navigation bar left navigation bar right

Secunia CSI7
navigation left tab Advisories navigation right tab
navigation left tab Research navigation right tab
navigation left tab Forums navigation right tab
navigation left tab Create Profile navigation right tab
navigation left tab Our Commitment navigation right tab
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Splash screen

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as resolved.
DenzelAttila Splash screen
Member 26th Feb, 2011 12:47
Ranking: 0
Posts: 16
User Since: 26th Feb, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
Running Windows7 32bit. PSI2.0 installs fine without error. When started I get a splash screen. The icon is in the system tray(gold color). When moused over it states "Secunia PSI 99% Secunia System Score". The splash screen remains with the PSI Logo and nothing else.

Post "RE: Splash screen" has been selected as an answer.
Maurice Joyce RE: Splash screen
Handling Contributor 26th Feb, 2011 13:32
Score: 11830
Posts: 9,072
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Perhaps best if U start here & check it is all set up correctly.

http://secunia.com/products/consumer/PSI/faq/

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
DenzelAttila RE: Splash screen
Member 26th Feb, 2011 13:50
Score: 0
Posts: 16
User Since: 26th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
There is no adequate responses in this FAQ.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Splash screen
Handling Contributor 26th Feb, 2011 13:53
Score: 11830
Posts: 9,072
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
What happens when U double click on the orange (gold) icon?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
DenzelAttila RE: Splash screen
Member 26th Feb, 2011 13:57
Score: 0
Posts: 16
User Since: 26th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
There is a white screen with in the center the Secunia Logo but nothing is happening
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Splash screen
Member 26th Feb, 2011 14:27
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
FYI

When installing PSI on a friends HP Vista 32 bit Lap, there was one item that Secunia did not have a solution for.. I had to create a Ignore rule and at that time the tray icon turned to "GOLD" A week later Secunia had the solution I down loaded ,installed and the icon went to green.

--
Gone to Linux permanetly












Was this reply relevant?
+1
-1

puget1

RE: Splash screen
[+]
This reply has been deleted
DenzelAttila RE: Splash screen
Member 26th Feb, 2011 14:44
Score: 0
Posts: 16
User Since: 26th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
You don't understand. I can't access to the Secunia PSI menu since the beginning.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

puget1

RE: Splash screen
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.
DenzelAttila RE: Splash screen
Member 26th Feb, 2011 14:56
Score: 0
Posts: 16
User Since: 26th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
Somebody got a soluce to that problem?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

puget1

RE: Splash screen
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.
DenzelAttila RE: Splash screen
Member 26th Feb, 2011 16:15
Score: 0
Posts: 16
User Since: 26th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
The problem is not the color of the icon.I don't have any acess to the menu.
White screen with nothing since the beginning.I've tried what you proposed rigorously and it doesn't change anything.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Splash screen
Expert Contributor 26th Feb, 2011 17:21
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
Did you clear out temp. files/browser cache prior to install ? Did you let it uninstall the previous version.....if there was one ?
Have you checked that your firewall permissions are configured to allow psi ?
Can you confirm that the steps in the FAQ's have been followed exactly ? :-
http://secunia.com/products/consumer/PSI/faq/#s3
Did you install from here ? :-
ftp://ftp.secunia.com/PSISetup.exe psi 2.0 Full Version
It might be worth trying again.
Hope this helps......regards,



--
Was this reply relevant?
+6
-1
DenzelAttila RE: Splash screen
Member 26th Feb, 2011 19:31
Score: 0
Posts: 16
User Since: 26th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
I've done again exactly what you proposed.No Changes.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
DenzelAttila RE: Splash screen
Member 26th Feb, 2011 20:27
Score: 0
Posts: 16
User Since: 26th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
Helppppppppp!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ddmarshall RE: Splash screen
Dedicated Contributor 26th Feb, 2011 21:22
Score: 1212
Posts: 968
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
Your problem seems to be in accessing the Secunia servers.
Are you seeing the Verifying Internet Connection or Waiting for data to load messages?

There may be a problem with the servers at the moment. I am seeing some anomalies such as my history not being reported. If you have checked all the suggestions in the FAQs, I would advise waiting until Secunia personnel check the forum on Monday.

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
DenzelAttila RE: Splash screen
Member 26th Feb, 2011 21:37
Score: 0
Posts: 16
User Since: 26th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
Not any of these messages appear, just a white screen with the logo.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Splash screen
Expert Contributor 26th Feb, 2011 21:55
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
I tend to agree with "dd"....I've just completed a scan;but it took double the usual time, and there are anomolies in the figures on the Dashboard. It's probably advisable to wait......Regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
DenzelAttila RE: Splash screen
Member 26th Feb, 2011 22:06
Score: 0
Posts: 16
User Since: 26th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
Ok I am gonna be patient
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

puget1

RE: Splash screen
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.
thorozar RE: Splash screen
Member 27th Feb, 2011 00:07
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 26th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
I just installed this program for the first time today and I have a red icon in the task bar, it says my score is 0%, and I cannot open the program at all. When I attempt this sometimes a splash screen appears, but vanishes after a second or two, and usually it doesn't even flash for more than a half a second. I did all the internet security stuff like allowing this domain and all the other suggestions in the faq.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Splash screen
Expert Contributor 27th Feb, 2011 00:46
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@thorozar
Hello.
You may have chosen an inopportune time for it....as stated earlier( see ddmarshall's post above, and mine ): there are signs that there's interruption with Secunia servers. I notice that System scores seem to have disappeared from members' details on the forum....another indication perhaps.
Hopefully, things will be restored soon.
Regards,

