uninstalled PSI 2 and re-installed PSI 1.5. Now I'm getting the same problems with PSI 1.5...Murphy's Law in action.
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
mogs RE: Data Execution Prevention
Expert Contributor 31st Jan, 2011 07:25
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,268
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
There's more discussion specific to XP SP3 and DEP at the following :-

http://www.technologyquestions.com/technology/wind...
http://www.pcreview.co.uk/forums/dep-and-windows-x...
Hope it helps.....

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
smurphdude RE: Data Execution Prevention
Contributor 31st Jan, 2011 07:54
Score: 107
Posts: 40
User Since: 13th Aug 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Try the instructions at the end of FAQ no 3

http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Many XP users have had problems with a conflict with advanced text services, and the link gives instructions on disabling them for PSI.

Most who have suffered the bug just seen PSI crash silently, but in my case some of those crashes were accompanied with a DEP warning.

Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 31st Jan, 2011 13:40
Last edited on 31st Jan, 2011 13:40 Hi,

Please install the latest build from here: ftp://ftp.secunia.com/PSISetup.exe, and then refer to the FAQ item mentioned by @smurphdude (http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...).

This should fix the problem. :)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
dragonfly888 RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 31st Jan, 2011 19:05
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 11th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
I am using the latest Secunia PSI release 2.0.0.3001...

I have the same issue and have followed these steps to eliminate Secunia from the DEP process.... but it does not solve the issue. I get the same DEP warning with Secunia PSI release 2.0.0.3001...

1- Click Start >> Control Panel >>Select System
2- On System Properties Click the Advanced tab.
In the Performance region select Settings
3- Click the Data Execute tab in the dialog box that opens
4- Select Turn on DEP for all programs and services except for those I select
then Click Add
5- The open dialog box will open. Browse and select your application
6- Click Open
7- Click [Apply] Then Click [Ok]
8- Reboot your machine and try to open any program/application

On my second PC, I had an issue accessing the Secunia PSI screen with release 2.0.0.1001 so I upgraded to 3001 and it seemed to function well. I have not verified this in the last few weeks, but will do so tonight.

Please advise.. this is getting a little ridiculous... I am eternally grateful to you for this program, but, if it doesn't function correctly, there is little point installing it...

Regards,
Kevin Ross.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
WartEye RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 1st Feb, 2011 04:37
Score: 2
Posts: 6
User Since: 10th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 1st Feb, 2011 04:48
on 31st Jan, 2011 13:40, wrote:
Hi,

Please install the latest build from here: ftp://ftp.secunia.com/PSISetup.exe, and then refer to the FAQ item mentioned by @smurphdude (http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...).

This should fix the problem. :)


The first link above doesn't resolve to a working address; so I downloaded and installed PSI 2.0.0.3001 from Secunia's website and then followed instructions in the second link above.

(BTW, the description of that workaround --- "The Secunia PSI is stuck at 'Verifying Internet connection...' and won't start. What can I do?" --- doesn't mention Data Execution Prevention.)

The result of my efforts: Data Execution Prevention killed PSI 2 again.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 1st Feb, 2011 09:06
Hi,

Yes, by mistake I added a comma too the URL. The real download link is:
ftp://ftp.secunia.com/PSISetup.exe

Please try reinstalling even if you have the latest build. If this has not resolved the problem, please add an exception of psi.exe and psia.exe for DEP.

As an example:
http://www.updatexp.com/dep-exceptions.html

The paths to be added will usuall be
C:\Program Files\Secunia\PSI\psi.exe
C:\Program Files\Secunia\PSI\psia.exe

With "C:\Program Files(x86)\Secunia" for 64-bit systems.

Has this resolved the problem?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
dragonfly888 RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 1st Feb, 2011 21:36
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 11th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Sorry... I still have the same issue even after uninstalling, downloading from your link, rebooting, Installing, making the DEP additions...

Any other ideas?

Is it only me that has this problem ???

Regards,
Kevin.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
WartEye RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 2nd Feb, 2011 05:22
Score: 2
Posts: 6
User Since: 10th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 2nd Feb, 2011 05:23
on 1st Feb, 2011 09:06, wrote:


Has this resolved the problem?


