Secunia CSI7
Advisories
Research
Forums
Create Profile
Our Commitment
PSI
PSI API
CSI
OSI
xSI
Vulnerabilities
Programs
Open Discussions
My Threads
Create Thread
Statistics
About

Forum Thread: PSI 2.0 keeps telling me wrong things

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
PSI

This thread has been marked as locked.
RenaudLavoie PSI 2.0 keeps telling me wrong things
Member 7th Mar, 2011 20:01
Ranking: 0
Posts: 1
User Since: 26th Mar, 2010
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hi,

It's the third month in a row that Secunia keeps telling me that Java has to be updated. I checked the last version available, then checked in my programs... and the version I have is the latest version. But, Secunia KEEPS telling me that Java has to be updated to this version.

What's happening? How to fix this?
Did any of you had this problem, or still have it?

Sincerely,

Renaud Lavoie
User of Secunia PSI

gjjean RE: PSI 2.0 keeps telling me wrong things
Contributor 7th Mar, 2011 20:25
Score: 192
Posts: 197
User Since: 9th Apr 2010
System Score: 100%
Location: LB
@ Renaud

Did PSI indicate where the file to update is? (Which Folder)? Maybe itís a leftover of a previous version.

What is your OS?



--
HP pavilion DV6
Win 7 64bit - SP1
IE10 + MSSE4.3.215
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
mogs RE: PSI 2.0 keeps telling me wrong things
Expert Contributor 7th Mar, 2011 20:31
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,266
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
Try taking a look at Maurice Joyce's post here :-
http://secunia.com/community/forum/thread/show/767...
It's likely that psi is continuing to detect an older file/version.....

--
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0
WickedGirl RE: PSI 2.0 keeps telling me wrong things
Member 7th Mar, 2011 23:58
Score: -6
Posts: 2
User Since: 25th Mar 2008
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Hello! Just wanted to chime in....My several years experience in using Secunia and trying to keep any Adobe, Macromedia or Sun Java products secure, is that even after updating and/or uninstalling these programs, there are always remnants of the older program left over. Seems highly insecure to me, and I thank Secunia for making me aware that these programs are guilty of this nasty little habit. When updating, once I have uninstalled the programs (do NOT use the auto-update features in them, or via Secunia), I use Secunia to make a note of where the unsecured remnant files are located ( I also use Secunia to get the file downloads first). I then completely close Secunia, and navigate to the file locations. I then manually delete any and all left over file remnants, eve .log files related to the programs in question here. By the way, if you do not exit out of Secunia, you will be unable to delete the files. You will get the "file in use...access denied" message from Windows. Once all has been deleted, open up Secunia and re-scan to be sure all traces of the insecure files are gone. Then, reinstall the newer versions. I have only ever had to use this procedure for Adobe Flash Player plugin, Adobe Flash Player ax plugin, Adobe/Macromedia Shockwave Player, and Sun Java. These programs never uninstall all of their old file remnants. Good luck!
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-2
Maurice Joyce RE: PSI 2.0 keeps telling me wrong things
Handling Contributor 8th Mar, 2011 00:26
Score: 11575
Posts: 8,891
User Since: 4th Jan 2009
System Score: N/A
Location: UK
Sorry to disappoint U. There is NO requirement to close Secunia (PSI version 2) to completely delete anything.

Secunia auto updates many of the programmes U mention (if activated) by first removing all the old remnants or leaves them as harmless "zombies". It is running while doing this task.

Control Panel>add/remove works perfectly with PSI running.

Revo uninstaller Professional (& the trial(free)) works perfectly with PSI running.

U do NOT require to EXIT or close PSI to manually delete files via Windows Explorer or the Registry either.

If any Adobe product requires complete deletion the specialist uninstallers should be used which are supplied via their website. Once again there is NO requirement to shut down PSI.

Looks like a large load of Red Herrings has been delivered to the Forum.



--
Maurice

Windows 7 SP1 64 Bit OS
HP Intel Pentium i7
IE 11 for Windows 7 SP1
16GB RAM
Was this reply relevant?
+2
-0

xyzzy

RE: PSI 2.0 keeps telling me wrong things
[+]
This reply has been minimised due to a negative Relevancy Score.

This thread has been marked as locked.


 Products Solutions Customers Partner Resources Company
 
 Corporate
Vulnerability Intelligence Manager (VIM)
Corporate Software Inspector (CSI)
Consumer
Personal Software Inspector (PSI)
Online Software Inspector (OSI)
 Industry
Compliance
Technology
Integration
 Customers
Testimonials
 VARS
MSSP
Technology Partners
References
 Reports
Webinars
Events
 About us
Careers
Memberships
Newsroom


 
© 2002-2014 Secunia ApS - Rued Langgaards Vej 8, 4th floor, DK-2300 Copenhagen, Denmark - +45 7020 5144
Terms & Conditions and Copyright - Privacy - Report Vulnerability