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Leendert Kip Splash screen
Member 27th Feb, 2011 07:27
Score: 70
Posts: 526
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Last edited on 27th Feb, 2011 07:29
Hello Mogs, there is something wrong indeed. Yesterday at about 16.00hrs. Amsterdam time I observed the effects of a server problem. Could not get into
the forum, icon stayed red, data weren't fully loaded. This was solved later but since then the sreen with the week-by-week results are blanc except the column 'now'. This morning I ran a scan at 6.44hrs. and was OK, but the pro-
blem with the weeks isn't solved.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Splash screen
Expert Contributor 27th Feb, 2011 09:28
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Morning Leendert !
I just tried another scan, which ran quite normal....the anomolies on the Dashboard however, persist. I'm showing "Now" and a "Worst state" which I can't make head nor tail of !! I think I'll just have to be patient.
Have a good day in Amsterdam !

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip Splash screen
Member 27th Feb, 2011 12:12
Score: 70
Posts: 526
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Hi Mogs, the situation with the weekly result bars has been solved after I re-
started my pc at +/- 12.00 Amsterdam time.

--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Splash screen
Expert Contributor 27th Feb, 2011 13:51
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hi Leendert....yeah...all fine here too. Hopefully, it will resolve some problems for others.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

Anthony Wells

RE: Splash screen
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.
mogs RE: Splash screen
Expert Contributor 27th Feb, 2011 15:24
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello there Anthony....many long dull spells between reading !! Pleasant enough this Sunday in Wales ! Britain is probably better for the Coalition.....and Afghanistan !!! They get more sunshine perhaps ?!

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Splash screen
Expert Contributor 27th Feb, 2011 15:38
Score: 2454
Posts: 3,345
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 27th Feb, 2011 15:41
Hi Mogs ,

Your timely response means that @thorozar's name shall remain butchered in my above post ; hope that she/he does not take umbrage to my tired (of waiting for the server) eyes .

Warm and sunny with a big Mistral blowing makes it like Spring has sprung .

I see you have changed your logo colour match the boyos' shirts . Nice call :))

Yaki dah

Anthony

Oh Oh ; big speed loss again !!

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Splash screen
Expert Contributor 27th Feb, 2011 16:07
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Anthony.
I'm sure thorozar won't have any trouble....it's more of trim than butchery !!
I saw Spring a little earlier this year....a very colourful crocus espied on a village green in Somerset the other day.....and "handwritten" CIDER on farmyard gate !!
As for my colours....a thanks to Secunia for not being in sport....like soldiering isn't always a Fox quartered I suppose.....some waters may be still, but not as deep as some seams....words aren't always a masterpiece.....but not so many waves ?!

--
Was this reply relevant?
+5
-0

mogs

RE: Splash screen
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.

mogs

RE: Splash screen
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.

mogs

RE: Splash screen
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.

mogs

RE: Splash screen
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.
mogs RE: Splash screen
Expert Contributor 27th Feb, 2011 16:16
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 27th Feb, 2011 16:18
Duplication !


--
Was this reply relevant?
+3
-0
mogs RE: Splash screen
Expert Contributor 27th Feb, 2011 16:21
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Last edited on 27th Feb, 2011 16:26
Don't know what went wrong there.....waited for ages after pressing Reply....and then the resultant multiple posts that you see !!

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Leendert Kip Splash screen
Member 27th Feb, 2011 17:00
Score: 70
Posts: 526
User Since: 22nd Jan 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: NL
Last edited on 27th Feb, 2011 17:00
on 27th Feb, 2011 16:21, mogs wrote:
Don't know what went wrong there.....waited for ages after pressing Reply....and then the resultant multiple posts that you see !!

Hi Mogs, that happens now and then, I experienced the same in the past. Possibly because the servers are a bit slow today.


--
PC: JJ Computer Services
Intel Core I3 2100 3.1Ghz
DDR3 Kingston ValueRam 4GB 1333
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 9
Mozilla Firefox 31NL

Laptop: MSI GT780DX
Intel Core I5-2450
DDR3 RAM 6GB
Windows 7 Home Premium 64bits SP1
Secunia PSI 3.0.0.9016
Internet Explorer 11
Mozilla Firefox 31NL
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Splash screen
Expert Contributor 27th Feb, 2011 17:35
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
We'll have to check that they can't pass on the jitters Leendert ?! Ha!

