Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: Werfault

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
itsmeOK Werfault
Member 6th Mar, 2011 19:34
Ranking: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 5th Mar, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Ok, of the 5 PCs I have, I fixed 4 of them that had the issues everyone is talking about (verifying internet connection) by uninstalling and re-installing.
But on one of them if I touch anything related to Secunia (the task bar icon, the uninstall, install of new download, etc) I get Werfault tasks that cascade to over 3,000 tasks and have to reboot. If I don't do anything with Secunia the PC works fine.
So I booted in safe mode and uninstalled, rebooted and tried to install new version and same thing still happens.
Any one have any ideas?
Thanks

Anthony Wells RE: Werfault
Expert Contributor 6th Mar, 2011 19:45
Score: 2384
Posts: 3,280
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A

Hi

There are plenty of "Werfault" problems discussed on the web , here is one example which may help point you in the right direction :-

http://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/forum/w...

If you need to come back please add your OS , PSI and any other relevant details .

Anthony

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
itsmeOK RE: Werfault
Member 6th Mar, 2011 19:59
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 5th Mar 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Yeah, I had already searched the web for the werfault and like that link didn't really find an answer or the same symptoms on the same OS and caused by doing the same thing.
I was thinking it specifically related to secunia cause that's the only time it happens.
Anyway I did forget to mention I am using win7 64 ult and I had PSI 2 1003 and was trying to go to the newest 3001
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Werfault
Handling Contributor 6th Mar, 2011 20:31
Score: 11309
Posts: 8,721
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Have U tried this?

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/957200

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
Anthony Wells RE: Werfault
Expert Contributor 6th Mar, 2011 20:34
Score: 2384
Posts: 3,280
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 6th Mar, 2011 20:35
deleted - crossed with Maurice Joyce .

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
itsmeOK RE: Werfault
Member 6th Mar, 2011 20:37
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 5th Mar 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Per link info "This problem only occurs on computers that were upgraded from the original version of Windows Vista to Windows Vista Service Pack 1"

Mine was a fresh install of win7 64 ult a few months ago.

Appreciate the effort though.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Werfault
Handling Contributor 6th Mar, 2011 21:01
Score: 11309
Posts: 8,721
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Whoops - sorry.

Have U tried using the Win7 fixit?

Right click Action Centre>Troubleshoot A Problem>Check For Performance Issue (or any other item U may believe is causing the conflict)?

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
itsmeOK RE: Werfault
Member 7th Mar, 2011 22:28
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 5th Mar 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Tried that. Didn't find anything.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Werfault
Handling Contributor 7th Mar, 2011 22:51
Score: 11309
Posts: 8,721
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Just to recap - if PSI is not installed the PC & all the other programmes installed work perfectly with no error messages?

Can U confirm U are using PSI version 2.0.0.3001.

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
itsmeOK RE: Werfault
Member 8th Mar, 2011 00:19
Score: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 5th Mar 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
on 7th Mar, 2011 22:51, Maurice Joyce wrote:
Just to recap - if PSI is not installed the PC & all the other programmes installed work perfectly with no error messages?

Can U confirm U are using PSI version 2.0.0.3001.


Yeah!

Weird hunh, I booted back to safe mode and installed 3001 to see if it would overwrite what ever and it installed but its back to if I do anything with PSI it goes off again.
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0
Maurice Joyce RE: Werfault
Handling Contributor 8th Mar, 2011 00:42
Score: 11309
Posts: 8,721
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Now U have PSI reinstalled are there any error messages appearing?

Start>Control Panel>Administrative Tools>Event Viewer

--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+0
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Factsheets
Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability