Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: PSI fails to scan with IE9 installed

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
Deadilus PSI fails to scan with IE9 installed
Member 1st Mar, 2011 19:15
Ranking: 2
Posts: 8
User Since: 27th Feb, 2011
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
Has anyone run a scan since installing IE9 (RC)?

I've run several scans recently with no problems. Installed IE9 last night and now when clicking 'Start Scan' it simply hangs; 'Step 0 of 8' and 'Scan has been running for (blank)' are displayed, but nothing else happens...

--
HP dv9590ea, 4GB RAM, 2x 500GB HDD
Windows 7 Ultimate + SP1 (32-bit)
Google Chrome 10.0.648.119 beta + IE9 RC

mogs RE: PSI fails to scan with IE9 installed
Expert Contributor 1st Mar, 2011 19:31
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Are you sure and certain that it's the Release Candidate you have installed ?
I've had no problems with it using Vista.....tho' I did experience some erraticism and longer scan times soon after download.
IE9 Beta is not compatible with psi.


--
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
Deadilus RE: PSI fails to scan with IE9 installed
Member 1st Mar, 2011 19:34
Score: 2
Posts: 8
User Since: 27th Feb 2011
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
Last edited on 1st Mar, 2011 19:35
It's definitely the RC - I didn't get a chance to have a look at the beta (but double-checked in the 'About' box just in case!)

I've tried changing the default browser from Chrome to IE9 but this hasn't helped, and have cleared down the SSL state (again, no help).

Edit - you say 'longer scan times'; how much longer? I've waited a few minutes and it hasn't shown any sign of starting...

--
HP dv9590ea, 4GB RAM, 2x 500GB HDD
Windows 7 Ultimate + SP1 (32-bit)
Google Chrome 10.0.648.119 beta + IE9 RC
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: PSI fails to scan with IE9 installed
Expert Contributor 1st Mar, 2011 19:41
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Scan times more than doubled, and reduced steadily thereafter. It took some time to settle down.
I did find a lot of registry errors on my scanner and CHKDSK was worth running too. Have done a few cleaning runs and it's now like a charm.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
mogs RE: PSI fails to scan with IE9 installed
Expert Contributor 1st Mar, 2011 19:44
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
You are at least the second one to have had problems when trying to make it default. I decided to leave that until I see how the full version performs.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Deadilus RE: PSI fails to scan with IE9 installed
Member 1st Mar, 2011 20:41
Score: 2
Posts: 8
User Since: 27th Feb 2011
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
I have tried both with IE9 as default and Chrome as default - neither worked.

I keep the registry and system files pretty clean using CCleaner. I have re-run CCleaner since the IE9 install, although being RC it won't appear; with that in mind I have checked the settings and pretty much everything appears to be how IE8 had it, so not suspecting anything there.

Don't really want to go back to IE8 if I can avoid it. Seems strange that purely to run a scan has a requirement for a specific IE verison though...

--
HP dv9590ea, 4GB RAM, 2x 500GB HDD
Windows 7 Ultimate + SP1 (32-bit)
Google Chrome 10.0.648.119 beta + IE9 RC
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: PSI fails to scan with IE9 installed
Handling Contributor 1st Mar, 2011 20:49
Score: 11610
Posts: 8,906
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
There has never been an issue with PSI/IE9 RC on this PC. Works flawlessly with a scan taking a maximum of 25 seconds.

Is the default browser of your choice set up correctly in the registry Root Directory?

Have U changed any default settings in IE9RC?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: PSI fails to scan with IE9 installed
Expert Contributor 1st Mar, 2011 20:51
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
I didn't have to change any settings in IE.....Chrome Dev has remained my default which psi uses to open links in........psi still uses some settings in IE tho' it's not default.
One thought occurred to me.....are you running the latest version of psi....as you see in my signature below ?