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Splash screen
Expert Contributor 27th Feb, 2011 18:38
Score: 2454
Posts: 3,345
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi Mogs ,

Have trimmed and butchered your scores (+/- 8) to cover your indiscretions :))

Our Mimosa trees are in full bloom (acid drop/lemon yellow blossoms) and the "new" wine - 2010 harvest - is available at the farm/vineyard gate :)))

Servers back to speed atm .

Take care

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Splash screen
Expert Contributor 27th Feb, 2011 22:06
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Thankyou very much for your discrete tending of thread 'n vine !!

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
thorozar RE: Splash screen
Member 27th Feb, 2011 22:50
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 26th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
No problem on the name, it is just a made up handle anyway :D

As for the XP issue, that was the case, I used the first XP tip and I am now able to open up the program. Now to see if that has fixed all issues.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Splash screen
Expert Contributor 27th Feb, 2011 23:01
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@thorozar
That's why it's best to start your own thread whenever you can.....this thread started out as being relevant to Windows 7....you're using XP....matters can easily get tangled.
Still and all, glad you have managed to get psi 2.0 installed, and good luck with the patching ! Regards.

@DenzelAttila

Any luck ?



--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
thorozar RE: Splash screen
Member 27th Feb, 2011 23:22
Score: 0
Posts: 3
User Since: 26th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
program is working for me now, thanks all!
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
DenzelAttila RE: Splash screen
Member 28th Feb, 2011 06:14
Score: 0
Posts: 16
User Since: 26th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
The problem isn't solved. I've got windows 7 Ultimate.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
puget1 RE: Splash screen
Member 28th Feb, 2011 06:55
Score: 0
Posts: 551
User Since: 21st Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 28th Feb, 2011 13:28
What Browser? Are you running MS Security Essentials? Have you allowed for scripting? Either IE. ,Internet Options, or if Firefox the add-on No Scripts. Recheck your firewall permissions. If using Dsl are your connections secure? Remember there was a server problem at Secunia and the system is just now getting back to normal. Did you even attempt that little simple quick fix, What was the outcome? Read this thread:http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/762... Although PSI no longer goes through the work station on the outside chance that you downloaded from a third party site and or in fixing your p.c. check it out.
Lanman workstation Cmd in Windows
Open a command line window and type in:

sc GetDisplayName LanmanWorkstation

This will show you the localized name.

To get the state of the service, you can use:

sc query LanmanWorkstation


For PSI to function it needs to be running, so set it to Automatic

Try this thread:http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/746...



--
Gone to Linux permanetly












Was this reply relevant?
+2
-1
DenzelAttila RE: Splash screen
Member 28th Feb, 2011 17:22
Score: 0
Posts: 16
User Since: 26th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
I've try everything you proposed and it doesn't work at all.
It indicates 94% Secunia system score but i cant see the details.
Its always a white screen with the secunia logo in the center and nothing happens.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Splash screen
Expert Contributor 28th Feb, 2011 17:38
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@DenzelAttila
You are not by any chance using IE9 Beta are you ?

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
DenzelAttila RE: Splash screen
Member 28th Feb, 2011 18:01
Score: 0
Posts: 16
User Since: 26th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
No Google Chrome 9
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

puget1

RE: Splash screen
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.
DenzelAttila RE: Splash screen
Member 28th Feb, 2011 19:14
Score: 0
Posts: 16
User Since: 26th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
It doesnt work.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Splash screen
Expert Contributor 28th Feb, 2011 19:22
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
@DenzelAttila
I didn't ask about Chrome ! I asked if you were using IE9 Beta....... ?

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
DenzelAttila RE: Splash screen
Member 28th Feb, 2011 19:41
Score: 0
Posts: 16
User Since: 26th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
Internet explorer 9 beta is installed on my computer but i don't use it.
Should I uninstall it?
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: Splash screen
Expert Contributor 28th Feb, 2011 20:01
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
I'm not sure what the situation was with IE9Beta......when you installed it did it replaceIE8 ? The point is....that psi uses IE for settings....whether you use it or not.
If as I presume, IE9 Beta is your only version of Internet Explorer, psi is not compatible with it. I think you'll either have to roll back to IE8 or move to IE9 RC....in order to find compatibility with psi.
Hope this is clear enough for you......

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
DenzelAttila RE: Splash screen
Member 28th Feb, 2011 20:08
Score: 0
Posts: 16
User Since: 26th Feb 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: FR
I uninstall Internet explorer 9. It works perfectly. Thank you very much for your help.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


Secunia is a member of FIRST Secunia is a member of EDUcause Secunia is a member of The Open Group Secunia is a member of FS-ISAC
 
Secunia © 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability - Disclaimer
follow Secunia on Facebook follow Secunia on Twitter follow Secunia on LinkedIn follow Secunia on YouTube follow Secunia Xing follow Secunias RSS feed follow Secunia on Google+