Forum Thread: Google Chrome Adobe PlugIn -- disabled by me -- being seen as se...

You are currently viewing a forum thread in the Secunia Community Forum. Please note that opinions expressed here are not of Secunia but solely reflect those of the user who wrote it.

This thread was submitted in the following forum:
Programs

Relating to this vendor:
Adobe Systems
And, this specific program:
Adobe Reader 9.x

This thread has been marked as locked.
rroberto18 Google Chrome Adobe PlugIn -- disabled by me -- being seen as separate program.
Member 9th Mar, 2011 19:48
Ranking: 0
Posts: 5
User Since: 3rd Feb, 2011
System Score: N/A
Location: US
Last edited on 9th Mar, 2011 19:52

1) My default PDF Reader is NOT Adobe -- because it is a security nightmare,
2) I do not have Adobe Reader installed as an independent program.
3) Google Chrome 10 browser comes with an Adobe Reader plugin which must be what Secunia PSI is picking up.
4) I have overridden the Adobe Plugin with my choice of a different PDF reader as my default and the Google Chrome Adobe Plugin is therefore disabled.
5) If I were to install PSI's recommenced update, it would cause a conflict with Google, as per my settings.
6) If it ain't broke, don't fix it.

Anthony Wells RE: Google Chrome Adobe PlugIn -- disabled by me -- being seen as separate program.
Expert Contributor 9th Mar, 2011 20:11
Score: 2472
Posts: 3,362
User Since: 19th Dec 2007
System Score: N/A
Location: N/A
Last edited on 9th Mar, 2011 20:14
Hi ,

Are you saying that the PSI is detecting an "Adobe PDF NPAPI plug-in" via Chrome ; if so where is the PSI finding the problem ?? Click the [+]next to the insecure display and tell us the "installation path" or "detected instance" location .

Also which version of the PSI and Chrome browser are you using on which OS .

If it helps , Chrome has it's own "Chrome PDF Viewer" plug-in installed in the Chrome folder , but usually it detects other NPAPI viewer plug-ins in their location , in my case Zeon Plus PDF located in/for Mozilla Firefox .

The PSI will pick up what it sees but does not differentiate between "enabled" and "disabled" but between "installed" and "un-installed" ; If it was not a clean un-install the PSI may be finding left over files and they may be a risk .

You need to know if it is "broke" and maybe does need fixing .

Anthony.

--


It always seems impossible until its done.
Nelson Mandela
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0
mogs RE: Google Chrome Adobe PlugIn -- disabled by me -- being seen as separate program.
Expert Contributor 9th Mar, 2011 20:17
Score: 2265
Posts: 6,269
User Since: 22nd Apr 2009
System Score: 100%
Location: UK
Hello.
Is it possible psi could be detecting an old leftover file somewhere ?
Might the following help ?;-
psi versions 1.5.0.1 and 1.5.0.2

Use the Advanced interface...or switch to it ( Simple/ Advanced..top right of psi panel ).

1/. Click on the + sign alongside the programme to expand it.
2/. Click again on Tech Details in the Toolbox to confirm the installation path of the detected file/prog. 3/.Post the Installation Path back to the forum if you are uncertain how best to proceed.

psi version 2.0

Go to Results from the Dashboard


1/. Click on the + sign alongside the file.
2/. This will reveal the file path.
3/. Post the info back to the forum if uncertain how best to proceed.

As happens often at times of Chrome Stable updates....it seems usually to take a day or so for the detection rules to be set in order again. Chrome moves from Beta version and there always seems to be some resultant disarray. Having just had a look thro' Stable updates : and plug ins for my own browsers, I wasn't able to confirm the version in use.....tho' of course they may differ anyrate for Dev and Canary.

--
Was this reply relevant?
+1
-0

This thread has been marked as locked.