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Deadilus RE: PSI fails to scan with IE9 installed
Member 1st Mar, 2011 20:51
Score: 2
Posts: 8
User Since: 27th Feb 2011
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
Last edited on 1st Mar, 2011 20:56
I've checked the default browser in the registry (both under Chrome and IE9 default settings) and everything looked fine.

I have several non-default settings in IE9, but these are more related to cookies (hmm, might go away and check something now) and general security tweaks.

Edit: I am running PSI 2.0.0.3001 also.

Edit 2: The settings I had in IE8 have ported across to IE9RC, but having set them back mainly cookie handling and blocked sites lists) and re-run a scan, it still doesn't work.

--
HP dv9590ea, 4GB RAM, 2x 500GB HDD
Windows 7 Ultimate + SP1 (32-bit)
Google Chrome 10.0.648.119 beta + IE9 RC
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
mogs RE: PSI fails to scan with IE9 installed
Expert Contributor 1st Mar, 2011 21:00
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Gees...that scan time is speedy Maurice !! The best I've ever achieved with any version was about 2 mins, I think. Have I missed some super tweaks ?!

--
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Deadilus RE: PSI fails to scan with IE9 installed
Member 1st Mar, 2011 22:53
Score: 2
Posts: 8
User Since: 27th Feb 2011
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
Many thanks for your input guys, but I've fixed the problem...

As it turns out, it was nothing to do with IE9. Somehow (and darned if I can figure out how) the psia.exe file was removed! Only figured it out when I noticed the Secunia PSI Agent service was stopped and then couldn't get it started.

I've reinstalled Secunia and all is running fine again. Not sure why the psia.exe file was removed though, and I certainly don't go through the program files directory randomly hacking things out!

--
HP dv9590ea, 4GB RAM, 2x 500GB HDD
Windows 7 Ultimate + SP1 (32-bit)
Google Chrome 10.0.648.119 beta + IE9 RC
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
ddmarshall RE: PSI fails to scan with IE9 installed
Dedicated Contributor 2nd Mar, 2011 00:59
Score: 1205
Posts: 956
User Since: 8th Nov 2008
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
Have you checked whether an anti-virus program has removed it?

--
This answer is provided “as-is.” You bear the risk of using it.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Deadilus RE: PSI fails to scan with IE9 installed
Member 2nd Mar, 2011 19:23
Score: 2
Posts: 8
User Since: 27th Feb 2011
System Score: 98%
Location: UK
Interesting thought, but alas 'twas not the AV software (AVG 2011) - just re-run a folder-specific scan with no infection reported.

Think this one will just have to be put down to me, but I might d/l IE9 RC onto another machine in the near future to see if it happens there...

--
HP dv9590ea, 4GB RAM, 2x 500GB HDD
Windows 7 Ultimate + SP1 (32-bit)
Google Chrome 10.0.648.119 beta + IE9 RC
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
j1huisman RE: PSI fails to scan with IE9 installed
Member 2nd Mar, 2011 20:12
Score: 5
Posts: 6
User Since: 10th Jan 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
No problems here, running:

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 4GB
Windows 7 Prof.64bit
IE 9 RC (9.0.8080.16413 64-bit Edition)
Secunia PSI 2.0.0.3001

Only had a problem running PSI 2.0.0.1003, but after upgrade symptoms disappeared.

----------
Jeen
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
j1huisman RE: PSI fails to scan with IE9 installed
Member 2nd Mar, 2011 20:16
Score: 5
Posts: 6
User Since: 10th Jan 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: NL
on 2nd Mar, 2011 20:12, j1huisman wrote:
No problems here, running:

Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q6600 4GB
Windows 7 Prof.64bit
IE 9 RC (9.0.8080.16413 64-bit Edition)
Secunia PSI 2.0.0.3001

Only had a problem running PSI 2.0.0.1003, but after upgrade symptoms disappeared.

----------
Jeen


Sorry guy's: didn't read the last message in the thread..........
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability