navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Clicking on solution button after scan brings up error message

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
orejazz Clicking on solution button after scan brings up error message
Member 12th Feb, 2011 22:24
Ranking: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 6th Dec, 2009
System Score: 96%
Location: US
This has been happening for several years consistently. In the scan resuts when there is a program to be updated, end of life etc. there will be a solution button to click on. When I click the button, this error message comes up.
"an error occured while attempting to open the specified URL"

--
JavaMan

mogs RE: Clicking on solution button after scan brings up error message
Expert Contributor 12th Feb, 2011 22:31
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,268
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
Try reading thro' the item of the FAQ's here :-
http://secunia.com/products/consumer/PSI/faq/#q9
Hope it helps.....regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
orejazz RE: Clicking on solution button after scan brings up error message
Member 12th Feb, 2011 23:49
Score: 0
Posts: 6
User Since: 6th Dec 2009
System Score: 96%
Location: US
I am running Windows 7 home premium upgrade from XP
I read the PSI explanation. When I went through the search and navigated as far as JKEY CLASSES ROOT and that as far as it read. I think I need more information on this procedure. Thanks for you thoughts
Regards
JavaMan

--
JavaMan
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Clicking on solution button after scan brings up error message
Expert Contributor 13th Feb, 2011 07:58
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,268
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
The PSI says "An error occurred while attempting to open the specified URL" when I click links. How can I solve this?
This error occurs because the registry key specifying your default browser is not properly set. To solve it, try setting your preferred browser as default again.


Which browser is your default browser at the moment ? Is that the one you wish links to open in ? Go to your browser options to reset.
Although Secunia requires various settings be made in IE....you can have another browser as default/preferred to open the links.
Try that first;particularly if you are not comfortable going into the registry.
I've never had need to make alterations regarding my default browser in there either....and I've used/changed between different versions of Chrome as default.
Hope this helps......

--
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-1

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+