Regrettably, no. Did it per your instructions. Same result: killed by Data Execution Prevention.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 2nd Feb, 2011 10:50
Last edited on 2nd Feb, 2011 10:51 Hi,

Do you have advanced text services disabled as per FAQ #s3? For the application, globally, or both?
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
dragonfly888 RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 2nd Feb, 2011 15:27
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 11th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
I am now able to open Secunia PSI after following both of these steps...
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

1) Go to where you installed the PSI (Probably C:\Program Files\Secunia\PSI, or C:\Program Files (x86) for 64-bit systems), right-click PSI.exe, click Properties, go to the Compatibility tab, and set a check at 'Turn off advanced text services for this program'

2) Go to Control Panel > Regional and language options > Languages Tab > Details > Advanced. From here, set a check at 'Turn off advanced text services' (Please note that this is a global setting unlike what is described in step 2).

The program is VERY slow to load and did stall for a minute on "Verifying Internet connection...".

My setting for Active Scripting is enabled (This was already in place).

The program did open eventually.

I hope something can be done about the loading time. At this point, I have to say that I much prefer v1.5.0.2, for speed of loading and for delivery of information.

Thanks.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Tropicalrooster RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 2nd Feb, 2011 22:00
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 2nd Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I also continually get DEP closing PSI. I have completed all of the suggestions in this thread without a change in what occurs when I run PSI. I am running XP SP3.
When DEP stops PSI, I also get error windows from PSI itself. I would include screenshots, but have not looked into how to do that here yet, so in case it helps here is text from one of the files it writes to the harddrive:

Server=watson.microsoft.com
UI LCID=1033
Flags=1674066
Brand=WINDOWS
TitleName=Secunia PSI
DigPidRegPath=HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\DigitalProductId
ErrorText=If you were in the middle of something, the information you were working on might be lost.
Stage1URL=
Stage1URL=/StageOne/Generic/BEX/psi_exe/2_0_0_3001 /4d2b061b/unknown/0_0_0_0/00000000/0013f684/c00000 05/00000008.htm
Stage2URL=
Stage2URL=/dw/GenericTwo.ASP?EventType=BEX&P1=psi. exe&P2=2.0.0.3001&P3=4d2b061b&P4=unknown&P5=0.0.0. 0&P6=00000000&P7=0013f684&P8=c0000005&P9=00000008
DataFiles=C:\DOCUME~1\Dale\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER2a2c.d ir00\psi.exe.mdmp|C:\DOCUME~1\Dale\LOCALS~1\Temp\W ER2a2c.dir00\appcompat.txt
Heap=C:\DOCUME~1\Dale\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER2a2c.dir00\ psi.exe.hdmp
ErrorSubPath=Generic\BEX\psi.exe\2.0.0.3001\4d2b06 1b\unknown\0.0.0.0\00000000\0013f684\c0000005\0000 0008
DirectoryDelete=C:\DOCUME~1\Dale\LOCALS~1\Temp\WER 2a2c.dir00

I hope this helps someone in figuring out what may be causing all of us this proplem.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 3rd Feb, 2011 09:01
Hi,

Glad to hear that helped.

@Tropicalrooster

Have you tried walking through every step in this item of our FAQ?
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

Has this resolved the problem?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Tropicalrooster RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 3rd Feb, 2011 19:01
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 2nd Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hi Emil, thank you for responding. I have done all of the things listed on that link and from this thread, and still DEP is stopping PSI. The PSI Tray Agent does run and sits in the tray without complaint, but when PSI itself starts to load DEP kills it.

If it works, here is a link to the error screens I get when DEP stops PSI:

<A HREF="https://picasaweb.google.com/109505605017454321117..."></A>

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
dragonfly888 RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 3rd Feb, 2011 19:40
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 11th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
@Tropicalrooster

I was getting those exact same screens. Are you sure you have Advanced Text services disabled as per FAQ #s3? For the application, globally, or both?
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

My access to Secunia DID NOT happen until I disabled Globally (option 2 below)

1) Go to where you installed the PSI (Probably C:\Program Files\Secunia\PSI, or C:\Program Files (x86) for 64-bit systems), right-click PSI.exe, click Properties, go to the Compatibility tab, and set a check at 'Turn off advanced text services for this program'

2) Go to Control Panel > Regional and language options > Languages Tab > Details > Advanced. From here, set a check at 'Turn off advanced text services' (Please note that this is a global setting unlike what is described in step 2).


Emil,
I would still like to know if the load time is being addressed? Access to v2.0.0.3001 is much slower than v1.5.0.2...
Thanks.

Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Tropicalrooster RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 3rd Feb, 2011 21:45
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 2nd Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Yes, I have set both of those, and made all of the changes noted throughout this thread and the PSI FAQ, and even gone back at least twice to check and make sure the settings actually stayed set.

At this point I'd even settle for the slow load times:)
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
dragonfly888 RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 3rd Feb, 2011 22:10
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 11th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Did you try uninstalling and downloading the latest version (link in this thread somewhere) and re-installing ? I did this along the way, as well !
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Tropicalrooster RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 3rd Feb, 2011 22:32
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 2nd Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Yep, been there, done that...

I did just run the online version, just to see if it had any difficulties, and it did not.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
This user no longer exists RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 4th Feb, 2011 09:24
Hi,

What happens when you try to access https://psi.secunia.com ?

And what when you try to access http://crl.thawte.com ?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
dragonfly888 RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 4th Feb, 2011 15:06
Score: 0
Posts: 8
User Since: 11th Jan 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: CA
Hi Emil,

Not sure what you are looking for, but...

> What happens when you try to access https://psi.secunia.com ?

I am redirected to...
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

> And what when you try to access http://crl.thawte.com ?

I get a directory listing.


Is there a newer version of Secunia PSI due to be released ?


Regards,
Kevin.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Tropicalrooster RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 4th Feb, 2011 18:32
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 2nd Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Hi Emil and Kevin,

I get the same results with those links that Kevin gets. I tried them in Chrome to see if I got something different than in IE8, but got the same thing.

Dale.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
WartEye RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 6th Feb, 2011 06:06
Score: 2
Posts: 6
User Since: 10th Jul 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 6th Feb, 2011 06:08
on 2nd Feb, 2011 10:50, wrote:
Hi,

Do you have advanced text services disabled as per FAQ #s3? For the application, globally, or both?
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...



Emil: The following --- the final step from the above FAQ --- seems to have resolved my DEP problem:

"2) Go to Control Panel > Regional and language options > Languages Tab > Details > Advanced. From here, set a check at 'Turn off advanced text services' (Please note that this is a global setting unlike what is described in step 2)."

Would have replied sooner; but I had to play with PSI for a few days just to make sure... Thanks for the help.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
redux RE: Data Execution Prevention
Member 13th Feb, 2011 18:08
Score: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 13th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: IE
on 3rd Feb, 2011 19:40, dragonfly888 wrote:
@Tropicalrooster

I was getting those exact same screens. Are you sure you have Advanced Text services disabled as per FAQ #s3? For the application, globally, or both?
http://secunia.com/vulnerability_scanning/personal...

My access to Secunia DID NOT happen until I disabled Globally (option 2 below)

1) Go to where you installed the PSI (Probably C:\Program Files\Secunia\PSI, or C:\Program Files (x86) for 64-bit systems), right-click PSI.exe, click Properties, go to the Compatibility tab, and set a check at 'Turn off advanced text services for this program'

2) Go to Control Panel > Regional and language options > Languages Tab > Details > Advanced. From here, set a check at 'Turn off advanced text services' (Please note that this is a global setting unlike what is described in step 2).


Emil,
I would still like to know if the load time is being addressed? Access to v2.0.0.3001 is much slower than v1.5.0.2...
Thanks.



I followed all the advice given, DEP, etc. with no result. But... adding these two instructions to the mix has solved my problem completely and with no loss of speed.

So thanks a bunch guys.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+